Looking for Encyclopedias

Looking for Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide a great way to begin an inquiry. They provide an overview of the most important facets of a topic, as well as a concise list of recommended readings.

The University of Oregon Libraries have scores of encyclopedias. This guide lists the more important ones, by broad subject area.

Locations used in this guide are:

  • AAA REF     Architecture & Allied Arts Library, 200 Lawrence Hall
  • DOCS REF     Document Center, 1st floor Knight Library
  • REF KNIGHT     Reference Department, 1st floor Knight Library
  • LAW REF     John E. Jaqua Law Library, 2nd floor Knight Law Center
  • MUSIC REF     Music Services, 3rd floor Knight Library
  • SCI REF     Science Library, lower level Onyx Bridge
  • PDX REF     Portland Library, White Stag Building
  • MATH REF     Mathematics Library, 218 Fenton Hall

You might also want to consult a research guide for your subject area for more resources that may help you in your search.


General Encyclopedias

  • Wikipedia
  • World Book Encyclopedia - REF KNIGHT AE 5 .W55
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences - REF KNIGHT H 41 .I58 2001
  • McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - SCI Q 121 .M3 2007

Selected Subject Encyclopedias

Subject encyclopedias and dictionaries have been compiled for a number of broad disciplines. Their articles, written by specialists, offer more in-depth information on scholarly topics than those found in general encyclopedias and frequently provide a list of further references on a topic.

African Studies

  • New Encyclopedia of Africa - REF KNIGHT DT 2 .N48 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Africa - REF KNIGHT DT 3 .E53 2010
  • Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African ... Experience - REF KNIGHT DT 14 .A37435 2005
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought - REF KNIGHT DT 14 .I74 2010
  • Encyclopedia of African History - REF KNIGHT DT 20 .E53 2005
  • Europa World Plus

Anthropology and Archaeology

Architecture

  • Grove Dictionary of Art - also in print at AAA REF N 31 .D5
  • Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture - AAA REF N 6260 .G75 2009
  • Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture - AAA REF and UO PDX REF NA 680 .E495 2004

Art

  • Grove Dictionary of Art - also in print at AAA REF N 31 .D5
  • Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Archaeology - AAA REF N 5610 .G76 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Sculpture - AAA NB 198 .E33 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography- AAA REF TR 642 .E5 2006

Asian Studies

Biology

  • Encyclopedia of Life Sciences - SCI REF QH 302.5 .E53 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Bioethics
  • Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry - also in print at SCI REF QD 415 .A25 E53
  • Encyclopedia of Evolution - also in print at SCI REF QH 360.2 .083
  • Encyclopedia of Genetics - SCI REF QH 427 .E53 2002
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia - SCI REF QL 7 .G7813 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition - SCI REF QP 141 .E526 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology - SCI REF QR 100 .B58 2002

Business

Chemistry

Cinema Studies

  • The Film Encyclopedia: The Complete Guide to Film and the Film Industry - REF KNIGHT PN 1993.45 .K34 2008
  • The Encyclopedia of American Independent Filmmaking - REF KNIGHT PN 1993.45 .L63 2002
  • Icons of Horror and the Supernatural: An Encyclopedia of our Worst Nightmares - REF KNIGHT PN 56 .H6 I26 2007
  • Images in the Dark: An Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Film and Video - REF KNIGHT PN 1995.9 .H55 M87 1994
  • Blacks in American Film and Television: An Encyclopedia - REF KNIGHT PN 1995.9 .N4 B58 1988
  • Hispanics in Hollywood: An Encyclopedia of Film and Television - REF KNIGHT PN 1995.9 H47 R49 1994
  • The Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood - REF KNIGHT PN 1995.9 M56 M83 2003
  • Encyclopaedia of Hindi Film - REF KNIGHT PN1993.5. I8 E53 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Chinese Film - REF KNIGHT PN 1993.5 .C4 Z53 1998
  • The Companion to Italian Film - REF KNIGHT PN 1993.5 I88 N685 1996
  • The Companion to British and Irish Film - REF KNIGHT PN 1993.5 G7 C37 1996
  • Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film - REF KNIGHT PN 1993.5 A65 C66 2001
  • The BFI Companion to German Cinema - REF KNIGHT PN 1993.5 .G3 B45 1999

Classics

  • Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World - REF KNIGHT DE 5 .N4813 2002- also in German
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome - AAA REF DE 5 .O95
  • Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Archaeology - AAA REF N 5610 .G76 2007

Counseling Psychology and Human Services

  • International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family - REF KNIGHT HQ 9 .E52 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood - REF KNIGHT HQ 767.84 .E53 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Social Work - REF KNIGHT HV 35 .S6
  • Encyclopedia of Disability -also in print at REF KNIGHT HV 1568 .E528
  • Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior - REF KNIGHT HV 5804 .E53 2001

