Looking for Encyclopedias

Looking for Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide a great way to begin an inquiry. They provide an overview of the most important facets of a topic, as well as a concise list of recommended readings.

The University of Oregon Libraries have scores of encyclopedias. This guide lists the more important ones, by broad subject area.

General Encyclopedias
African Studies
Anthropology and Archaeology
Architecture
Art
Asian Studies
Biology
Business

Chemistry
Cinema Studies
Classics
Counseling Psychology
Dance
East Asian Studies
Economics
Education
 

Environmental Studies
Ethnic Studies
Folklore
Gay and Lesbian Studies
Geography
Geological Sciences
Germanic Languages
History
International Studies

Journalism & Mass Media
Judaic Studies
Latin American Studies
Law
Linguistics
Literature
 

Mathematics
Medicine
Medieval Studies
Music
Philosophy
Physics
Planning & Public Policy
Political Science
Psychology

Religious Studies
Russia & Eastern Europe
Social Sciences
Sociology
Theater Arts
Women & Gender Studies
 

Locations used in this guide are:

AAA REF Architecture & Allied Arts Library, 200 Lawrence Hall
DOCS REF Document Center, 1st floor Knight Library
REF KNIGHT Reference Department, 1st floor Knight Library
LAW REF John E. Jaqua Law Library, 2nd floor Knight Law Center
MUSIC REF Music Services, 3rd floor Knight Library
SCI REF Science Library, lower level Onyx Bridge
PDX REF Portland Library, White Stag Building
MATH REF Mathematics Library, 218 Fenton Hall

 

You might also want to consult a research guide for your subject area for more resources that may help you in your search.

 

General Encyclopedias

Wikipedia online
World Book Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT AE 5 .W55
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences REF KNIGHT H 41 .I58 2001
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology SCI Q 121 .M3 2007

 

Selected Subject Encyclopedias

Subject encyclopedias and dictionaries have been compiled for a number of broad disciplines. Their articles, written by specialists, offer more in-depth information on scholarly topics than those found in general encyclopedias and frequently provide a list of further references on a topic.

 

African Studies

New Encyclopedia of Africa REF KNIGHT DT 2 .N48 2008
Encyclopedia of Africa REF KNIGHT DT 3 .E53 2010
Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African ... Experience REF KNIGHT DT 14 .A37435 2005
Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought REF KNIGHT DT 14 .I74 2010
Encyclopedia of African History REF KNIGHT DT 20 .E53 2005
Europa World Plus online

 

Anthropology and Archaeology

Encyclopedia of Archaeology REF KNIGHT CC 100 .E54 2008
Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East REF KNIGHT DS 56 .O9 1997
Encyclopedia of Anthropology online
21st Century Anthropology REF KNIGHT GN 25 .A144 2010
Encyclopedia of World Cultures online; and in print at REF KNIGHT GN 307 .E53
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion online; and in print at REF KNIGHT GT 507 .E53
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture REF KNIGHT GT 2850 .E53 2003

 

Architecture

Grove Dictionary of Art online; also in print at AAA REF N 31 .D5
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture AAA REF N 6260 .G75 2009
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture AAA REF and UO PDX REF NA 680 .E495 2004

 

Art

Grove Dictionary of Art online; also in print at AAA REF N 31 .D5
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Archaeology AAA REF N 5610 .G76 2007
Encyclopedia of Sculpture AAA NB 198 .E33 2004
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography AAA REF TR 642 .E5 2006

 

Asian Studies

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia online; and in print at REF KNIGHT DS 4 .L48
Encyclopedia of Asian History REF KNIGHT, AAA REF DS 31 .E53 1998
Europa World Plus online
Encyclopedia of India online

 

Biology

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences SCI REF QH 302.5 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Bioethics online
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry online; and in print at SCI REF QD 415 .A25 E53
Encyclopedia of Evolution online; and in print at SCI REF QH 360.2 .083
Encyclopedia of Genetics SCI REF QH 427 .E53 2002
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia SCI REF QL 7 .G7813 2003
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition SCI REF QP 141 .E526 2005
Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology SCI REF QR 100 .B58 2002

 

