Human Physiology Research Guide
Human Physiology & Sport
The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Exercise & Movement Science. For further assistance, contact Annie Zeidman-Karpinski, subject specialist for Exercise Science and Sports.
Finding Articles
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.
Biological/Medical Articles
- PubMed
THE database for medical sciences. Published by the National Library of Medicine, free to anyone, but use THIS link to get the UO holdings information via the FINDTEXT button. - Web of Science
The Web of Science includes articles from many aspect of the sciences. Highly recommended. - Cochrane Library
Top evidence based medicine reviews and trials. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Journals focusing on many medical disciplines and especially nursing and allied health. - OregonPDF in Health and Performance (was Kinesiology Publications)
Lists theses and dissertations in all fields of health as it relates to physical activity, physical fitness, activities of daily living, work, sport and athletics, recreation, dance, and play. - MEDLINE
Based on Pubmed, the primary database for the medical sciences. Smaller and with nice user features. - Biosis
BIOSIS covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. - Academic Search Premier
ASP provides full text for over 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. This is a good database to use if you're researching a multidisiplinary aspect of exercise or sport. - Google Scholar
Google for academics. Be sure to set up LIBRARY LINKS in Scholar Preferences, either from the gear icon on the black navigation bar or by setting it up from the page below:
http://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/librarylinks.html
ATC resources
- PubMed
THE database for medical sciences. Published by the National Library of Medicine, free to anyone, but use THIS link to get the UO holdings information via the FINDTEXT button. - SPORTDiscus
Sport Discus provides extensive, interdisciplinary coverage of sport-related topics from approximately 300 sport and physical education periodicals from 1949 to present. - Web of Science
The Web of Science includes articles from many aspect of the sciences. Highly recommended. - OregonPDF in Health and Performance (was Kinesiology Publications)
Lists theses and dissertations in all fields of health as it relates to physical activity, physical fitness, activities of daily living, work, sport and athletics, recreation, dance, and play. - Cochrane Library
Top evidence based medicine reviews and trials. - Academic Search Premier
ASP provides full text for over 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. This is a good database to use if you're researching a multidisiplinary aspect of exercise or sport. - SMART imagebase
The Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of 11,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics. - PsycNet, 1984 to present
PsycNet covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and others from 1872 to the present. Often a good database to find the psychological attendants of a specific sport. - SocAbstracts
For a more sociological perspective on sport, use SocAbstracts. Citations are included from 1963 to the present, with abstracts included from 1974 to the present.
Consumer Health
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
Excellent coverage on nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. - Medic Latina
Medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers in native Spanish. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. - Alt HealthWatch
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Tried and True Resources (Also good for starting)
Subject encyclopedias, atlases, and handbooks can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Gray's anatomy [Sci Ref QM23.2 .G73 1995]
- Atlas of human anatomy [Sci Ref QM25 .N46 1989]
- Encyclopedia of human biology [Sci Ref QP11 .E53 1997]
- Human physiology [Sci Ref QP34.5 .F68 1999]
- Manual of structural kinesiology [Sci Ref QP303 .F58 1998]
- Athletic ability & the anatomy of motion [Sci Ref QP303 .W6213 1997]
- Mosby's medical, nursing, & allied health dictionary [Sci Ref R121 .M89 1998]
- Encyclopedia of biostatistics [Sci Ref RA409 .E53 1998]
- Kinanthropometry and exercise physiology laboratory manual [Sci Ref RC1235 .K56 1996]
- SMART imagebase - The Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of 11,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.
- Sports Medicine & Athletic Training
- Sports medicine secrets [Sci Ref RC1210 .S765 1999]
- Athletic training and sports medicine [Sci Ref RC1210 .A84 1991]
- Handbook of sports medicine : a symptom-oriented approach [Sci Ref RC1211 .H36 1999]
- Science of flexibility [Sci Ref QP310.S77 A45 1996]
- Endurance in sport [Sci Ref RC1220.E53 E53 2000]
- Nutrition in sport [Sci Ref QP141 .N793 2000]
- Epidemiology of sports injuries [Sci Ref RA645.S68 E65 1996]
- The woman's guide to peak performance [Sci Ref RA781 .P84 1998]
- The Year book of sports medicine [Sci Ref RC1200.Y4]
- Essentials of sports medicine [Sci Ref RC1210 .E782 1997]
- Sports injuries : causes, diagnosis, treatment and prevention [Sci Ref RD97 .B57 1997]
- Biomechanics in sport : performance enhancement and injury prevention [Sci Ref RC1235 .B476 2000]
- Neuroscience
- Neuroscience [Sci Ref QP355.2 .N487 1997]
- Encyclopedia of neuroscience [Sci Ref RC334.E53 1987]
- Textbook of pain [Sci Ref RB127 .T45 1994]
- Other
- Related information about the relative ranking of journals is at the Eigen factor web site. Some international journals can be found with the SCImago Journal and Country Rank index. (This used to be Journal Citation Report (JCR) information.)
Finding Books
- UO Library Catalog
Identify books by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, you can check the library catalog by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if we have it here. - Summit Union Catalog
Orbis Cascade is a consortium of libraries that doubles our collection. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Orbis works only for books. If you want to request a journal articles, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form. - WorldCat
Worldcat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc.
Finding Images
- SMART imagebase
The Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of 11,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.
- John Martin Rare Book room images
These unique sets of several hundred images from the 5,000 volume John Martin Rare Book Room have been selected from some of the more striking works in the collection and include illustrations relating to anatomy, physiology, surgery, obstetrics, and therapeutics. An effort has been made to avoid duplicating the work of other digitizing projects relating to the history of medicine and to include only those images not already scanned in high resolution.
- Creative Commons
You can uncheck the commercial purposes box in the upper right next to the search box. Enter your terms and see what you find in each of the tabs. It includes google images and Flickr.
- UO Athletics historic photos digitized
University Archives documents, photographs, physical objects, and audiovisual materials tell the story of athletics at the University of Oregon. More than just statistics of accomplishments, this is the story of people and events that changed athletics at the University of Oregon over the past 110 years. It is also the story of athletics in higher education: the relationship and the issues involved between athletics and the academy over time.
- From the National Library of Medicine:
Visible Human project - online images here. There are also CDs of this in the Anatomy study room in the Science Library
Online exhibitions - lots of online images here, although you'll have to click through lots of pages to find them.
- Gray's Anatomy 1918 images
From the website: "The Bartleby.com edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings many in color from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn."
- BioVisions
From the website: "Research in the biological sciences often depends on the development of new ways of visualizing important processes and molecules. ... The continuing quest for new and more powerful ways to communicate ideas in biology is the focus of BioVisions at Harvard University."
Web Resources
- American Physiological Society
- Citing Electronic Documents
- Evaluating Information on the World Wide Web
- Distinguishing Between Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines
- International Society of Biomechanics
- National Athletic Trainers' Association
- Plagiarism for Students
- Searching the Web
- UO Athletic Training Service Center
- UO Human Physiology Department
- Temporary link: HPHY 607 Reflection Question or Reflection Q form
Wrap up question
