Subject Dictionaries

Subject Dictionaries

Subject dictionaries provide definitions for the terminology of a particular discipline.

The University of Oregon Libraries have scores of subject dictionaries. This guide lists the more important ones, by broad subject area:

General Subject Dictionaries
Anthropology and Archaeology
Architecture
Art
Biology
Business
Chemistry
Classics
Computer Science
Counseling Psychology
Dance
Economics
Education
 
Environmental Studies
Ethnic Studies
Folklore
Geography
Geological Sciences
History
International Studies
Journalism & Mass Media
Judaic Studies
Law
Library Science
Linguistics
Literature
Mathematics
 
Medicine/ Human Physiology
Music
Philosophy
Planning, Public Policy, and Management
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Religious Studies
Romance Language Literatures
Sociology
Statistics
Theater Arts
Women & Gender Studies
 

Locations used in this guide are:

AAA REF Architecture & Allied Arts Library, 200 Lawrence Hall
DOCS REF Document Center, 1st floor Knight Library
REF KNIGHT Reference Department, 1st floor Knight Library
LAW REF John E. Jaqua Law Library, 2nd floor Knight Law Center
MUSIC REF Music Reference, 3rd floor Knight Library
SCI REF Science Library, lower level Onyx Bridge
MATH REF Mathematics Library, 210 Fenton Hall

You might also want to consult a research guide for your subject area for more resources that may help you in your search.

General Subject Dictionaries

Dictionary of the Social Sciences online
Social Science Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT H 41 .S63 1996
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms SCI REF Q 123 .M15 2003

 

Anthropology and Archaeology

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology online
Oxford Companion to Archaeology online
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology REF KNIGHT GN 50.3 .S74 1991
Social and Cultural Anthropology: Key Concepts REF KNIGHT GN 316 .R37 2007

 

Architecture

Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture AAA REF NA 31 .C85
Illustrated Dictionary of Architectural Preservation AAA REF NA 105 .B87 2004

 

Art

Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists online
ArtLex online
Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists AAA REF N 33 .L353 2000
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms AAA REF N33 .L75 2004

 

Biology

Dictionary of Biology online
Dictionary of Zoology online
Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology online
Dictionary of Plant Sciences online

 

Business

Dictionary of Business and Management online
Dictionary of Human Resource Management DOCS REF HF 5549 .A23 D53
Dictionary of Marketing online
Dictionary of Accounting online

 

Chemistry

Dictionary of Chemistry online
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry SCI REF QD 4 .V36 2005
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary online
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology online

 

Classics

Oxford Companion to Classical Literature online
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World online

 

Computer Science

Dictionary of Computing online
NetLingo: The Internet Dictionary online
Dictionary of the Internet online

 

Counseling Psychology and Human Services

Dictionary of Counseling REF KNIGHT BF 637 .C6 B444 1994
Social Work Dictionary REF KNIGHT HV 12 .B37 2003

 

Dance

Dictionary of Dance online
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Ballet MUSIC REF GV 1585 .K6313 1982

 

Economics

Dictionary of Economics online
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics online
Concise Encyclopedia of Economics DOCS REF HB 61 .C647 2008

 

Education

Dictionary of Education online
Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation REF KNIGHT LC 3957 .V47 1997

 

Environmental Studies

Dictionary of Environment and Conservation online
Dictionary of Ecology online
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology SCI REF GE 10 .P67 2000
Oxford Companion to Global Change online

 

Ethnic Studies

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society online

 

Folklore

Larousse Dictionary of World Folklore REF KNIGHT GR 35 .J664 1995
Dictionary of Superstitions online
Dictionary of Symbols REF KNIGHT GR 931 .C4413 1994
Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology, and Legend REF KNIGHT GR 35 .F82

 

Geography

Dictionary of Geography online
GIS Dictionary online
Columbia Gazetteer of the World REF KNIGHT G 103.5 .C645 2008
Oxford Companion to World Exploration online
Dictionary of Physical Geography DOCS REF GB 10 .D53 2000
Dictionary of Human Geography DOCS REF GF 4 .D52 2000
Glossary of the Mapping Sciences DOCS REF TA 505 .G57 1994

 

Geological Sciences

Dictionary of Earth Sciences online
Glossary of Geology SCI LIB QE 5 .G37 2005
Oxford Companion to the Earth online

 

History

Dictionary of World History online
Dictionary of Concepts in History REF KNIGHT D 13 .R49 1986
Oxford Companion to United States History online
Oxford Companion to British History online

