Canadian Studies Research Guide
Canadian Studies
The UO Libraries have been a depository for Canadian government publications since 1965. Canada is a useful comparison to the United States for researching public policy, and Canadian government publications provide a wealth of information on Canadian policies and international issues. For further assistance, contact the Document Center.
Starting Your Research
General Reference Works on Canada
- The Canada Yearbook online or in print, 1905-present
- The Canadian Encyclopedia
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography
Bibliographies and Guides to Print Resources
- Library and Archives of Canada Searchable databases and browsable exhibits of primary sources on many detailed topics (First Nations, labour history, music, etc), including historic maps and newspapers
- Canadiana (CD-ROM) (DOC-CN/CR SN2-2) A searchable index of books, dissertations, pamphlets and other works created in or about Canada
- Pre-1900 Canadian Periodicals : Catalogue (KNIGHT Z6954.C2 P72 1998)
Biographical Information on Canadians
- Canadian Business Presents Who's Who in Canadian Business (DOCS REF. HC112.5.A2 C36 20th ed. 2000)
- The Canadian Who's Who (REF KNIGHT F1005 .C23 v.35 2000) the library also has earlier volumes for 1910, 1936/37, 1948, 1989, 1994.
- Contemporary Canadian Authors (REF KNIGHT PR9189.6 .C365 v.1 1995)
- Who's Who in Canadian Literature (REF KNIGHT PR9189.6.W47 1997-98)
Geography & Maps
Provinces of Canada
- British Columbia Financial and Economic Review (DOC-LC HC117.B8 A42 61st ed. 2001) Some earlier editions are available.This title is also available online.
- The Encyclopedia of British Columbia (REF KNIGHT F1087 .E52 2000)
Journals and Articles
- Journal of Canadian Studies (UO only)
- The American Review of Canadian Studies (UO only)
- Québec Studies (in print)
- Canadian Political Science Review
- Studies in Canadian Literature
- Northwest Journal of Linguistics
- Canadian Journal of Native Studies (UO only)
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Full text of articles from major Canadian newspapers. (UO only)
- Canadian Periodical Index (REF KNIGHT AI 3 .C242) The library has volumes 17-49, and 51-55.
- Checklist of Indexes to Canadian Newspapers. (KNIGHT Z6954.C2 B87 1987)
Finding Books, Movies, and more
Refine these results by adding search terms to the box at the top, or by clicking on the descriptions in the left column.
Government and Politics
- Canadian Think Tanks Directory of policy analysis from the University of Alberta
- Canadian Opinion Research Archive at Queens University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada.
Provides access to a variety of public opinion surveys of Canadians. - Canadian Politics on the Web. Nelson Canada.
A very useful compilation of links to sites dealing with all aspects of Canadian politics, including election results, political parties and interest groups, government agencies, public opinion, foreign policy, and more. - The Canadian West. National Archives of Canada.
This site provides an overview of the settlement of the western portion of Canada, from the 17th Century to 1930. - Government of Canada Official website. See also the UO Library Document Center's links to Canadian government sites.
More Guides
- Canadian Information By Subject. National Library of Canada.
- Canadian Studies: A Guide to the Sources. John D. Blackwell.
Hosted on the web site of the International Council for Canadian Studies, this excellent introductory essay provides both links to Internet sources and a fine bibliography of works cited. - Canadian Studies Research Guide. University of Washington Library.
- Library and Archives Canada. Canada's national collection of books, historical documents, government records, photos, films, maps, music...and more.
