Looking for Dissertations
Looking for Dissertations
Dissertations are unique publications and generally only available from the institution where they were written. Some academic libraries will lend their dissertations. If an institution will not lend their dissertations, a copy can usually be purchased. Read more about these options in the "Obtaining Dissertations" section below.
Finding Dissertations
The following databases are useful for locating and obtaining dissertations and theses:
- UO Libraries Catalog
- Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest)
- WorldCat (OCLC Firstsearch)
- ProQuest Digital Dissertations
- CRL Catalog (Center for Research Libraries: dissertation database includes more than 750,000 uncataloged foreign doctoral dissertations)
- Theses Canada Portal (National Library of Canada)
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
- EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service: from the British Library provides full-text access to over 250,000 UK theses and dissertations)
- DART-Europe E-theses Portal (provides full-text access to over 125,000 research theses from 210 institutions representing 16 European countries)
Dissertations and theses by University of Oregon students:
Dissertations written by University of Oregon students are housed in the UO Libraries' collection and are generally available to borrow. Copies may also be made from the microfilm housed in University Archives. The UO Libraries Catalog allows you to limit your search (by title, author, keyword or subject heading) to just dissertations and theses. You can also search for all dissertations written for a particular department; search by title using the pattern shown in these examples:
- University Of Oregon Theses Asian Studies Program
- University Of Oregon Theses College Of Education
- University Of Oregon Theses Dept Of Physics
Dissertations from U.S. and Canadian institutions:
Dissertation Abstracts provides citations to dissertations in all academic subjects from 1861 to the present. Abstracts are provided for doctoral dissertations beginning in July 1980, while selected masters thesis abstracts are available from 1988. The index includes dissertations and selected masters theses from U.S., Canadian, British, and other European institutions and is updated monthly.
For abstracts to dissertations published before 1980, consult the print version of Dissertation Abstracts (REF KNIGHT Z 5055 .U5 A53). Beginning in 1969, it is divided into the series: A, Humanities and Social Sciences; B, Sciences and Engineering; and C, European Abstracts (also C, Worldwide). These print sources provide abstracts back to 1938.
Electronic Dissertations
By University of Oregon students:
If a dissertation written by a University of Oregon student is available in electronic format, there will be a link-- Connect to Title Online (ProQuest)-- to the online version from the record within the UO Libraries Catalog. University of Oregon students, staff, and faculty can download copies of these dissertations for free; follow the links to the pdf versions of previews or full documents. A growing number of UO theses and dissertations are also available electronically through the UO Institutional Repository, Scholars' Bank.
By everyone else:
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations database offers free searching of the most current two years of the Dissertation Abstracts database – over 225,000 citations and abstracts. This database also offers free 24-page previews (abstract, author's curriculum vita, table of contents, list of illustrations, tables, graphs, and figures, and first several pages of the dissertation), as well as the full text of over 100,000 dissertations in PDF format. Dissertations written by UO students may be downloaded for free by members of the UO community; all others are available for purchase (make sure you have a credit card handy).
Obtaining Dissertations
Borrowing (use one of the methods below, allow 10-30 days):
- Worldcat. Use the search form to locate the dissertation by author and/or title, then click on the title link, then follow the steps to complete an "ILL" transaction.
- Dissertation Abstracts. Search for the dissertation and submit your request using the "ILL" button in the gray area near the top of the screen. Your request will be processed on the following day, Monday-Friday.
- Or, submit your request via your ILLiad account.
You will be notified by the Interlibrary Loan Department if the owning library will not loan the dissertation. You may be able to purchase a copy of the dissertation for your use by following the procedure below:
Purchasing:
If we are unable to borrow the item from the owning library you can locate a copy via Dissertation Express can purchase a copy yourself (unbound printed copies are $44 & electronic copies are $37).
Writing a Dissertation or Thesis
The Graduate School provides the following resources for students engaged in writing a dissertation or thesis for the University of Oregon:
Updated 10/29/12 by Barb Butler