 

International Studies [See also Political Science]

Penguin Dictionary of International Relations REF KNIGHT JZ 1161 .E94 1998
International Relations: A Political Dictionary REF KNIGHT JX 1226 .P55 1995

 

Journalism, Mass Media, and Communication

Dictionary of Media and Communication online
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies REF KNIGHT P 87.5 .W38
Encyclopedia of Media and Communication REF KNIGHT P 87.5 .E54 2013
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television theory REF KNIGHT PN 1993.45 .C75 2001

 

Judaic Studies

Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture REF KNIGHT BM 50 .C26 2011
Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion online

 

Law

Dictionary of Law online
Black's Law Dictionary REF KNIGHT KF 156 .B53
Oxford Companion to Law online

 

Library Science

Dictionary for Library and Information Science online

 

Linguistics

Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics online
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics REF KNIGHT P 29 .C65 2003

 

Literature

Dictionary of Writers and their Works online
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms online
A Handbook to Literature REF KNIGHT PN 41 .H355
Penguin Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory REF KNIGHT PN 41 .C83
Oxford Companion to English Literature online
Oxford Companion to American Literature online
Dictionary of Critical Theory online
Dictionary of Literary Symbols REF KNIGHT PN 56 .S9 F47
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition REF KNIGHT PN 172 .E53
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics REF KNIGHT PN 1021 .N39

 

Mathematics

Dictionary of Mathematics online
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics MATH REF QA 5 .W45 2003

 

Medicine/ Human Physiology

Oxford Medical Dictionary online
Dictionary of Biomedicine online
Stedman's Medical Dictionary REF KNIGHT R 121 .S8
Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine online

 

Music

Oxford Dictionary of Music online
Oxford Companion to Music online
Harvard Dictionary of Music MUSIC REF ML 100 .H37

 

Philosophy

Dictionary of Philosophy online
Oxford Companion to Philosophy online
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy REF KNIGHT B 41 .C35
Dictionary of Ethics, Theology and Society REF KNIGHT BJ 63 .D45

 

Physics

Dictionary of Physics online
Oxford Companion to Cosmology online
Dictionary of Astronomy online

 

Planning, Public Policy, and Management

Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration DOCS REF H 97 .S483 2004
International Dictionary of Public Management and Governance DOCS REF JA 61 .B48 2006
Language of Towns and Cities: A Visual Dictionary AAA REF NA 9010.5 .T45 2010
Glossary of Zoning, Development, and Planning Terms DOCS REF NA 9108 .A545 no. 491.492

 

Political Science [See also International Studies]

Dictionary of Politics online
Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of PoliticalThought REF KNIGHT JA 61 .S37

 

Psychology

Dictionary of Psychology online
Oxford Companion to Consciousness online
Oxford Companion to the Mind online
MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Science REF KNIGHT BF 311 .M556
Historical Dictionary of Psychiatry REF KNIGHT RC 438.S56 2005

 

Religious Studies [see also Judaic Studies]

Dictionary of World Religions online
Brill Dictionary of Religion REF KNIGHT BL 31 .M4813 2007
Dictionary of Hinduism online
Oxford Dictionary of Islam online
Dictionary of Buddhism online
Oxford Encyclopedia of Christianity REF KNIGHT BR 95 .E47 2005
Anchor Bible Dictionary REF KNIGHT BS 440 .A54

 

Romance Language Literatures

New Oxford Companion to Literature in French online
Oxford Companion to Italian Literature online
Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature REF KNIGHT PQ 6006 .O95

 

Sociology

Dictionary of Sociology online
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology REF KNIGHT HM 425 .C36 2006
Penguin Dictionary of Sociology REF KNIGHT HM 17 .A23

 

Statistics

Dictionary of Statistics online
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics MATH REF QA 276.14 .E84

 

Theater Arts

Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance online
Dictionary of Shakespeare online
New Penguin Dictionary of the Theatre REF KNIGHT PN 2035 .N49

 

Women and Gender Studies

Concise Glossary of Feminist Theory REF KNIGHT HQ 1115 .A53 1997
Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism ... REF KNIGHT HQ 1115 .R68 2000

 

More Subject Dictionaries

You can also find subject dictionaries by doing a Subject Headings search in the UO Libraries Catalog. Enter the broad subject area you are interested in, followed by the subheading dictionaries.

Example:
Finance dictionaries

 

Last revised by Paul Frantz July 2013

Created by pfrantz on Jun 18, 2012 Last updated Sep 23, 2013