J385 Communication Law
J385 Communication Law
Most significant legal resources are at the Law School Library, including trained reference help, but this guide lists other online research tools that you can consult:
- The International Encyclopedia of Communication has articles on various legal topics, including libel (defamation), freedom of the press, and copyright.
- The Encyclopedia of the First Amendment covers the political, cultural, and historical significance of the First Amendment. Entries include citations to important court cases and a brief bibliography.
- Books on First Amendment issues are located in the Knight Library on the 3rd Floor, in the KF 4770 call number area. The majority of books on libel are listed in the UO catalog under the subject heading: "Libel and slander." (See especially "Libel and slander - United States.") There are many more books on this topic in the Law Library.
- The Law Category in OneSearch can be used to search for articles from journals or law reviews on particular cases or legal concepts. For a good introductory search of law reviews, choose "Legal Collection."
- The Constitution of the United States of America. Also consult The Constitution of the United States: Analysis and Interpretation, (DOCS REF KF 4527 .U58), which lists key Supreme Court decisions for each clause of the Constitution.
- The U.S. Code. The codification of the permanent laws of the United States.
- The Oregon Revised Statutes. The official laws of the State of Oregon.
- The FOIA Post, published by the Department of Justice, summarizes legal opinion regarding the Freedom Of Information Act and provides guidance to federal agencies regarding requests for information under the statute.
- The Federal Communications Commission
- U.S. Courts
- The Federal Trade Commission
Databases
- Westlaw Campus. Note the "Legal guide" to "Communications and Media" in the left column.
- LexisNexis Academic
- Media Law Reporter. A weekly reporting service on significant opinions regarding media law handed down by federal and state courts. You must first create an account profile.
Other web sites of interest
- Professor Youm's media law on Twitter
- FindLaw. Legal information for the layperson.
- Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Media. Aims to be a complete source for all audio recorded in the Court since 1955.
- Citizen Media Law Project. A resource for citizens and organizations involved in online and citizen media.
- First Amendment Center (Vanderbilt University). A source of news, information, and commentary on First Amendment issues.
- Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. An advocacy site for journalists.
- Inforrm's Blog. A forum to debate issues of media responsibility.
- Index on Censorship. A British organization promoting freedom of expression around the world.
- Freedominfo.org. Assembles information on how freedom of information laws around the world were drafted and implemented, and how they have worked in practice.
- Student Press Law Center. A legal assistance agency devoted to educating high school and college journalists about First Amendment issues.
- Right2Info: Good Law and Practice. Provides comparative overviews of the current state of the rights to information of over 80 countries.
- Basic Legal Citation
