University of Oregon
We are drowning in information, while starving for wisdom. The world henceforth will be run by synthesizers, people able to put together the right information at the right time, think critically about it, and make important choices wisely.
- Wilson, E. O. (1998). Consilience: The Unity of Knowledge. Knopf.
This page should help you with your library research. Feel free to contact me with questions.
Chat with Annie!
If you're using a library computer in class, this is what you'll need to install the emulator:
C:\Program Files (x86)\AppInventor\commands-for-Appinventor
- Creative Commons
You can uncheck the commercial purposes box in the upper right next to the search box. Enter your terms and see what you find in each of the tabs. It includes google images and Flickr.
- Oregon Digital
Unique digitized and born digital materials including photographs, journal articles, sheet music, manuscripts, ephemera, and more from UO and Oregon State University. Includes collections like:
- UO Athletics historic photos digitized
University Archives documents, photographs, physical objects, and audiovisual materials tell the story of athletics at the University of Oregon. It is also the story of athletics in higher education: the relationship and the issues involved between athletics and the academy over time.
- For more on images of humans and anatomy see this page.
- Information on the size of icons and other best practices for Droid Applications at the Android Developers pages here.
- Find UO recordings using this guide. If you're using it only for class, you can pretty much use anything you'd like. However, if you're planning on selling your application, then the advice from the Music Librarian, Leslie Bennett is "Have their friends write specific pieces for the phone-it employs musicians, doesn't violate copyright, and provides us with those lovely tunes that stick in your mind, such as those employed by Wii and XBox. (We have a few composers in the School of Music who make their living writing for computer games, phones, etc.)" Otherwise, you'll need to get permission from the publishers and/or the artists to use the recordings.
- Creative Commons link above has a tab for music called jamendo
- Royalty free, public domain music at PD Info.
- Special Resources at the UO Knight Library for Audio: BBC Sound Effects Library
(Call Number: Compact Disc CX1804)
- Mighty Oregon sound files.
- Specific artist's sites.
- Future Music Oregon site, still in progress.
- American Memory ( http://www.loc.gov/rr/perform/)
- Experience Music Project (http://www.emplive.com)
- Soundjay (http://www.soundjay.com/)
- The Freesound project (http://www.freesound.org/)
- Flashkit sound (http://www.flashkit.com/soundfx/)
Start a simple search with Academic Search Premier & Web of Science:
The box above is searching these databases (you can search them individually too):
Web of Science
The Web of Science includes articles from many aspect of the sciences. Highly recommended. Almost everything here is peer reviewed.
Academic Search Premier
Broad general database. As with SportDISCUS, you'll need to check the scholarly articles box to get the peer-reviewed articles.
You should also try:
Google for academics. You can have it include a link to FINDTEXT in the preferences page.
How to read a scientific journal article