Business

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance DOCS REF HF 5381 .E52 2005
International Directory of Company Histories online
Encyclopedia of World Trade DOCS REF HF 1373 .W67 2005
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society DOCS REF HF 5387 .E53 2008
Encyclopedia of Career Development online
Wiley International Encyclopedia of Marketing DOC-LC HF 5415 .W54 2011
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing online
Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising DOCS REF HF 5803 .A38 2003

 

Chemistry

Chemistry: Foundations and Applications online; and in print at SCI REF QD 4 .C48
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry online; and in print at SCI REF QD 415 .A25 E53
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology SCI REF TA 402 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology SCI REF TP 1110 .E53 2003

 

Cinema Studies

The Film Encyclopedia: The Complete Guide to Film and the Film Industry REF KNIGHT PN 1993.45 .K34 2008 
The Encyclopedia of American Independent Filmmaking REF KNIGHT PN 1993.45 .L63 2002
Icons of Horror and the Supernatural: An Encyclopedia of our Worst Nightmares REF KNIGHT PN 56 .H6 I26 2007
Images in the Dark: An Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Film and Video REF KNIGHT PN 1995.9 .H55 M87 1994
Blacks in American Film and Television: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT PN 1995.9 .N4 B58 1988
Hispanics in Hollywood: An Encyclopedia of Film and Television REF KNIGHT PN 1995.9 H47 R49 1994
The Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood REF KNIGHT PN 1995.9 M56 M83 2003
Encyclopaedia of Hindi Film REF KNIGHT PN1993.5. I8 E53 2003
Encyclopedia of Chinese Film REF KNIGHT PN 1993.5 .C4 Z53 1998
The Companion to Italian Film REF KNIGHT PN 1993.5 I88 N685 1996
The Companion to British and Irish Film REF KNIGHT PN 1993.5 G7 C37 1996
Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film REF KNIGHT PN 1993.5 A65 C66 2001
The BFI Companion to German Cinema REF KNIGHT PN 1993.5 .G3 B45 1999

 

Classics

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World REF KNIGHT DE 5 .N4813 2002- ; also in German
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome AAA REF DE 5 .O95
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Archaeology AAA REF N 5610 .G76 2007

 

Counseling Psychology and Human Services

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family REF KNIGHT HQ 9 .E52 2003
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood REF KNIGHT HQ 767.84 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Social Work REF KNIGHT HV 35 .S6
Encyclopedia of Disability online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HV 1568 .E528
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior REF KNIGHT HV 5804 .E53 2001

 

Dance

International Encyclopedia of Dance online; and in print at REF KNIGHT GV 1585 .I586

 

East Asian Studies

JapanKnowledge online

 

Economics

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics online; and in print at DOCS REF HB 61 .N49 2008
Encyclopedia of Political Economy DOCS REF HB 61 .E554 2001
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HC 15 .O94
Encyclopedia of the Developing World DOCS REF HC 59.7 .E52 2006
Encyclopedia of World Poverty online

 

Education

Encyclopedia of Education online; also in print at REF KNIGHT LB 15 .E47 2003
International Encyclopedia of Education online
World Education Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT LB 15 .W87 2001
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education REF KNIGHT LB 17 .E53 2009
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration online; and in print at REF KNIGHT LB 2805 .E527
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education online
Encyclopedia of Special Education REF KNIGHT LC 4007 .E53 2000

 

Environmental Studies

Water: science and issues online; and in print at SCI REF GB 655 .D37
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences online
Environmental Encyclopedia online; and in print at SCI REF GE 10 .E58
Encyclopedia of Earth online
Encyclopedia of Global Change online; and in print at SCI REF GE 149 .E47
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change online
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History REF KNIGHT GF 10 .E63 2004
Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology SCI REF QR 100 .B58 2002
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment SCI REF S 592 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences SCI REF SD 126 .E53 2004
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy SCI REF TJ 163.28 M33 2001

 

Ethnic Studies

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes online
Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States REF KNIGHT E 184 .A1 E773 2005
Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the U.S. online; and in print at REF KNIGHT E 184 .S75 O97
Oxford African American Studies Center online
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History online
Encyclopedia of African American Society online
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society online
Encyclopedia of American Immigration REF KNIGHT JV 6465 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West online
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature REF KNIGHT PS 153 .H6 G74 2008
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature REF KNIGHT PS 153 .M56 G74 2005
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African-American Literature REF KNIGHT PS 153 .N5 G73 2005

