Gateway to Finding Articles in General Periodicals
Finding Articles in General Periodicals and Newspapers
For aid in finding articles with alternative, non-mainstream points of view, go to Finding Materials in Alternative Sources
To evaluate your articles, use the Critical Evaluation of Information Sources guide.
The following indexes will be useful for finding articles from general periodicals and newspapers:
- Magazines Fulltext (MAS Ultra-School Edition) provides indexing to a variety of periodicals, including many general interest periodicals. Tips: limit your results to Publication Type: Periodical and Number of Pages greater than 2 (to retrieve articles of substantial depth).
- LexisNexis Academic provides the fulltext of articles in American and international newspapers and in selected trade periodicals. In addition, by pulling down to "Broadcast Transcripts" in the "Source Type" box, you get access to broadcast media news coverage.
- For local news coverage, consult The Oregonian and the Eugene Register Guard. The Factiva database provides full text of articles from The Oregonian from 1989 to the present. In the Factiva search box, type: sn=Oregonian and [keyword/s]. The Register-Guard archive provides citations and abstracts. For the full text of R-G articles, use the Knight Library microfilm archives.
- For more complete information on finding articles in U.S., international, or Oregon newspapers, consult Finding News Articles .
- To find articles in business or trade periodicals, try Business Source Complete. Tips: limit your results to Number of Pages greater than 2 (to retrieve articles of substantial depth).
Finding Information on Authors and Periodicals
Finding Information on Authors and Periodicals gives suggestions for locating biographical information on authors and background information on periodicals.