ENG 690 Course Research Guide
ENG 690 Course Research Guide
Get help from your librarian!
- Elizabeth Peterson, Librarian for Literature & Cinema Studies
- emp@uoregon.edu
- (541) 346.3047
This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of ENG 690--Introduction to Graduate Studies.
Background, Overviews & Terms
- Oxford Reference Premium - Select -- > Literature Many of the best reference tools for literature all together and searchable at once, including The Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, Dictionary of Phrase & Fable, and many more. Use this to find information about authors, movements, periods, genres, theories, terms, historical context, and plot summaries.
- Literature Resource Center Provides easy access to scholarly research on authors and literary works. Includes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, and journal articles. more...
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Provides encyclopedia-like entries of critical trends and theories. Also includes overviews of particular critics' publications and influence. Also available in print: KNIGHT REFERENCE PN81 .J554 2005.
- Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies KNIGHT REFERENCE PR83 .H37. James Harner's excellent guide lists and evaluates important reference materials in English studies. Annotations describe the type of work, its scope, its major limitations, and its organization, and explain the work's uses in research.
Surveys of Research
What are the current trends in English Studies? What are the gaps in the research? Use these guides to stay abreast of your discipline. Current copies are located in the Reference Collection.
- Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics The online equivalent of the renowned print series from Cambridge University Press. The hundreds of titles in the series provide scholarly overviews of authors, movements, genres, periods, and national literatures.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature | PE1 .A56
- Year's Work in English Studies | PE58 .E6
- Yearbook of Research in English and American Literature | PR13 .Y42
- Yearbook of English Studies | PR3 .Y4
Finding Books
- UO Local Catalog | Search just the UO Libraries' holdings.
- UO WorldCat | Search the UO Libraries, the Summit system (Northwest libraries), and libraries worldwide. Use this system to request items not owned by UO Libraries.
Literary Criticism & Articles
- Academic Search Premier Indexes more than 8,000 publications, with full text for approximately 4,600. ASP focuses on academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals, with over 3,500 peer-reviewed titles. Full text coverage goes as far back as 1965.
- JSTOR A full-text database that contains the scanned images of hundreds of major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines, some of which began publication as early as the 1870s.
- MLA International Bibliography The essential index for critical materials about all literatures (except classical Greek and Roman), languages, folklore and film. The database provides access to over 1.3 million entries gleaned from essay collections, dissertations, monographs and over 6,000 journals. Covers 1926-present.
- Project Muse Searches the full text in over 300 academic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, journals.
Primary Sources
- 19th-Century Masterfile An online index to articles and stories published in magazines from 1786-1922.
- American Memory Provides free access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music from the Library of Congress that document the American experience.
- American Periodical Series Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 18th- and 19th-century newspapers and periodicals.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) Contains digitized facsimiles of all printed materials published in Great Britain between 1473 and 1700, and materials published elsewhere in the world in English during the same period. Materials include books, tracts, pamphlets, advertisements, ballads, rhymes, and other ephemera.
- Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO) Claims to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century (1701-1800), along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors.
- New York Times (1851-2004) Provides the full text, with images, of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851, up to three (3) years prior to the current year. It is searchable by keyword, subject, author, and article title. It also includes advertisements.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Theatre, Music and Literature Features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online: European Literature, 1790-1840 Includes the full-text of more than 9,500 English, French and German titles in fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) Provides indexing for general-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States.
Finding Archival Sources
- ArchiveGrid
This database aids in locating manuscript collections, personal papers, and historical documents held in archives and archival collections. - Northwest Digital Archives
Online finding aids for manuscript collections held by libraries and historical societies in Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, and Alaska. - UO Libraries Manuscript Collections
Manuscripts and personal papers held by UO Libraries. - UO WorldCat
Search for archival materials in libraries worldwide. In advanced search, select "archival material" as the format you want to search.
