Economics Research Guide

 

ECONOMICS RESEARCH GUIDE

Contact Kaiping Zhang, Business/Economics Librarian, at kzhang@uoregon.edu or (541) 346-1960.


Starting Your Research

The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Business. These resources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.

DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Economics

online

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics

online
Concise Encyclopedia of Economics DOCS REF HB 61 .C647 2008

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics online; and in print at DOCS REF HB 61 .N49 2008
Encyclopedia of Political Economy DOCS REF HB 61 .E554 2001
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History online; and in print at REF KNIGHT HC 15 .O94
Encyclopedia of the Developing World DOCS REF HC 59.7 .E52 2006
Encyclopedia of World Poverty online

Finding Books

Finds books, videos, music, journal articles, journal titles, and other information sources available through the University of Oregon Libraries. UO WorldCat results are presented in ordered based on how quickly a UO researcher can obtain the item: items held by the UO Libraries appear on top, items held by Summit libraries appear next, then items that are held only by libraries outside the Orbis Cascade Alliance (Summit libraries) appearing last.

Searches for materials that are owned by the UO Libraries.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals. This database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: business, social sciences, humanities, science, education, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Business Source Complete provides ull-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Other resources include financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.

EconLit is a comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature produced by the American Economic Association.

JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from one to five years, between the most recently published journal issue and the available back issues.

MarketResearch.com Academic provides thousands of full-text market research reports published by Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information. Topics cover consumer goods, food and beverage, healthcare, publishing, manufacturing, and other markets and industries.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text of more than 335 regional American newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online is a dynamic online reference tool tailored for researchers in economics and other related disciplines. It offers 1,919 articles with cross-referenced links between content and is updated at least four times a year. Contributors of the content include Nobel Prize winners and experts in their field of economic study.

Regional Business News provides full text to nearly 100 regional U.S.

Finding Country Information

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Also has some journal abstracts, books, links to related web sites, maps, and country data.

EIU provides data and forecasts about political, economic, and business climates of various regions and up to 200 countries, as well as related news, analysis, and risk factor assessments. The library has access to Country Commerce, Country Finance, Global Forecasting Service, and ViewsWire.

IMF eLibrary is a statistical database from the International Monetary Fund.

The library subscribes to International Financial Statistics which contains country financial data (exchange rates, foreign exchange, SDRs, money supply, capital supply, commodities, etc.) dating back to 1948.

OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s (OECD) online library of statistical databases, books, and periodicals. Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, migration, social issues, and sustainable development.

Finding U.S. Economics Data

Provides data and statistics on banking, earnings, economic analysis, trade, and more.

Includes data on General Business Statistics, Consumer Statistics, Demographics, Economic Indicators, Employment Statistics, Income Statistics, Money & Interest Rates, Production & Sales Statistics, Trade Statistics, and Statistics for Specific Industries.

  • Federal Reserve System

    Economic Research & Data -- Data releases include Bank Assets and Liabilities, Bank Structure Data, Business Finance, Dealer Financing Terms, Exchange Rates and International Data, Flow of Funds Accounts, Household Finance, Industrial Activity, Interest Rates, Money Stock, and Reserve Balances and Other.

    The Survey of Consumer Finances (SCF) -- The survey data include information on families’ balance sheets, pensions, income, and demographic characteristics.

    Links to statistics and information from more than 100 agencies in the U.S. Federal Government.

    Includes web site links to U.S. Macro and Regional Data; Other U.S. Data; World and Non-U.S. Data; Finance and Financial Markets; Journal Data and Program Archive, Dictionaries; Glossaries, & Encyclopedia; and many more.

    Includes links to Principal U.S. Federal Statistical Agencies:

    Bureau of Justice Statistics

    Bureau of Labor Statistics

    Bureau of Transportation Statistics

    Census Bureau

    Economic Research Service

    Energy Information Administration

    National Agricultural Statistics Service

    Bureau of Economic Analysis

    National Center for Education Statistics

    National Center for Health Statistics

    Statistics of Income (IRS)

    Finding Oregon Economics Data

    From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.  Data Series include: Labor Force Data, Nonfarm Wage, Salary Employment, and Mass Layoffs.

    Forecast Information on Economic, Revenue, Corrections Population, and Youth Authority.

    From the Oregon Economic Forum.

    Finding International Economics Data

    Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Also has some journal abstracts, books, links to related web sites, maps, and country data.

    EIU provides data and forecasts about political, economic, and business climates of various regions and up to 200 countries, as well as related news, analysis, and risk factor assessments. The library has access to Country Commerce, Country Finance, Global Forecasting Service, and ViewsWire.

    IMF eLibrary is a statistical database from the International Monetary Fund.

    The library subscribes to International Financial Statistics which contains country financial data (exchange rates, foreign exchange, SDRs, money supply, capital supply, commodities, etc.) dating back to 1948.

    OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s (OECD) online library of statistical databases, books, and periodicals. Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, migration, social issues, and sustainable development.

    World Development Indicators includes economic and socio-economic data from more than 230 countries, incorporating data from the World Bank publications: World Tables, Social Indicators of Development, World Population Projections, the World Development Report, and the World Bank Atlas.

    World DataBank is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries and 18 regional & income groups.
     

    Finding statistics

    Data-Planet provides US and global statistics covering economics, finance, industrial sectors, agriculture, natural resources, transportation, education, demographics, and more from US government agencies, foreign stock exchanges, the World Bank, the OECD, and other sources are presented in an easy-to-use, graphical interface. Requires Java.

    This database updates Historical Statistics of the United States, last published by the Bureau of the Census in 1975, which reproduces over 37,000 statistical series from over 1,000 sources. All tables include citations to data sources and descriptions of data anomalies. Comprehensive signed essays on each topic put the statistics in historical context.

    The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people.

    SELECTED WEB RESOURCES

    Provides links to country statistical yearbooks or similar collections (census, "facts and figures," etc.) for 143 countries worldwide.

    Provides download access to over 8,000 indicators from World Bank data sets.

    From the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.

     A searchable statistical database provided by the United Nations Statistics Division.

    Broad range of macroeconomic and social indicators.  Particularly useful are:

    Social Indicators

    Demographic Yearbook

    UN Human Development Reports

    UN Regional Commissions

    Finding Journals and Working Papers

    Economics is a pathbreaking journal that adopts an open source approach to publication, viewing research as a cooperative enterprise between authors, editors, referees, and readers.

    IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet.

    Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.  Searchable for NBER Working Papers & Publications, Data, and Activities (Programs).

    The SSRN is a searchable archive of downloadable research papers in economics and other fields.

    Scholars' Bank is the open access repository for the intellectual work of faculty, students and staff at the University of Oregon. Open access journals, student projects, theses, dissertations, pre and post-print articles, instructional resources and university archival material are all candidates for deposit.

     

    Please also consult resources listed on Business / Economics Data page.

     

    Return to top

     

    Kaiping Zhang (kzhang@uoregon.edu)
    Business/Economics Librarian