Research in Russian and East European Studies
Russian and East European Studies
The UO Russian and East European Studies Area covers materials published in vernacular languages of the region, as well as in English and other Western European languages in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Geographical area covers: Russia, Former Soviet Republics, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Hercegovina, Macedonia, Yugoslavia, Hungary, Bulgaria, Romania and Albania. The Library focuses on Russia and the Balkan Peninsula. In order to find Library materials in Cyrillic scripts use the Library of Congress Transliteration Tables (from Princeton University). Another version of transliteration tables can be found at University of Chicago. For courses offered at UO and their description see REESC. For older materials consult also the card catalog.
The following is a selected list of resources for starting research on Russia and Eastern Europe. For further assistance, ask at the Reference Desk or contact Heghine Hakobyan, firstname.lastname@example.org, Slavic Librarian.
- Bol'shaia Sovetskaia entsiklopediia [Great Soviet Encyclopedia. 3rd ed.] KNIGHT REF AE55 .B623
Two previous editions are shelved in the stacks.
- Great Soviet Encyclopedia. AE55 .B58 Knight Reference
31 volume set plus index, an English translation of the the third edition of Bol'shaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia.
- Entsiklopedicheskii slovar. AE55 .E66
58 vol. set and supplement published in Moscow 1910-1948. Vol. 56 was never published.
- Novyi illiustrirovannyi entsiklopedicheskii slovar. AE55 .N694 1999
The newest, concise version of Russian encyclopedia.
- Ukrainskaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia. AE60 .U4 U42 1978
12 vol. set in Russian.
- Ukrainska radianska entsyklopediia. AE60 .U4 U38
16 vol.set and index in Ukrainian.
- Kratka bulgarska entsiklopediia. AE60 .B8 K7 Knight Reference
5 vol. set in Bulgarian.
- Nowa encyklopedia powszechna PWN; AE53 .N68 1995 Knight Reference
6 vol. set in Polish.
- Masarykuv slovnik naucny: lidova encyklopedie vseobecnych vedomosti. AE51 .M3
7 vol. set in Czech.
- Narodna enciklopedija srpsko-hrvatsko-slovenacka. AE59. S72
4 vol. set in Serbo-Croation.
- Encyclopedia Britannica (Off-campus access limited to UO students, faculty, staff)
Concise, frequently scholarly, articles on many topics of interest to Slavic area studies.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. G63 .W67 1995
Volumes divided by continent. Each volume is organized alphabetically by country. Each profile contains a brief history of the country along with information on languages spoken, major religions, etc.
- Language dictionaries
Search by subject; i.e.
- Russian language--Dictionaries--Russian
- Russian language--Dictionaries--English
- Polish language--Dictionaries--Polish
- Polish language--Dictionaries--English, etc.
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.
- Academic Search Elite
An index covering many different topics with popular and scholarly articles. About half of the articles are full text.
- Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) Bibliographies
RAS covers materials in the humanities and social sciences published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. It includes books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.
- MLA Bibliography
The MLA Bibliography covers materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. The database provides access to some one million citations from over 4,000 journals, essay collections, dissertations, and bibliographies. It covers materials from 1963 to the present and is updated 10 times a year.
After identifying articles which look useful for your research, look up the journal title, not the article title, in the UO Library Catalog to determine if the Library subscribes to this title and get the call number and location.
Older issues of many newspapers are kept on microfilm in the Microforms Department of the Knight Library. They are organized alphabetically by the city of publication.
- UO Library Catalog
Identify books by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, you can check the library catalog by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if we have it here.
- Orbis Union Catalog
Orbis is a consortium of libraries that doubles our collection. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Orbis works only for books. If you want to request a journal articles, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form.
Worldcat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc.
- Statistical Sources on the Web for foreign government statistical agencies
Includes good links to international governmental statistics.
- Statistical yearbooks for various East European countries. Shelved by country in the Government Documents reference area.
- Statistical Abstract of the World; HA154 .S83 3rd ed. 1997 Knight Reference
Contains statistics by country. Includes data from 1970-1990s.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
An index to hundreds of sources of biographical information of people worldwide from all time periods.
- Who's who in the socialist countries of Europe. CT 195 .W46 1989 Knight Reference
3 vol. biographical encyclopedia of more than 12,600 leading personalities in Eastern Europe.
- Who's who in Russia and the CIS republics. CT 1203 .W46 1995 Knight Reference
Each entry provides the person's current position, education and personal information.
- Who was who in the USSR. CT 1212 .I57 Knight Reference
A biographic directory containing 5,015 biographies of prominent Soviet historical personalities.
- The biographical dictionary of the former Soviet Union; CT 1213 .V76 1992 Knight Reference
Concise biographies of prominent people in all fields from 1917 to 1992.
- Who's who in Russia today; CT 1213 .W57 1994 Knight Reference
A biographical dictionary of more than 2,100 individuals from the Russian Federation.
- Who's who in Russia since 1900; CT 1203 .M37 1997 Knight Reference
A reference guide which examines the leading political, economic, cultural, military, scientific and sporting personalities in Russia and the Soviet Union from 1900 to 1993.
- The Soviet Union : a biographical dictionary; CT 1213 .S65 1991 Knight Reference
Contains approximately 1,400 entries and focuses on Soviet history, politics and society.
- The Polish biographical dictionary; CT 1230 .S67 1992 Knight Reference
Profiles of nearly 900 Poles who have made lasting contributions to world civilization.
- Directory of selected research institutes in Eastern Europe; Q180 .E9 L5 Knight
Arrangement of the institutes within each country reflects the structure of research activity. Each section is introduced by a brief discussion of the organization and administration of science and technology and other aspects peculiar to the scientific community of that country.
- Directory of Soviet research and educational organizations; AS 258 .D5 Knight
The directory is designed to facilitate rapid determination of the correct title, location, and subordination of a given organization.
- Raising the curtain; JX 1905.5 .R35 1990 Knight
A guide to independent organizations and contacts in Eastern Europe.
- A scholars' guide to humanities and social sciences in the Soviet Union; AS258 .S36 1985 Knight
A comprehensive survey of the social sciences and humanities institutions of the USSR Academy of Sciences and the academies of sciences of the Union republics.
- Polish research guide; AS248 .P5 Knight
Lists the higher education institutions, the centers of the Polish Academy of Sciences, and the institutes and laboratories run by the individual industries.
- U C Berkeley Internet Resources for Slavic Studies
Suggested resources for Slavic Studies. Some have restricted usage.
- University of Pittsburgh Russian and East European Studies Internet Resources
A comprehensive index of electronic resources on Slavic and East European Studies.
- University of Texas at Austin East European and Eurasian Web Resources
A collection of links to information and websites to country directories of the Region.
- Yale Russian Archive Project
The project aims at facilitating access to the newly available documents in the archives of the former Soviet Union.
- Slavophilia, Slavic and East European Resources
A comprehensive guide to Internet resources on Russia and Eastern Europe.
- Russian & East European History
Comprehensive listing of Internet sources dealing with Russia and Eastern Europe.
- Central Europe Online
Daily online news stories in English.
- Directory of Russian Periodicals Online
In Russian and English; many pay for view, some free of charge.
- Country Internet Resources
Search for information about a country of the region...