 

Folklore

Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife REF KNIGHT GR 35 .G75 2006
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GR 35 .M43 2000
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales REF KNIGHT GR 74 .G73 2008
American Folklore: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GR 101 .A54 1996
South Asian Folklore: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GR 302 .S68 2003
African Folklore: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GR 350 .A33 2004
Encyclopedia of Women's Folklore and Folklife REF KNIGHT GR 470 .E63 2009

 

Gay and Lesbian Studies

glbtq online
LGBT: encyclopedia of LGBT in American History REF KNIGHT HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2004

 

Geography

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations online
Encyclopedia of Geography online
Encyclopedia of Earth online
Encyclopedia of Exploration REF KNIGHT G 80 .H68 2003
Literature of Travel and Exploration REF KNIGHT G 465 .L565 2003
Water: science and issues online; and in print at SCI REF GB 655 .D37
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography online
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change online
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences online
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures REF KNIGHT HT 108.5 .E53 2003

 

Geological Sciences

Encyclopedia of Geology SCI REF QE 5 .E516 2005
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences online

 

Germanic Languages and Literature

Brockhaus Enzyklopadie KNIGHT AE 27 .G672 1986
Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT DD 14 .M64 1998
Encyclopedia of German Literature REF KNIGHT PT 41 .E53 2000

 

History

Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing REF KNIGHT D 13 .G47 1998
Encyclopedia of Historians & Historical Writing REF KNIGHT D 14 .E53 1999

 

History - Specific Periods and Places [see also Medieval Studies]

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment online; also in print at REF KNIGHT B 802 .E53
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation online; also in print at REF KNIGHT BR 302.8 .O93
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages online
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance REF KNIGHT CB 361 .E52 1999
Ancient Europe ...: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World REF KNIGHT D 62 .A52 2004
Europe 1450 to 1789 online
Encyclopedia of World War I online
Encyclopedia of World War II online
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome AAA REF DE 5 .O95
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium online;and in print at REF KNIGHT DF 521 .O93 and also AAA REF
Encyclopedia of Russian History online; and in print at REF KNIGHT DK 14 .E53
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa online; and in print at REF KNIGHT DS 43 .E53
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East REF KNIGHT DS 57 .C55 1995
Encyclopedia of African History REF KNIGHT DT 20 .E53 2005
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt online; and in print at REF KNIGHT DT 58 .O94
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism online
Encyclopedia of European Social History ... online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HN 373 .E63

 

History - United States

Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies REF KNIGHT E 45 .E53 1993
Encyclopedia of American Indian History REF KNIGHT E 77 .E48 2008
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History REF KNIGHT E 169.1 .E624 2001
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century REF KNIGHT E 169.1 .E626 2001
Dictionary of American History online; and in print at REF KNIGHT E 174 .D52
Oxford African American Studies Center online
Encyclopedia of North American Indian Wars, 1607-1890 REF KNIGHT E 183 .H58 2012
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War REF KNIGHT E 468 .H47 2000
Encyclopedia of War and American Society online
Sixties in America online
New Encyclopedia of the American West REF KNIGHT F 591 .N46 1998
Encyclopedia of American Social History* REF KNIGHT HN 57 ..E58 1993
Encyclopedia of American Immigration REF KNIGHT JV 6465 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West online

 

International Studies

International Studies Encyclopedia online
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy online; and in print at REF KNIGHT E 183.7 .E52
Europa World Plus online
Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations REF KNIGHT JZ 1160 .N65 2002
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements DOCS REF KZ 4968 .O84 2003

 

Journalism, Mass Media, and Communication

Encyclopedia of Public Relations online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HD 59 .E48
International Encyclopedia of Communication online
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information online; also in print at REF KNIGHT P 87.5 .E53
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory REF KNIGHT P 87.5 .E496 2009
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications REF KNIGHT P 87.5 .E532 2003
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media online
Encyclopedia of Television online
Encyclopedia of Television Shows REF KNIGHT PN 1992.3 .U5 T463 2011
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media online
Encyclopedia of Journalism online

 

