Library Resources for Gateway
Library Resources for J 205 Gateway to Media
The Gateway project requires students to make extensive use of the resources of the University of Oregon Libraries. Gateway students are asked to find a variety of materials on a public policy topic: journalistic, institutional, and academic. The links below will assist you in working through the project and in gaining a better understanding of the resources of a large academic library.
Choose a topic:
CQ Researcher is your starting point for choosing a topic for the Gateway project. In the LibrarySearch box, type: CQ Researcher. You will see CQ Researcher listed in results. Click on "View Online." You can "Browse by Topic" or enter a keyword search. CQ Researcher provides 20-page summaries of many public policy issues.
Find News reports on Oregon topics:
The Oregon Media Directory is a great place for finding news reports on Oregon topics. It compiles links to 60 websites for Oregon newspapers, radio and TV stations, and community-oriented blogs. There is a custom search box for each category, and also for the entire site.
Evaluate Your Sources
To evaluate your sources, use the Critical Evaluation of Information Sources guide.
Specific guides to finding sources include:
- Finding books
- AP Images . Contains photos, graphics, and sound files from the archives of the Associated Press.
- ArtStor (on the UO campus) (off the UO campus). Contains a vast archive of art, photographs, and photojournalism.
- Vanderbilt TV News Archive. Contains downloadable video of news broadcasts from major TV networks. CNN and NBC segments are available free of charge; for other networks, there is a fee.
For background information on textual sources, use Finding Information on Authors and Periodicals.
Last revised June firstname.lastname@example.org