Public Relations and Advertising Research
Public Relations and Advertising Research
Articles
To find articles on a product, company, industry, or trend, try:
Here are some core periodicals in these fields. All are available electronically, except where indicated by a library call number. To access them electronically, enter the title as a Journal Title search:
- Journal of public relations research
- Public relations quarterly
- Public relations review
- Public relations tactics
- International journal of strategic communication
- Admap [Knight HF 5801 .A16]
- Advertising age
- Adweek [Knight HF 5801 .M224]
- Journal of advertising research
- International journal of advertising
- Journal of advertising
- Journal of current issues and research in advertising
- Mediaweek
- O'Dwyer's PR services report [available through Lexis/Nexis]
Books
UO WorldCat is the catalog for the UO Libraries, academic libraries in the Pacific Northwest (Summit), and libraries across the country. UO Local Catalog reflects only the holdings of the UO Libraries.
Databases
- SRDS Media Solutions provides demographics of markets and advertising rates for magazines, newspapers, radio, and TV. For demographic information, use the Local Market Audience Analyst subset. With this database, you must use Internet Explorer.
- Ad$Summary outlines the dollar amounts spent annually on advertising by various companies. Lists brands alphabetically and shows totals by 11 different media formats.
- Mintel provides research reports on products ranging from personal goods to technology and telecommunication. Users will need to create a profile with their uoregon.edu email address to use the database.
- Market Research.com is a full text database of extensive market research reports.
- IBISworld provides market research for hundreds of industries in the U.S. economy.
- Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook
- Mergent Online (formerly Moody's) provides information on approximately 15,000 U.S. publicly traded companies and about 20,000 non-U.S. corporations.
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage provides extensive information on companies and industries.
- Market Share Reporter compiles market share statistics from trade publications.
- Advertising Age Data Center includes rankings and statistics about media companies and advertising agencies spending.
Demographics
- United States Census Bureau - Try "Community Facts" (left column) for finding commonly asked questions about the U.S. population
- Consumer Expenditure Survey provides information on the buying habits of American consumers.
Polling Information
- Gallup Polls (free site only). For summaries of Gallup polls by year, from 1935 onwards, see the print volumes at Knight HN 90 .P8 G35; the latest five years are in Reference.
Directories
- O'Dwyer's directory of public relations firms [UO PDX REF HM 263 .O37]
- Advertising Red Books: lists advertising agencies and what companies they work with (DOCS REF: Business Quick Reference Table)
- Editor & Publisher Market Guide [DOCS REF: Business Quick Reference Table]
Last revised April 2013 by Paul Frantz
