Jump to Navigation
University of Oregon
UO Home | Dept Index
Search Library Website
chat is offline
chat with a librarian
chat is offline
  •  Libraries Home
  •  Find Resources
  •  Research Assistance
  •  Library Services
  •  About the Libraries
  • :: Ask a Librarian
  • :: My Account
  • :: Mobile Site

Guide to African American History

Guide to Resources for African-American History

Back to History Research Guide

Online Resources (UO Access Only)

Secondary Sources

  • America: History and Life
  • International Index to Black Periodicals
  • JSTOR
  • Oxford African American Studies Center
  • Encyclopedia of African American Society
  • Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History

Primary Sources

  • African American Song
  • Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Ethnic News Watch
  • Historical New York Times
  • History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century
  • International Index to Black Periodicals
  • Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
  • Oxford African American Studies Center

Online Resources (Free Access)

Secondary Sources

  • The Black Past

Primary Sources

  • History Matters
  • The Black Past
  • HBCU Digital Collections
  • American Memory African-American History Collections
  • Booker T. Washington Papers
  • Documenting the American South
  • Southern Oral History Program
  • Civil Rights Digital Library
  • New-York Historical Society Slavery Collections
  • Ida B. Wells Papers
  • W.E.B. DuBois Papers
  • Guide to Historical African-American Newspapers

Microfilm Collections

  • African-American Studies in Microforms
  • Underground Newspapers

Films & Videos

  • UO 16mm Film Collection - African-Americans

Manuscript Collections

  • African-American Collections in UO Special Collections
  • Finding Primary Source Materials

1501 Kincaid Street, Eugene, OR 97403-1299 | T: (541) 346-3053 | F: (541) 346-3485

University of Oregon Facebook Fan Page Link University of Oregon Twitter Page Link University of Oregon Library News RSS Feed Link
  • Contact Us |
  • Make a Gift |
  • Mobile Site