History 407 Gender in Latin America during the Age of Revolution

History 407: Gender in Latin America during the Age of Revolution (1750-1850)

 

If you have questions about doing your research, contact me:

John Russell
johnruss@uoregon.edu
541-346-2689
 

Back to History Research Guide

 

Secondary Sources

Historical Abstracts - citations & abstracts for articles and books covering historical topics outside of the U.S. and Canada.

PRISMA - full-text access to Spanish-, Portugese- and English-language scholarly journals relating to Latin America.

JSTOR - full-text access to the back issues (going back to the beginning of the 20th Century) of major journals from a variety of disciplines.

Primary Sources

Latin American Newspapers - Pre-1922 newspapers in Spanish, English, and Portugese covering all of Central and South America and some of the Caribbean.

Eighteenth-Century Collections Online - 18th century material printed in Great Britain and in the British colonies.

Google Books - A good place to find 19th Century travel narratives, histories, or collections of documents.

World Digital Library: Latin America & the Caribbean - Maps, books, and newspapers, with an emphasis on maps and travel narratives.

Latin American Travelogues - Digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written during the 16th-19th centuries. Items are drawn from the Special Collections at Brown University.

Primary Sources - History: Latin America - Research guide at the University of Washington, this is a good list of digital collections available, though it covers all time periods. Links with a padlock next to them mean that access is restricted to the University of Washington community.