Research Guide for HIST 483583 - Cold War Latin America
Guide to Resources for Cold War Latin America
If you have questions about your research, please feel free to contact me:
Social Sciences Librarian/History
Historical Abstracts - citations & abstracts for articles and books covering historical topics outside of the U.S. and Canada.
PRISMA - full-text access to Spanish-, Portugese- and English-language scholarly journals relating to Latin America.
JSTOR - full-text access to the back issues (going back to the beginning of the 20th Century) of major journals from a variety of disciplines.
CIA FOIA Electronic Reading Room - Searchable, full-text database of declassified CIA documents (the documents do have redactions to varying degrees). The Advanced Search page allows you to limit your search by date.
Digital National Security Archive - "A comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 61,000 of the most important, declassified documents, totaling more than 475,000 pages, are included in the database" (from database information).
Historical New York Times - Full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2004.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) - Index to articles in popular (U.S.) magazines, many of which we have in print up on the second floor of the library.
United Nations Documents - Located in the Document Center are the minutes and other documentation from the U.N. General Assembly meetings as well as documentation from groups such as the U.N. Security Council. The Yearbook of the United Nations (DOCS-REF JX1977.A37 Y4) is another good source for discovering important U.N. activity. Many documents are also available online via the U.N. Documentation Centre.
Organization of American States Documents - Also in the Document Center are various publications issued by the Organization of American States. These are in English and in Spanish. Ask at the Document Center desk for the location.
Foreign Relations of the United States - Diplomatic documents assembled by the U.S. State Dept. that go back to the mid-nineteenth century. The Document Center has the printed volumes covering the period 1932-1976 (DOC-LC JX233 .A3), but you can also access these materials online in two locations: for 1900-1960, the documents are available at http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/FRUS/ ; for more recent volumes, go to http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ho/frus/c1716.htm .