Finding Materials in Alternative Sources
Finding Materials in Alternative Sources
If you want to obtain a broader view of media coverage of your topic, go outside the coverage of Academic Search Premier or Magazines Fulltext. The indexes and databases listed below will give you access to a wider array of opinions from non-mainstream and alternative presses.
To evaluate your sources, use the Critical Evaluation of Information Sources guide.
Interdisciplinary Sources
Alternative Press Index covers publications that report on political, social, and cultural change, including topics relating to the environment, gay/lesbian issues, native peoples, seniors, and women. Coverage: 1991 to the present.
Ethnic NewsWatch contains the complete text of articles published in about 200 ethnic and minority newspapers and magazines, dating back to 1990. It is especially useful for Spanish-language publications.
Left Index covers the diverse literature of leftist periodicals from 1982 to the present.
World News Connection is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, giving international viewpoints on public policy matters.
Journals of Opinion
The following well-known periodicals offer a range of opinions, from the conservative to the liberal. To access these periodicals, search for them by title in the "Journal Titles" tab in the green search box on the main library web page.
- American Prospect - moderate left-wing perspective
- American Spectator - libertarian, conservative perspective
- Commentary - moderate perspective, addressing Jewish concerns
- Dissent - decidedly left-wing perspective
- Human Events - a leading conservative publication
- Monthly Review - "an independent socialist magazine"
- Ms - feminist issues and concerns
- Nation - openly left-wing
- National Review - conservative perspective
- New American - conservative, fundamentalist Christian perspective
- New Republic - seeks a neutrality of opinion
- New Statesman - a liberal British newsweekly
- Progressive - "a journalistic voice for peace and social justice ..."
- The Spectator - slightly more conservative British newsweekly
Finding Information on Authors and Periodicals
Finding Information on Authors and Periodicals suggests ways of locating biographical information on authors and background information on periodicals.
