. In evaluating the credibility of an information source there are several key areas to consider:
- the Authority of the author and the background of the publisher
- the Objectivity of the author
- the Quality of the work
- the Currency of the work
- the Relevancy of the work
The tables below provide a framework for investigating these aspects of an information source, whether it be an article in a journal or newspaper or encyclopedia; a book; a web site; a government document; a food container; or any other source upon which you're relying. Not all questions will apply in all situations, and not all responses need to be positive ones - this is not a scorecard. The questions are intended to help you think critically about information sources.
To evaluate authority:
| Ask the Questions |
Find Answers |
| Who is the author? |
- Most common places to find the name of the author:
- Title page (book or report)
- Title information at top of first page (articles, book chapters)
- End of the article (encyclopedias)
- Top or bottom of page (web pages)
|
What are the author's credentials?
- Relevant university degree
- Institutional affiliation (where does he or she work?)
- Relevant field or employment experience
- Past writings
|
|
What is the author's reputation among his/her peers?
- Has she been cited in articles, books or bibliographies?
- Is he mentioned in your textbook or by your professor?
|
- Use indexes that track citations to find articles citing your author
|
Who is the publisher?
- Commercial, trade, institutional, other?
- Known for quality and/or scholarly publications?
- Basic values or goals?
- Specialization?
|
- Examine the publisher's web site
- Mergent Online will help determine if a publisher is owned by a larger entity. Enter the publisher's name; then click on "Subsidiaries."
- The Writer's Market (Knight Reference Desk) will give brief descriptions of publishers and the material they seek.
|
Is the author associated with a reputable institution or organization?
- What is the organizational mission?
- What are its basic values or goals
- Is it national or international?
- Who makes up its membership?
|
- Examine the institution's or organization's web site
- Check the Encyclopedia of Associations (Knight Reference Desk) and Research Centers Directory (Knight Reference Desk)
|
To evaluate objectivity:
|
Ask the Questions
|
Find Answers
|
|
Does the author state the goals for this publication?
Are they to inform, explain, or advocate?
Are they to sell a service or serve as a soapbox?
|
Skim the foreword, preface, abstract and/or introduction of the work. |
Does the author exhibit a particular bias?
- Is there a commitment to a point of view?
- Does she acknowledge bias?
- Are both sides of a controversial issue presented?
|
- Skim the abstract and/or introduction
- Skim the author's conclusions
- Examine the work for
- Inflammatory language
- Images or graphic styles (e.g., text in color or boldface type) to persuade you of the author's point of vie
- Author's arguments or supporting facts
- A bibliography that includes multiple points of view
|
| |
|
Does the information appear to be valid and well-researched?
- Are arguments and conclusions supported by evidence?
- Are opposing points of view addressed?
- Are authoritative sources cited?
|
- Verify facts and statistics with a reliable source
- Examine cited sources for authority and objectivity
|
To evaluate quality:
| Ask the Questions |
Find Answers |
|---|
Is the information well-organized?
- Logical structure
- Main points clearly presented
- Main ideas unified by overarching idea
- Text flows well (not choppy or stilted)
- Author's argument is not repetitive
|
Look at the table of contents to get an idea of the work, and skim the text itself. |
- Has the author used good grammar?
- Are there spelling or typographical errors?
|
|
Are the graphics (images, tables, charts, diagrams) appropriate?
- Clearly labelled
- Not sensational
- Understandable without explanatory text
|
|
| If a web page, is the information reliable? |
Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask (UC Berkeley) |
To evaluate currency:
| Ask the Questions |
Find Answers |
|---|
| When was it published? |
- Look for a publication or copyright date on the
- Title page (books, journals)
- Reverse of the title page (books)
- Cover (journals, magazines, newspapers)
- Table of contents (journals, magazines)
- Bottom of the page (web sites)
- Dates on web pages may indicate
- When the page was created
- When the page was published on the web
- When the page was last revised
|
| Is your topic one that requires current information? |
Topic areas requiring the most up-to-date information include
- Science
- Medicine
- Current events
|
| Has this source been updated in a subsequent edition? |
Search WorldCat for a more recent edition |
To evaluate relevance:
| Ask the Questions |
Find Answers |
|---|
| |
|
Is the content appropriate for your research topic or assignment?
- Is the source scholarly or popular?
- Can you identify the format/medium (e.g., book, article, government report, web site, etc.)
- Is the content primary, secondary, or bibliographic?
|
- Scholary vs Popular guide
- Primary sources include first-hand accounts of an event, diaries, photographs, etc
- Secondary sources include books or articles that come after the event and analyze it
- Bibliographic sources include encyclopedias and dictionaries that provide background
|
This guide was originally written by Colleen Bell. It has been revised and updated by Paul Frantz, pfrantz@uoregon.edu, University of Oregon Libraries.
October 2012