J396 International Communication Library Resources
J396 International Communication:
The following resources are useful for J396 assignments and projects:
- Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications (REF KNIGHT P 87.5 .E532 2003; 4 vol.) A useful starting point which summarizes the history of a country's or region's media structure.
- World Press Trends (REF KNIGHT PN 4699 .W67) provides a media market description and good statistics on the communication infrastructure of almost every country in the world.
- Attacks on the Press in 2011: A WorldWide Survey (Committee to Protect Journalists) (KNIGHT PN 4751 .A88)
Reference Sources: Online
- International Encyclopedia of Communication. The current standard reference work for communication studies.
- Europa World Plus provides background on a country's recent history, political structure, and economy, as well as a listing of a country's main newspapers, periodicals, and radio and TV stations. Choose a country; then, click "Directory: Society and Media."
- World Factbook (CIA). A good introduction to important country facts and statistics. It includes literacy figures, and statistics on telephone usage, radio/TV stations and internet usage. Choose a country; then, click on "Communications."
- World Press Encyclopedia Good for press history of a country. This latest edition, 2003, is now somewhat dated.
- MarketResearch.com provides important market intelligence on technology and media. From its home page, click on "Technology and Media"; in the "Quick Search" box, enter the country you are researching. The reports listed are especially thorough on the telecommunication infrastructure of a country.
- Passport GMID (Euromonitor) gives up-to-date articles and analysis on a country's internet usage, media access and advertising, and telecommunication structure. First, get access information to the database. Then, once you are on the database's main page, choose "Countries and Consumers" and then pull down to "Technology, Communications, and Media."
- Arab Media and Society
- Country Reports on Human rights Practices (U.S. State Department) Each country report has a section (usually Section 2) on freedom of the press and Internet freedom.
- Press Freedom Survey (Freedom House)
UO WorldCat offers a streamlined interface for search results that combine, into a single merged list, the collections of the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and hundreds of other libraries worldwide. When searching in UO WorldCat, entries for items owned by the UO Libraries appear at the top of the list and include information about location and availability. Try the following subject searches, followed by the name of a country:
- Mass media (e.g. su:Mass media Japan)
- Telecommunication (e.g. su:Telecommunication China)
- Freedom of the Press (e.g. su:Freedom of the Press Russia)
Articles in Periodicals or Newspapers
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
- Sociological Abstracts
- Lexis-Nexis Academic. This database is also good for finding articles from English-language newspapers of the foreign press. Here's a suggested procedure for doing that:1. from the Lexis/Nexis search page, click on "Sources" and then "Browse Sources" 2. then click "News & Business Topics" 3. for Filter by Country, pull down to the desired area or country; 4. then select a category to view sources, usually General News Sources. 5. then check as many sources as you want to monitor, and then click OK Continue (far right of the page). You're now ready to enter a topic keyword and then view full text results.
- World News Connection provides full text transcripts of non-U.S. media sources. Sources include commercial media, television reports, and government-controlled media. Here's a suggested procedure for getting to those: 1. Choose the Advanced Search page 2. enter a keyword(s) in the "Headline and Lead Paragraph" field e.g. Afghanistan 3. enter the capital of the country from which you want media articles, in the "City/Source" field e.g. New Delhi 3. Click on "Search" at the bottom of the page. Note: not every country is included in this database.
Latest revision January 2013 by Paul Frantz