PersistentDurableStable Article Linking

Durable Linking

How to create a permanent link to an article online

Note: To create a durable link to a database or other electronic resource (rather than to an individual article), please refer to the Database URLs page.

Usually when you look at a full-text article in a subscription database or on a publisher's website, the URL associated with the article is dynamic, meaning that if you save it and try to use it to access that article later, it will no longer work. Fortunately, many subscription databases and websites now have permanent web addresses known as persistent, stable or durable links that allow easy incorporation into a web page, Blackboard site, or email.

The list below provides instructions on how to find or create durable links for different databases and websites. Click on the vendor's name for the instructions. Also included is a list of databases that do not provide durable links at this point. For more information, contact John Russell at 346-2689.

**Every durable link must have proxy information in it so that it can be accessed from off-campus. A URL will look like this if it contains proxy information: http://libproxy.uoregon.edu/login?url=http://[website]/. You will need to add the proxy information in order for students to be able to access the article from off-campus. The proxy information allows UO students, faculty and staff to verify their affiliation with the University of Oregon in order to access licensed resources.

Databases or websites With Durable Links

Publisher Websites (e.g. Kluwer, Wiley, Springer)

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)

American Periodical Series (Proquest)

ATLA Religion (Ebsco)

Business Source Complete (Ebsco)

ECO: Electronic Collections Online (FirstSearch)

EEBO: Early English Books Online (EEBO)

ERIC (FirstSearch)

Ethnic Newswatch (Proquest)

Fuente Academica (Ebsco)

Health Source. Consumer (Ebsco)

Health Source. Nursing/Academic (Ebsco)

JSTOR Full Text Journals (JSTOR)

Magazines Fulltext (Ebsco)

MasterFile Premier (Ebsco)

Military Library Fulltext (Ebsco)

Newspaper Source (Ebsco)

Project Muse Full Text Journals (Project Muse)

PsycINFO (APA)

ScienceDirect

 

Durable Link Instructions By Vendor

 
Instructions for durable links
Publisher's website

Some publishers have directions on creating shorter links (look for "Linking to article" pages on a website) but you must make sure that the proxy information is included. If the publisher hasn't done this, you can manually insert proxy information in order to create a durable link to an article linked on a publisher's website (e.g. publishers include Kluwer, Springer, Wiley, Highwire, etc.; they are different from database vendors listed above and below). To do this, open the article or the abstract that links to the article and locate the URL at the top of the screen. For example, an Oxford University Press online article abstract looks like this:

http://hwj.oupjournals.org/cgi/content/abstract/57/1/247.

To make this accessible from off-campus, insert ".libproxy.uoregon.edu" immediately before the first single slash (/). You will end up with this:

http://hwj.oupjournals.org.libproxy.uoregon.edu

/cgi/content/abstract/57/1/247.

You can do the same thing with any article that you've retrieved from a subscription website. Always test it to make sure it works! 

(Some article URLs are quite lengthy, especially after you add proxy information. To avoid including long URLs on Blackboard, etc., you may choose to use TinyURL.com (http://tinyurl.com), a website that creates smaller URLs that will redirect to your link. It is a free service claiming that links never expire. Keep in mind that this is a non-UO site that we have no responsibility for.)

 

Vendor
Instructions for durable links
EBSCO At the end of the article bibliographic record (not in the actual full-text), locate the "Persistent link to this record" and copy the full URL listed. Paste the complete URL into the web page or Blackboard site. You can also use the DOI (located just above the "Persistent link to this record"): the URL will be http://dx.doi.org/ put in front of the numbers given.
EEBO Click on the icon in the results list to see a full record. At the top of the screen will appear a "Durable Link" button. Clicking on this opens a small window with the durable link URL. Copy and paste this URL.
FirstSearch On the article full-text screen, click the "Link Pickup" button in the upper right corner of the screen. In the middle of the screen find the "IP-address recognition URL for direct article access" and copy the provided URL. Paste the URL into the web page or Blackboard site
JStor Go to the full-text article. Find the "Stable URL" located under the article title and copy the full URL. To allow the link to work from off-campus, modify the URL by adding .libproxy.uoregon.edu immediately after www.jstor.org; thus, for example: http://www.jstor.org.libproxy.uoregon.edu/stable/40033967 . Paste the full newly constructed URL into the web page or Blackboard site
APA In the abstract for your article, look for the Digital Object Identifier link. The URL will be http://dx.doi.org/ put in front of the numbers given on the link.
Project Muse Copy the URL in the internet address window and paste the full URL into the web page or Blackboard site
Proquest Find the "Document URL " at the bottom of the bibliographic article (which is also at the top of the html full text). This is the URL you should copy and paste into your website.
ScienceDirect Look for the DOI link at the very top left of the article. The URL will be http://dx.doi.org/ followed by the rest of the link information provided. For example, if you see doi: 10.1016/j.biomaterials.2008.07.013, the full DOI link will be http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.biomaterials.2008.07.013 .

 

Created by johnruss on Jun 18, 2012 Last updated Jun 29, 2012