Judaic Studies

Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period REF KNIGHT BM 50 .D525 1996
Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture REF KNIGHT BM 50 .C26 2011
Encyclopedia of Midrash REF KNIGHT BM 514 .E53 2005
Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT D 805 .A2 U55 2009
Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd ed. REF KNIGHT DS 102.8 .E496 2007
Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora REF KNIGHT DS 115. E47 2009
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World REF KNIGHT DS 135 .L4 E53 2010
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics REF KNIGHT PJ 4519 .E43 2013

 

Latin American Studies

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures REF KNIGHT F 1218.6 .O95 2001
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture REF KNIGHT F 1406 .E53 2008
Europa World Plus online

 

Law

New Oxford Companion to Law online
Wex online
Legal systems of the world REF KNIGHT K 48 .L44 2002
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History LAW REF K 50 .O96 2009
West's Encyclopedia of American Law LAW REF KF 154 .W47 2005
Encyclopedia of Education Law REF KNIGHT KF 4117 .E53 2008
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States REF KNIGHT KF 8742 .A35 E525 2008
Encyclopedia of Law and Society online

 

Linguistics

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics REF KNIGHT P 29 .E48 1994
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics online; and in print at REF KNIGHT P 29 .I58 2003
Encyclopedia Dictionary of Semiotics REF KNIGHT P 99 .E65 2010
Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics REF KNIGHT P 129 .E527 2013

 

Literature

Literature Resource Center online
Literature of Travel and Exploration REF KNIGHT G 465 .L565 2003
John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism online; and REF KNIGHT PN 81 .J554 2005
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature online
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature online
Encyclopedia of Post-colonial Literatures in English REF KNIGHT PR 9080 .A52 E53 2005
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature online
American Women Writers online
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature REF KNIGHT PS 153 .H6 G74 2008
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature REF KNIGHT PS 153 .M56 G74 2005
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African-American Literature REF KNIGHT PS 153 .N5 G73 2005
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States REF Knight PS 153 .S39 E53 2009
The Cambridge History of English and American Literature online
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric online

 

Mathematics

CRC Encyclopedia of Mathematics SCI REF QA 5 .W45 2009

 

Medicine

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine online; and in print at SCI REF RC 41 .G35
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior online

 

Medieval Studies

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages online
Dictionary of the Middle Ages REF KNIGHT D 114 .D5 1982
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages REF KNIGHT D 114 .O94 2010
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium online
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT GR 35 .M43 20006
Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare REF KNIGHT U 37 .O94 2010

 

Music

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians online; also in print at MUSIC REF ML 100 .N48

 

Philosophy

Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2nd ed.; Macmillan] online
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy REF KNIGHT B 51 .R68 1998
American Philosophy: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT B 850.A43 2008
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics online; and in print at REF KNIGHT BH 56 .E53
Encyclopedia of Ethics REF KNIGHT BJ 63 .E45 2001
Encyclopedia of Bioethics online
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas online

 

Physics

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology SCI REF Q 123 .E497 2002
Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics online
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics SCI REF QB 14 .E534 2001
Encyclopedia of Applied Physics SCI REF QC 5 .E543 2004
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology SCI TA 402 .E53 2001

 

Planning, Public Policy and Administration

Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy REF KNIGHT JK 9 .E526 2008
Encyclopedia of Governance online

 

Political Science

Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left & the Right online; and in print at REF KNIGHT JA 61 .E54
Encyclopedia of Governance online
Encyclopedia of Political Science REF KNIGHT JA 61 .E513 2011
Encyclopedia of Political Theory online
21st Century Political Science online
Encyclopedia of Human Rights LAW LIB JC 571 .E673 2009
Colonialism: An International ... Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT JV 22 .C65 2003
Encyclopedia of Globalization online
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements DOCS REF KZ 4968 .O84 2003
Encyclopedia of War REF KNIGHT U 27 .E48 2012

 

Political Science - United States

Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History REF KNIGHT E 183 .P85 2010
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy online; also in print at REF KNIGHT E 183.7 .E52
Governing America: Major Decisions of Federal, State, and Local Governments DOCS REF JK 468 .P64 Q55 2011
Major Acts of Congress online
Encyclopedia of U. S. National Security online

 

