Research in Journalism and Communication
Journalism and Communication
The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in journalism and mass communication studies. For further assistance, contact Paul Frantz, Reference Librarian, at pfrantz@uoregon.edu.
Starting Your Research
These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to find a topic that might be of interest to you.
- International Encyclopedia of Communication
- Encyclopedia of Journalism
- James Watson's and Anne Hill's Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies, (Knight Reference P 87.5 .W38 2006)
- Jo Cates' Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature, 3rd ed. (Knight Reference Z 6940 .C38 2004).
Finding Articles
OneSearch allows you to enter keyword(s) and have them searched in a number of media-related databases simultaneously...
... or you can select one of the following databases that offer more powerful searching capabilities, such as limiting to journal articles.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete indexes over 500 mass media journals and offers the full text of about 230 of these.
- Sociological Abstracts provides indexing for over 1500 periodicals in the social sciences.
- Finding News Articles is useful for locating newspaper article databases, such as Lexis-Nexis Academic, with its full-text access to national and regional American newspapers, Newspaper Source, and indexes to the Portland Oregonian and Eugene Register-Guard.
- Business Source Complete provides coverage of periodicals and journals in advertising, marketing, and public relations.
- Ethnic NewsWatch contains the complete text of articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the U.S.
- Open Access Journals is a directory of free on-line journals in media and communications.
- World News Connection is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, including radio and television broadcasts and prominent international news sources.
- Small Town Papers provides the text of over 250 local newspapers from around the United States (with varying archival access).
Finding Books and Dissertations
UO WorldCat offers a streamlined interface for search results that combine, into a single merged list, the collections of the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and hundreds of other libraries worldwide. When searching in UO WorldCat, entries for items owned by the UO Libraries appear at the top of the list and include information about location and availability.
Books on journalism and communication can be found under the following call numbers:
- HE 7601-8700 Telecommunications
- HF 5801-6182 Advertising
- HM 258-263 Public relations
- HQ 784-799 Media and children
- KF 2750 & KF 4770 Media law
- P 87-96 Mass media
- PN 1990-1992 Radio and television broadcasting
- PN 4699-5650 Journalism
- TR 820-821 Photojournalism
Dissertation Abstracts provides summary information to dissertations in all subjects from 1861 to the present.
Media Directories
The UO Libraries have a number of media directories, including:
- Editor & Publisher International Data Book (REF KNIGHT PN 4700 .E2; located by the Reference/Information Desk)
- Complete Television, Radio & Cable Industry Directory (REF KNIGHT HF 6146 .R3 B72)
- Bacon's Newspaper Directory (REF KNIGHT Z 286 .N48 B33)
- Bacon's Magazine Directory (REF KNIGHT Z 286 .PR B33)
- Bacon's Radio Directory (REF KNIGHT HE 8664 .B33)
- Bacon's TV/Cable Directory (REF KNIGHT HE 8700.8 .B33)
- Television & Cable Factbook (REF KNIGHT TK 6540 .T45)
- O"Dwyer's Directory of Public Relations Firms (UO Portland Library Reference; can be sent down from Portland by request)
Contacting People and Organizations
- Editor & Publisher International Year Book (Knight Reference PN 4700 .E42; located at the Reference Desk) is an essential directory of the American newspaper industry.
- The corresponding guide to the foreign press is Willing's Press Guide (Knight Reference Z 6956 .E5 W5; located at the Reference Desk).
- The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication provides membership and convention information, a list of the association's publications, and regional opportunities.
- Other scholarly communication studies organizations include the International Communication Association and the National Communication Association.
Web Resources
- University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication provides links to faculty, course Web pages, and student publications.
- Online Newspapers provides links to online newspapers and news services around the globe.
- AP Images includes approximately 750,000 current and archived photos from the library of the Associated Press.
- The Pew Research Center has excellent reports and data on Americans' use of the press and Internet.
- Mashable is an excellent resource for anyone interested in keeping up with digital technology and social media.
- Center for Public Integrity: Investigative Reporting in the Public Interest provides a model for those interested in how the Web can invigorate investigative reporting.
- Poynter Online. The Poynter Institute specializes in journalism education, and its Web site is a useful source for scanning its curriculum and publications.
- Journalism.org offers a variety of resources addressing practical and ethical issues of concern to practitioners and students.
- The Media and Communication Studies Site, originating at the University of Wales, provides comprehensive links to 15 categories within media and communication studies.
- Want an idea of how people will be communicating in five years? Start at the MIT Media Lab, where communication and computers interweave in state-of-the-art research programs.
Last revised November 2012 by Paul Frantz
