FIG The Visual Lens
FIG: The Visual Lens
This page should help you with your library research assignment. Feel free to contact me with questions. You may also want to try the UO Libraries LibX Toolbar for your browser!
Chat with Cara!
UO Research Help is offline.
For questions, please call 541-346-1818
or email firstname.lastname@example.org
Start your research:Begin your library assignment by getting an overview of the life and oeuvre of your photographer. Finding an article in an encyclopedia may allow you to focus your attention on a particular body of work before locating books and articles.
- Grove Dictionary of Art and Oxford Art Online (including the Oxford Companion to Western Literature, the Dictionary of Aesthetics and the Consise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms)
- Photographers Encyclopaedia International 1839 to the Present 1600 biographies of photographers from 44 countries,t hough there is a bias towards europeans. The history of photography
- Current Photographers Active Photographers until just before 2000. Entries in this volume include brief biographical information, lists of exhibitions, artists' statements, and publications both on and by the artists.
Find journal articles:
This box is searching the following databases, but you can search them one at a time too. You can also find other worthwhile databases on the OneSearch advanced page.
Art Full Text provides access to the content of leading art and design journals covering all aspects of art, art history and theory, as well as other related areas including some performance, theater and film.
ArtBibliographies Modern provides access to essays and chapters on contemporary art from journals, exhibition catalogs, and books on modern art from the late 19th century.
Design and Applied Arts Index tends to focus more on journals from areas outside the traditional core of fine arts, which depending on your opinion may or may not include photography. In any event, photography journals and articles are indexed here.
JSTOR is an online archive of over 400 academic journals. All articles in JSTOR are peer reviewed.
Get more help:
Looking for Articles in Journals and Magazines presents strategies for using journal indexes and databases.
Scholarly vs. Popular provides you with clues about how to distinguish the difference between scholarly (aka peer-reviewed or refereed) and popular journal articles.
Find books:UO WorldCat, also available on the catalog tab on the UO Libraries' homepage, locates books, journals, videos and other library materials at the UO, Summit libraries and in libraries around the world. Materials owned by the UO are listed first on the results list, followed by Summit and then by libraries elsewhere.
UO Libraries You may also begin your search in the local catalog. The local catalog will provide access to some materials which do not appear in UO WorldCat. To see whether a search in UO Worldcat or at the UO Libraries will serve your needs best, consult this chart.
Get more help:
For more information about the UO Library Catalog, the Summit catalog and UO WorldCat see the Books and More page.
Borrowing materials from other libraries: Interlibrary loans(ILL) and Summit borrowing provides you with more information about borrowing books and other library materials from libraries in the Summit consortium and beyond. You may also find ILL forms for books and journals on this page. Use these forms when you have a citation from a bibliography or other information source.
Find photographic images
- ARTstor The largest image database of art works including photography.
- CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online Another major art image database. There is some duplication between ARTstor and Camio, but you may also find unique images.
- George Eastman House Photographic Collections Online Photographic images by many well known historic photographers from Atget to Zoller.
- AP Multimedia Images The Associated Press' collection of years of documentary and news photography.
- The Historic Photographs Collection Historic Photographs in the UO Libraries Special Collections and Archives.
This tutorial discusses the elements that reveal whether the information you find on the web is trustworthy.
This video from the Otis School of Art and Design may help you to distinguish the difference between scholarly and popular journals.