Where Can I Get This Article?

Looking for Articles in Journals and Magazines

Where Can I Get This Article?

Using the Index to Locate Periodicals

There are several features of many online periodical indexes that can make your quest to actually get your hands on an article much easier:

  • Full text: More and more online periodical indexes are providing direct or linked access to the articles themselves, either as part of the database (e.g., Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, LexisNexis Academic) or through a secondary service (e.g., Metapress).

    Limitations: available dates (most full text doesn't go back farther than 1998, except for JSTOR, which includes everything but the more recent articles); some access to full text depends on whether the UO Libraries have explicitly subscribed to the online content (e.g., Project MUSE, Catchword).

  • Link to UO Libraries Catalog: Many online indexes now include a link to the UO Libraries Catalog, and will automatically peform a search in the catalog for the journal in which a particular article appears. It's always a good idea, however, to repeat the catalog search yourself if the automatic search doesn't result in a match.

  • Holdings statement: Some indexes, most notably those provided by OCLC's Firstsearch service, indicate in your results list whether or not the UO Libraries has some or all issues of a particular journal. However, you won't know which issues the libraries have, or where the journal is located, until you search the UO Libraries Catalog.

  • Link to interlibrary loan: Interlibrary loan (ILL) allows you to request a copy of an article not available from the UO Libraries. Some indexes, particularly those provided by OCLC's Firstsearch service, allow you to submit a request from within the index. Look for a button or link labeled "ILL."

  • FindText: When you see the FindText icon, or a text link that says FindText Options click on it to find out if the UO Libraries have full text access to the article you're seeking, search the online catalog, fill in an interlibrary loan request, and more.

Look for these features as you use various indexes.

Example Article Citation

The following example shows a record from the ATLA Religion index:

Title: Women in Islam : Equity, equality, and the search for the natural order. Author and Title refer to the author and title of the article itself.
Author(s): Smith, Jane I.

Click on the author's name to find other articles by the same author.

Source: Journal of the American Academy of Religion 47 D 1979, p 517-537. Source (sometimes also referred to as Journal, depending on the index) provides the title of the periodical, as well as information on the specific volume, issue, date and page numbers on which the article appears. You will need this information to locate the article, whether the journal is available online or in print.
ISSN: 0002-7189 The ISSN is the number used by the database to search our library catalog. Each periodical has a unique ISSN. Libraries use this number to distinguish between periodicals with similar titles.
Publication Year: 1979  
Language: English  
Subjects: Marriage customs and rites, Islamic; Sociology, Islamic; Women in Islam; Women in the Qur'an Subjects provide very accurate and focused searches, but the preferred indexing term may not be the one you would normally think of. Many indexes have their own vocabulary, often defined in a thesaurus, such as the one developed by the American Theological Library Association (Z695.1.T3R44). Other databases may refer to these standard headings as identifiers or descriptors.
Abstract: Islam provides women honor and respect, rights and obligations. The Qur'an protects in marriage, divorce, and inheritance in a vast improvement over pre-Islamic society. Nonetheless male authority and honor have made it difficult for women to avail themselves of these rights. Reforms have improved education and emancipation, yet hardships still prevail. Westerners often assess Muslim women in terms of "progress" or "problems", noting inequities between men and women. Little understanding can take place without seeing the female-male relationship from the Islamic perspective. The Qur'an cites men as protectors of women, the righteousness of the latter defined in obedience to males. A predominant theme in contemporary Muslim writing is the naturalness of women's defined roles. Their somatic and psychological differences determine distinct duties. Few Muslim women are sympathetic to Western feminism. In Islam women are freed from problems that are assumed by men. Whether liberation is appropriate in the Muslim context must be considered from within the tradition and must be defined consistently with the Qur'an and the div-ordained principles of Islam. [Excerpt]. The Abstract provides a summary of the article; this can be very useful for making a decision on whether or not you want to retrieve or request this article.
General Note: Bibliography Notes provide additional information about the article, such as the presence of a bibliography.
Publication Type: Article The Publication Type separates journal articles from other types of documents, such as dissertations, book chapters, and conference proceedings. This field is usually searchable, allowing you to limit your search to a particular type of resource.
Issued by ATLA: 20040715  
Full Text From ATLA: Click here for electronic resource Full Text indicates that the article is available online and can be retrieved by clicking on the link. Most articles are in HTML or PDF format; if in HTML format, they may or may not contain images, graphics, charts, and tables.
Accession Number: ATLA0000775406  
Persistent link to this record: http://libproxy.uoregon.edu/login?url=http://search.epnet.com/login.aspx? direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,url,uid&db=rfh& an=ATLA0000775406&loginpage=loginpage=login.asp  
Database: ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials  
View Links: FindTextUOCheck UO Libraries Catalog FindText provides an entire menu of services for locating the article and more, including access to full text (if we have it) and interlibrary loan. Check UO Libraries Catalog links you directly to the journal record in the online catalog, which will give you the call number &/or a link to online issues, if available.

Using the Online Catalog to Locate Periodicals

 

  1. Type in the title of the article if you know it. If not, you can enter keywords.
  2. Click on the Search button.
  3. Search results display on next page, which might include all formats of your entry.
  4. Check Articles on the left (Narrow by Format) to limit to only articles.

Sometimes the UO Libraries' will not have a particular journal or magazine in its collection, and may not have online access to the periodical. In such cases, you are encouraged to submit an interlibrary loan request; we'll get a copy of the article for you, usually within 3-7 days.