FIG: Religious Object as Icon
FIG: Religious Object as Icon
This page should help you with your library research assignment. Feel free to contact me with questions. You may also want to try the UO Libraries LibX Toolbar for your browser!
Chat with Cara!
Start your research: Encyclopedias
Begin your library assignment by getting an overview of the life and oeuvre of your photographer. Finding an article in an encyclopedia may allow you to focus your attention on a particular body of work before locating books and articles.
- Grove Dictionary of Art and Oxford Art Online (including the Oxford Companion to Western Literature, the Dictionary of Aesthetics and the Consise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms)
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism Damien Keown, ed. London : Routledge, 2007. Knight Reference BQ128 .E53 2007
- Frederic, Louis.Japan Encyclopedia Kathe Roth, trans. Cambridge, MA : Belknap Press of Harvard University, 2002 Knight Reference DS821.F73 2002
- The Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan Tokyo; New York : Kodansha, 1983 Knight Reference DS805 .K633
Find journal articles:
Art Full Text provides access to the content of leading art and design journals covering all aspects of art, art history and theory, as well as other related areas. One of the few art indexes to cover historical Asian art.
ATLA ReligionThis database includes indexing for both journals and multi-author works (books of essays) on all areas of religion.
Bibliography of Asian Studies is considered to be the primary index of journal articles and books for Asian studies in the United States.
JSTOR is an online archive of over 400 academic journals. All articles in JSTOR are peer reviewed.
You can also find other worthwhile databases on the OneSearch advanced page.
Get more help:
Looking for Articles in Journals and Magazines presents strategies for using journal indexes and databases.
Scholarly vs. Popular provides you with clues about how to distinguish the difference between scholarly (aka peer-reviewed or refereed) and popular journal articles.
UO WorldCat, also available on the catalog tab on the UO Libraries' homepage, locates books, journals, videos and other library materials at the UO, Summit libraries and in libraries around the world. Materials owned by the UO are listed first on the results list, followed by Summit and then by libraries elsewhere.
UO Local You may also begin your search in the local catalog. The local catalog will provide access to some materials which do not appear in UO WorldCat. To see whether a search in UO Worldcat or at the UO Libraries will serve your needs best, consult this chart.
Get more help:
For more information about the UO Library Catalog, the Summit catalog and UO WorldCat see the Books and More page.
Borrowing materials from other libraries: Interlibrary loans(ILL) and Summit borrowing provides you with more information about borrowing books and other library materials from libraries in the Summit consortium and beyond. You may also find ILL forms for books and journals on this page. Use these forms when you have a citation from a bibliography or other information source.
Iconography and Other Useful Reference Sources
- Frederic, Louis. Buddhism: Flammarion Iconographic Guides Paris; New York : Flamarion, 1995
A&AA Reference N8193 .F7 1995
A well illustrated iconographical guide to Buddhist art, though not limited to Japanese Buddhism.
- Goedertier, Joseph M. A Dictionary of Japanese History New York : J. Weatherhill, 1968. Knight Reference DS833.G63
- A Dictionary of Japanese Art Terms Tokyo : Tokyo Bijutsu, 1990. A&AA Reference N7350 .W23 1990
A worthwhile dictionary of transliterated Japanese art terms with brief but very useful definitions. In English and Japanese.
- Joly, Henri L. Legend in Japanese Art: A description of historical episodes legendary characters, folk-lore, myths, religious symbolism illustrated in the arts of old Japan Rutland, VT; Tokyo : Charles E. Tuttle Company, 1967. A&AA Reference N7350 .J75 1967
The title pretty much says it all. It is less well illustrated than Baird, below, but contains very different subject matter. Topics are primarily in transliterated Japanese, and are names of particular features, figures and events in Japanese history and culture.
- Baird, Merily. Symbols of Japan: Thematic Motifs in art and design New York : Rizzoli, 2001. A&AA Reference N7350 .B233 2001
A very well illustrated dictionary of images and symbols found in Japanese art and design gives slightly more substantial articles on each topic. Topics are organized into broad chapters such as "Land and Sea Animals" or "Demons, Deities, and Figural Groups".
- Bunce, Frederic W. An Encyclopedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints and Demons with special focus on iconographic attributes New Delhi : D.K. Printworld, 1994. A&AA Reference BQ128 .B86 1994.
A masterwork that enables you to identify the names of Buddhist figures based on their color, demeanor and attributes.
- ARTstor he largest image database of art works.
- CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online Another major art image database. There is some duplication between ARTstor and Camio, but you may also find unique images.
- Art and Architecture Image Collection The UO's own image collection created to support our A&AA curriculum.
- The Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art Collection This is one of two places to find images from the JSMA. The other is slightly larger, but has poorer quality of images. Search the collection on the JSMA pages.
This tutorial discusses the elements that reveal whether the information you find on the web is trustworthy.
This video from the Otis School of Art and Design may help you to distinguish the difference between scholarly and popular journals.