Food Studies Research Guide

Researching Food Studies

Contact Librarian: Miriam Rigby, rigby@uoregon.edu; 346-7202

 

Articles (Scholarly / Peer-reviewed)

Food Studies is highly interdisciplinary. The following is a very small selection of journal databases that may be useful to you.

  • Agricola covers agriculture, including economics, forestry, alternative farming practices, culture, and nutrition.
  • America: History and Life is the main database for finding citations & abstracts for U.S. History (includes modern culture and ancient archaeology.)
  • Biosis covers traditional areas of biology (botany, zoology and microbiology), as well as biochemistry, biophysics, and bioengineering.
  • MLA International Bibliography The essential index for literary criticism articles.
  • JSTOR provides full-text access to thousands of journals, primarily across the social sciences.
  • Web of Science - articles from across the sciences & social sciences. This is one of the best interdisciplinary databases.
  
  Related Course Guides

  Other Useful Guides:

Background Information

We have many additional specialized encyclopedias - some online and many in print in the Knight Library & Science Library Reference Sections

   Audio & Visual Materials

Additional Primary Sources

Citation Help

 

Key Food Studies Journals

UO Full-Text Access may vary. Most of these are also searchable in our journal databases. If you cannot access the full-text of an article, use the Interlibraray Loan form.