FIG - Urban Garden
FIG - Urban Garden
This page should help you with your FIG research assignment. You may also want to try the UO Libraries LibX Toolbar for your browser!
Answer the wrap-up question(s).
Find an article here:
The above search box is searching the following specific databases, that you might want to try individually:
Academic Search Premier
Good for its mix of popular, news and scholarly articles. You have to exercise your critical evaluation skills to help determine what's what. (Do NOT rely solely on their limit to peer-reviewed feature--it is not reliable.)
Database of the National Agricultural Library. Covers journal articles, books, and more, in all aspects of agriculture and forestry, including agroecology, botany, entomology/pest control, irrigation, labor issues, etc.
Web of Science
Interdisciplinary database that includes all the social sciences. Special feature is the ability to find articles that cite an article or author.
Way better than regular Google for doing scholarly research. It searches journal articles, books, reports from research institutions and think-tanks, university archives and repositories, etc. Click on the downward-facing arrow in the search box for Advanced search.
For finding LOCAL information:
- Newspapers are a good source for finding local information - many options here
- For Oregon, see also the Oregon Media Directory- this covers newspapers and news websites, as well as blogs
- Google Advanced web search - this helps you really narrow down a search
Find a bookin UOWorldCat (UO Libraries and beyond)
A few book search tips:
- Use general terms, as opposed to the more specific terms used for searching for articles. E.g., if you want books about genetically modified plants' effects on pollinators, you will find more by looking just for genetically modified plants and environmental.
- UO WorldCat searches for articles, and many other formats besides books. To limit to books, click on 'book' under format on the left side.
- You may get better results if you do a Subject Heading search for a broad term. To do a search by Subject, go to Advanced Search. You also can click on the subject heading links in the full record display for a book that you like, to get more like it. For instance, the subject heading for genetically modified plants is "transgenic plants".
Short Video: How to read a scientific journal articleAlthough this is about a scientific article, a lot of the principles apply to any scholarly journal article, especially if it involves empirical research.
Short Video: Evaluating Websites
= You must be on campus, or an authorized UO user if off campus, to access)
Dictionary of Ecology, 4th ed.
Dictionary of Plant Sciences, 2nd ed.
Encyclopedia of Earth
This free, web encyclopedia is based on a Wikipedia-like model, but articles are contributed by people with expertise in the fields they are writing about and are reviewed by a board of expert editors. It has content on food and agriculture, environmental design, water resources, and much more.
The New Royal Horticultural Society Dictionary of Gardening (4 vols.) AAA REF & SCI REF SB450.95 .N48 1992
Oxford Companion to the Garden "devoted to gardens of every kind and the people and ideas involved in their making. It combines a survey of the world's gardens with articles on a range of topics"
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America "covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink"
Sunset Western Garden Book AAA REF SB453.2.W4 S9 1995
The "bible" on gardening in the Western states.
Water: Science & Issues also in print: SCI REF GB 655 .D37
This 4-volume encyclopedia covers basic issues and can provide you some good background information on issues of water conservation, agricultural water use, irrigation, etc.
Compare the above reference sources with:
- Do the articles have identified authors? Are the authors' credentials and affiliations available? Do the articles have references or bibliographies? If so, are there differences in the kinds of references given?
- Wikipedia is a very handy, free Internet source, but it is not always reliable. For a demonstration of this phenomenon, watch this excerpt of the Colbert Report. (This is a bit dated now, as changes have been made to Wikipedia since this was aired, but it's still funny!)
Critical Evaluation of Information Sources -- This web page contains a wealth of information on evaluating information sources both in print and on the Web
For a simpler approach to evaluating web sites, check out:
- The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly: or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources (Susan E. Beck, New Mexico State University)
Still my favorite site on web evaluation for its brevity and clarity -- see especially the 'Criteria' section.
To determine whether a particular periodical (magazine, journal) is scholarly (peer-reviewed, refereed) or popular, see these pages:
- Scholarly or Popular?
- Types of Periodicals (pdf)
- Checking the periodical title on Ulrich's Periodical Directory, especially the link via FindText is also a good way.
What is "peer-review"?
- What is a Peer-Reviewed Journal? (pdf)
A very brief explanation of what, why, and how to identify.
- The Peer Review Process
A very short video on what it is and ways to recognize peer-reviewed journals.