Looking for Articles in Journals and Magazines

Looking for Articles in Journals and Magazines

Here are some suggested sources for finding articles in magazines or academic journals. This guide does not discuss how to find articles in newspapers; for that process, see our Finding News Articles guide.

1. To do a quick interdisciplinary search for articles, use the Articles & Databases drop down tab in the Search section of the library's main web page. Type keywords in the search box, and the system will search for those keywords in several interdisciplinary article databases: Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, Project Muse, and Web of Science. The results will either include a link to the full text or a Check FindText link to find out if the UO Libraries have access to the article.

 

2. To target your search within article databases that focus on a particular field, use the Databases by subject page. Choose the field you are working in (e.g. Literature, Chemistry). You will see a list of databases in that field. Check the boxes of the databases you wish to search, and type your search keywords in the box at the top of the page. Or you can click on the title of a database (e.g. ERIC, MLA) to get to its search interface and perform your search there.

 

3. To search within a specific database (if you know which one you are looking for, e.g. ERIC, MLA), use our Database List A-Z. This list compiles the hundreds of databases that the UO Libraries make available to its patrons.

 

4. The library catalog, UO Worldcat, also provides access to article level records from several databases. Type keywords in the box. You can then limit your results to articles (or, better yet, peer-reviewed articles) by using the format limits on the left hand side of the page. To determine if the UO Libraries have access to an article that is listed, click on the title of the article, and then use the FindText link, click on a full text link, or notice if the library has a print copy of the article.

 

 

Use Find Text or the local catalog to see if we have the journal or magazine in which each article is published. If you can't find it in the UO Libraries, you may need to request it from another library usinginterlibrary loan (ILL). Many of our online indexes allow you to place your request directly from the database (or you can use the link from the FindText menu).

 

Finally, don't forget to cite your article properly, using an appropriate bibliographic style.

 

For further assistance, ask a reference librarian.