Psychology

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology online
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology online
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement online
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment online; and in print at BF 176.E53
MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences online
Encyclopedia of Human Development online
Handbook of Child Psychology online
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology online
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology online
International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies online
Encyclopedia of Trauma online
Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy online

 

Religious Studies [see also Judaic Studies]

Encyclopedia of Religion online
Brill Dictionary of Religion REF KNIGHT BL 31 .M4813 2007
Encyclopedia of Religion in America REF KNIGHT BL 2520 .E52 2010
Encyclopedia of American Religions REF KNIGHT BL 2525 .M449 2009
Encyclopedia of Global Religion online

 

Religious Studies - Christianity

Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls REF KNIGHT BM 487 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Christianity REF KNIGHT BR 95 .E8913
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation online; also in print at REF KNIGHT BR 302.8 .O93
Anchor Bible Dictionary REF KNIGHT BS 440 .A54 1992
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception online
New Catholic Encyclopedia [2nd edition] online; first edition in print at REF KNIGHT BX 841 .N44
Encyclopedia of Protestantism REF KNIGHT BX 4811.3 .E53 2004

 

Religious Studies - Islam

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World online; and in print at REF KNIGHT BP 40 .E525
Encyclopaedia of the Quran REF KNIGHT BP 133 .E53 2001-
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World REF KNIGHT DS 35.53 .O96 2009
Encyclopaedia of Islam Three online
Encyclopaedia of Islam, 1960-2005 edition online; and in print at REF KNIGHT DS 37 .E523
Encyclopaedia Iranica online
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures REF KNIGHT HQ 1170 .E53 2003-
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture AAA REF N 6260 .G75 2009

 

Religious Studies - East Asian

Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism REF KNIGHT BL 1105 .B75 2009
Encyclopedia of Confucianism REF KNIGHT BL 1840 .R68 2003
Encyclopedia of Sikhism REF KNIGHT BL 2017.3 .E54 1995
Encyclopedia of Buddhism REF KNIGHT BQ 128 .E62 2004

 

Russian and East European Studies

Encyclopedia of Russian History online; and in print at REF KNIGHT DK 14 .E53
Europa World Plus online

 

Social Sciences

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences REF KNIGHT H 41 .I58 2001; browse list of subjects
Global Social Issues online
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics online
Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods online; and in print at REF KNIGHT H 62.L456
Encyclopedia of Social Theory online

 

Sociology

Oxford Dictionary of Sociology online
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement online
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology REF KNIGHT HM 425 .B53 2007

 

Sociology -- Specific Topics

Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States REF KNIGHT E 184 .A1 E773 2005
Encyclopedia of Population REF KNIGHT HB 871 .E538 2003
Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor REF KNIGHT HD 8066 .H57 2004
International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology REF KNIGHT HM 35 .I565 2006
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements REF KNIGHT HN 57 .E594 2004
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family REF KNIGHT HQ 9 .E52 2003
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender REF KNIGHT HQ 16 .e53 2004
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood REF KNIGHT HQ 767.84 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies online
Encyclopedia of American Urban History online
Encyclopedia of Disability online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HV 1568 .E528
Encyclopedia of Homelessness online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HV 4493 .E53
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HV 6017.E524
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity online
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America online; and in print at REF KNIGHT TX 349 .E45

 

Theater Arts

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance online; and in print at REF KNIGHT PN 2035 .O94

 

Women and Gender Studies

Encyclopedia of Women's Folklore and Folklife REF KNIGHT GR 470 .E63 2009
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America REF KNIGHT BL 458 .E52 2006
Men and Masculinities: An Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT HQ 1090.3 .M436 2004
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender REF KNIGHT HQ 1115 .E52 2001
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Love, Courtship, and Sexuality through History online
Women's Studies Encyclopedia online
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HQ 1115 .W6
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World online
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History online
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures REF KNIGHT HQ 1170 .E53

 

More Encyclopedias

You can also find encyclopedias and subject dictionaries by doing a Subject Headings search in the UO Libraries Catalog. Enter the broad subject area you are interested in, followed by the subheading encyclopedias or dictionaries.

Examples:
Sociology encyclopedias
Finance dictionaries

Maintained by Paul Frantz

Last modified September 2013