Geog 410510 Food Research Guide
Research Guide: Geographies of Food (Geog 410/510)
Contact Librarian: Miriam Rigby, firstname.lastname@example.org; 346-7202
Looking for Articles ...
Use at least 3 or 4 databases when doing research. Each one contains articles from different academic journals so it is important to try a few to make sure you're finding the best info for your topic.
- GeoBase is the best database for finding human geography articles.
- Web of Science is an interdisciplinary index to articles in the sciences and social sciences, making it particularly useful for multidisciplinary research.
- America: History and Life is the main database for finding citations & abstracts for U.S. History articles or book reviews -- including thousands of articles on food and agriculture.
- AGRICOLA encompasses all aspects of agriculture including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, as well as food and nutrition.
- BioOne is database that allows the user to search for any word in the full text of over 80 high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of these titles are published by scholarly societies and provide integrated access to journals focusing on biological, ecological, paleontological, and environmental sciences.
Finding Background Information ...
- Encyclopedias and dictionaries are a useful place to gather background information on your topic.
Citing your sources ...
You should cite everything! Even things that are "free on the internet" need to be attributed to their authors.
- The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the most current (16th) edition.
- The Purdue Owl is a reliable online aid for help with citations and avoiding plagiarism.