Dance

East Asian Studies

Economics

Education

Environmental Studies/ Ecology

Ethnic Studies

Folklore

  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife - REF KNIGHT GR 35 .G75 2006
  • Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia - REF KNIGHT GR 35 .M43 2000
  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales - REF KNIGHT GR 74 .G73 2008
  • American Folklore: An Encyclopedia - REF KNIGHT GR 101 .A54 1996
  • South Asian Folklore: An Encyclopedia - REF KNIGHT GR 302 .S68 2003
  • African Folklore: An Encyclopedia - REF KNIGHT GR 350 .A33 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Women's Folklore and Folklife - REF KNIGHT GR 470 .E63 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions - REF KNIGHT GR 98 .E56 2013

Gay and Lesbian Studies

  • glbtq
  • LGBT: encyclopedia of LGBT in American History - REF KNIGHT HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2004

Geography

Geological Sciences

Germanic Languages and Literature

  • Brockhaus Enzyklopadie - KNIGHT AE 27 .G672 1986
  • Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia - REF KNIGHT DD 14 .M64 1998
  • Encyclopedia of German Literature - REF KNIGHT PT 41 .E53 2000

History

  • Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing - REF KNIGHT D 13 .G47 1998
  • Encyclopedia of Historians & Historical Writing - REF KNIGHT D 14 .E53 1999

History - Specific Periods and Places [see also Medieval Studies]

History - United States

International Studies

Journalism, Mass Media, and Communication

Judaic Studies

  • Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period - REF KNIGHT BM 50 .D525 1996
  • Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture - REF KNIGHT BM 50 .C26 2011
  • Encyclopedia of Midrash - REF KNIGHT BM 514 .E53 2005
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia - REF KNIGHT D 805 .A2 U55 2009
  • Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd ed. - REF KNIGHT DS 102.8 .E496 2007
  • Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora - REF KNIGHT DS 115. E47 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World - REF KNIGHT DS 135 .L4 E53 2010
  • Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions - REF KNIGHT GR 98 .E56 2013
  • Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics - REF KNIGHT PJ 4519 .E43 2013

Latin American Studies

  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures - REF KNIGHT F 1218.6 .O95 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture - REF KNIGHT F 1406 .E53 2008
  • Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations - REF KNIGHT F 1418 .E59 2012
  • Europa World Plus

Law

  • New Oxford Companion to Law
  • Wex
  • Legal systems of the world - REF KNIGHT K 48 .L44 2002
  • Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History - LAW REF K 50 .O96 2009
  • West's Encyclopedia of American Law - LAW REF KF 154 .W47 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Education Law - REF KNIGHT KF 4117 .E53 2008
  • Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States - REF KNIGHT KF 8742 .A35 E525 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Law and Society

Linguistics

  • Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics - REF KNIGHT P 29 .E48 1994
  • International Encyclopedia of Linguistics - also in print at REF KNIGHT P 29 .I58 2003
  • Encyclopedia Dictionary of Semiotics - REF KNIGHT P 99 .E65 2010
  • Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics - REF KNIGHT P 129 .E527 2013

Literature

Mathematics

  • CRC Encyclopedia of Mathematics - SCI REF QA 5 .W45 2009

Medicine

Medieval Studies

  • Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
  • Dictionary of the Middle Ages - REF KNIGHT D 114 .D5 1982
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages - REF KNIGHT D 114 .O94 2010
  • Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
  • Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia - REF KNIGHT GR 35 .M43 20006
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare - REF KNIGHT U 37 .O94 2010

Music

Philosophy

Physics

  • Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology - SCI REF Q 123 .E497 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
  • Encyclopedia of Biophysics
  • Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics - SCI REF QB 14 .E534 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Applied Physics - SCI REF QC 5 .E543 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology - SCI TA 402 .E53 2001

Planning, Public Policy and Administration

Political Science

Political Science - United States

Psychology

Religious Studies [see also Judaic Studies]

Religious Studies - Christianity

Religious Studies - Islam

Religious Studies - East Asian

  • Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism - REF KNIGHT BL 1105 .B75 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Confucianism - REF KNIGHT BL 1840 .R68 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Sikhism - REF KNIGHT BL 2017.3 .E54 1995
  • Encyclopedia of Buddhism - REF KNIGHT BQ 128 .E62 2004

Russian and East European Studies

Social Sciences

Sociology

Sociology -- Specific Topics

Theater Arts
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance - also in print at REF KNIGHT PN 2035 .O94

Women and Gender Studies

Created by tvs on Oct 13, 2014 Last updated Oct 24, 2014