EndNote Tips

EndNote tips:

(Most text on this page taken from the Thomson Reuters EndNote X6 Help User Guide )

How to insert page numbers when using EndNote and Word

From the EndNote help pages:

When citing full references in footnotes, you might want to include specific page numbers. EndNote provides a way to do this where the page numbers that you type into a temporary citation can be manipulated by the EndNote style just like a field in your EndNote reference. You can add specific pages to the temporary citation, and have the EndNote style include them wherever they need to be in the formatted citation. The style can also apply special pages formatting, like deciding whether to add "p." or "pp. before the page numbers, and how to list the range of pages.

The easiest way to add cited pages is to use the Edit Citation dialog.

To manually include specific page numbers to a reference in an unformatted footnote citation, simply enter the page number preceded by "@" at the end of the temporary citation:

{Smith, 1999 #24 @145-6}

All text that follows the @ symbol (up to the next space) is considered the "Cited Pages." You must also configure the EndNote style used to format the paper to use "Cited Pages" in the footnote template. Most EndNote styles that require a special format for citations in footnotes are already configured this way.

When EndNote formats the citation, the cited pages ("145-6" in the example above) are inserted in the correct location and formatted as appropriate for the style.

Note: If you enter page numbers at the end of the temporary citation without the "@" character, they will still appear in a formatted in-text citation, but EndNote will not be able to manipulate them by changing the page format or by moving them to a different position in the formatted citation. They will simply appear, as entered, at the end of the formatted in-text citation. This is a perfectly acceptable way to enter page numbers for in-text citations (or for footnotes formatted just like your in-text citations). See Citation Suffixes to see how this works. This method will not work for citations in footnotes that are formatted as full bibliographic references or with a special footnote format. For those cases, you must use the @ symbol to identify the cited pages in the temporary citation.

 

Editing a citation

Once you have inserted and formatted a citation, you should not edit it directly (although you can do so). Direct edits are lost the next time EndNote formats the bibliography.

You can almost always get EndNote to format your citations exactly to your specifications by editing the style, the EndNote reference, or the citation (as described here).

Note: An easy way to omit the Author or Date from an individual citation is to select the citation, right-click with your mouse, select Edit Citation(s) and then Exclude Author or Exclude Year.

To safely edit a formatted citation:

  1. Click on the citation you wish to change.

  2. Word 2003 : From Word’s Tools menu, go to the EndNote X6 submenu, and select Edit Citation(s) to display the EndNote Edit Citation dialog.

    Word 2007 and 2010: On the EndNote tab, in the Citations group, click Edit.

    All of the cited references in the document are listed in the left column of the dialog. An ellipses shows where a citation appears within text. The line below shows the cited reference(s).

  3. Select the appropriate citation from the list at the left of the dialog (you can scroll through all citations in the document) and make any of the following changes to the highlighted citation:

    Default Format: Select this menu option to display the citation and format it as defined by the currently selected output style.

Display as: Author (Year): Select this menu option to display both the author name and the year in the highlighted citation.

This feature does not apply when editing a citation in a footnote.

Exclude Author: Select this to omit the author name from the formatted citation.

Exclude Year: Select this to omit the date from the formatted citation.

Show Only in Bibliography: Select this option to display the selected citation only in the bibliography, not in the body of the paper.

Prefix: Enter text here to print immediately before the citation text (spaces are significant).

Suffix: Enter text here to print after the citation text (spaces are significant).

Pages: Enter page numbers here to print as Cited Pages. To print, the Cited Pages field must be listed in the citation template or footnote template of the output style.

  1. You can add or remove citations from a multiple citation or change the order of citations.

    Insert: Use this to add another citation within the same set of delimiters.

    Remove: Highlight a citation and click Remove to delete it from the in-text citation.

    Up and Down Arrows: Highlight a reference and use the arrows to change the order of display. (If a Citation Sort Order is applied by the current output style, using this dialog to change the order of citations in a multiple citation has no effect.)

  2. Click OK to implement your change(s).

After making changes, select Format Bibliography to (re)format the new or modified citations and regenerate the bibliography.

Word 2003: Select Format Bibliography to (re)format the new or modified citations and regenerate the bibliography.

Word 2007 and 2010: On the EndNote tab, in the Bibliography group, click Update Citations and Bibliography or click the corner arrow to change bibliography preferences and Format Bibliography.

 

Creating a bibliography from multiple documents

You can use Word’s Master Document feature to generate a single bibliography from multiple documents. This allows you to create a cumulative bibliography from any number of book chapters. (As an alternative, we recommend using a single Word document split into Sections. See Creating Multiple Bibliographies in a Single Document.)

To generate a single bibliography:

  1. In each of your documents, or chapters, insert your citations to link them to references in an EndNote library.

  2. Word 2003 : In each document, go to the Tools menu, then the EndNote X6 submenu, and select Unformat Citations to unformat all of the citations in the document.

    Word 2007 and 2010: On the EndNote tab, in the Bibliography group, click Convert Citations and Bibliographyand select Convert to Unformatted Citations.

  3. Close all of your documents.

  4. Create a new document.

  5. Use the Outline view to designate the new document as a master document, then insert and display each of your chapters as subdocuments. (Check Word’s documentation if you need step-by-step instructions.)

Note: If you have collapsed subdocuments to hide their content in Outline view, make sure you expand them in order to display the contents of all subdocuments before continuing.

  1. Word 2003 : From the Tools menu, go to the EndNote X6submenu and select Format Bibliography.

    Word 2007 and 2010: On the EndNote tab, in the Bibliography group, click the bottom corner arrow.

Note: Your documents must allow read/write access; they cannot be designated Read-only (locked).

  1. Verify the formatting options and click OK.

EndNote creates the bibliography, using citations from the master document and all displayed subdocuments, and places it at the end of the master document. You can move the bibliography anywhere within the master or subdocuments, and it will remain in that location even when you reformat.

Note: If you select Word’s Insert > File command, and then select the Link option to insert a document into the text, EndNote will not format the linked document when you format the main document. The text from the linked document will be skipped.

If you want to format a bibliography for each subdocument plus a cumulative bibliography at the end of the master document, follow the instructions above, but use an output style that allows formatting of Sections. See the description about Creating Multiple Bibliographies in a Single Document and Sections for additional information. In the case of a master document, subdocuments are treated as sections.

Creating links to journal articles

If a provider of an electronic journal maintains persistent, stable or durable links to their articles, it is possible to incorporate those links into an EndNote record. This creates a direct link to the article from your EndNote library.

For directions on how to create a link through a commercial vendor see: Durable Linking Note: These links are routed through the UO Library system and will only work for current UO faculty, students, and staff.


Alternatively, as the durable links may not be readily available, you can also add the abilty to access the UO's FindText  feature.

A one-time setting needs to be made in EndNote and will apply to all items in your libraries.

 

 

    In the Edit menu, choose Preferences

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

    Under URLs & Links

    Change ISI Base URL to:   http://breeze.uoregon.edu:9003/findtext                   

 

 

 

To use FindText in EndNote:  As you open a reference in your library, you will use the References tab, to URL, to OpenURL Link  and the UO Libraries' FindText box will pop open.