Computer and Information Science Research Guide
Finding Articles I Finding Books I Proceedings and Technical Reports I Web Resources I Organizations
Computer and Information Science
The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Computer and Information Science. For further assistance, contact Annie Zeidman-Karpinski, subject specialist for Computer and Information Science.
Problem set for CIS orientation 2012.
Finding Articles
Ranked in order of relevance
ACM Digital Library
Full text of every article published by ACM.
IEEE Computer Science Digital Library
The first box gives you full text to all of the IEEE Computer Society journals and proceedings. Use the Search > Advanced Search page to focus your searching.
IEEE Xplore
With Xplore, we have full text access to all the IEEE society journals through 1998 but not all of the conferences.
Web of Science
This general science database tells you how many times an article has been cited and who has cited it.
Academic Search Premier
An interdisciplinary article database. This is a great first place to go for both scholarly journal and magazine articles on most topics, especially current events.
Also:
Some international journals can be found with the SCImago Journal and Country Rank index.
Related information about the relative ranking of journals is available at the Eigen factor web site.
Finding Books
Proceedings and Technical Reports
Proceedings are especially tricky to find. ACM proceedings in particular can be troublesome because they have frequent title changes and their publications come out under more than one title (as a book, as proceedings, in a SIG newsletter). Below are some tips for searching for them.
Do a keyword search in the UO Library Catalog -- names for proceedings vary. Some will be entered as series and some as books. You can request articles through interlibrary loan if the UO Libraries don’t have what you’re looking for. First try Summit, then try WorldCat, PapersFirst, or Proceedings.
Try acronyms and spelling words out -- for example CHI and computer human interaction.
Try the organization as author -- SIGGRAPH for example
Check the newsletter for the appropriate SIG -- for example, only SIGCOMM 86 appears in the library catalog, but you can look in SIGCOMM's newsletter, Computer Communciations Review, and find each year's proceedings.
Try the author's Web site -- authors will sometimes make their papers available themselves. Also try: Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library and Computing Research Repository.
Technical Reports can also be tricky to find. Search in the UO Library Catalog by title or author to see if we have a tech report in our collection. Many universities offer their technical reports on the Internet. You can also try:
Unified Computer Science Technical Report Index (UCSTRI)
Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) -- Full text of conference proceedings in computer science, roughly 100 conferences on timely topics published per year
Web Resources
Reference
- Catalog of Free Compilers and Interpreters
- Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
- Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
- FOLDOC: Free Online Dictionary of Computing
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Mathematical Programming Glossary
News
Organizations
- American Association for Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)
- American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
- American Society for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T)
- Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL)
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
- Association for Information Systems (AIS)
- Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE)
- Association for Women in Computing (AWC)
- Coalition for Networked Information (CNI)
- Community of Science
- Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility (CPSR)
- Computing Research Association (CRA)
- EDUCAUSE
- IEEE Communications Society
- IEEE Computer Society
- International Federation of Information Processing (IFIP)
- Internet Society
- Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS)
- Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers (IEICE)
- National Academy of Sciences
- National Institute of Informatics
- National Science Foundation
- USENIX
Questions? Contact Annie Zeidman-Karpinski, subject specialist for computer science.
Phone: (541) 346-2663
Email: annie@uoregon.edu
