FIG: Media Explosions
FIG: Media Explosions
Fall 2011
Guides Home | A&AA Guides | Finding Articles | | Citing Sources | | Plagiarism
This page should help you with your library research assignment. Feel free to contact Cara List, Art and Architecture Librarian, with questions. My office is in the Architecture and Allied Arts Library (A&AA) on the second floor of Lawrence Hall-- just ask for me at the desk! Or you may email me at clist@uoregon.edu.
Begin work on your project:
The videos of Sandie Benning are on reserve for you in Knight LibraryThe reserves desk is just outside the Video and Reserves Collection on the East side of Knight Library. See this MAP to located the collection.
In order to request Reserves material, you must locate the call number of the material you wish to see.
- Click on the reserves tab of the green box on the libraries' home page
- Locate your class reserves list using the course number (ART 199), or your instructors last name and first initial (Warren T)
- Locate the title you are interested in the results list
- Notice after the call number whether the material is currently available
- It is very important to notice under loan period the amount of time you have to check the material out. Fines for overdue reserve materials are very steep: $4.00 for the first hour (or any part of that first hour, even the first 5 minutes)! Videos are usually available for 3 hour loans.
Viewing videos (and DVDs):
- There are 15 viewing stations in the reserves/video room. Each of the viewing stations seats up to two people
- You must check out headphones to use with your viewing station.
- You may take videos including videos on reserve out of the library, but consider carefully how much time you have.
- For groups of three or more students you may book the MacKinnon viewing room (Room 102). You must book the room no later than 3:00pm on the day prior to use, or 3:00pm on Friday prior to use on Saturday or Sunday. View the calendar and use the yellow "submit event" button in the upper right corner to schedule the room.
Find Film Reviews:
This box is for searching the two databases listed below, but you can search them one at a time too. You can also find other worthwhile databases on the OneSearch advanced page.
FIAF: International Film Archive Database (1972-present) This database provides access to film and television criticism and reviews from periodicals from around the world.
Film & Television Literature Index (1987-present) Includes scholarly criticism, reviews, celebrity profiles, and industry news.
You may also wish to try:
The New York Times (LexisNexis) (1980-present) Search the New York Times for film reviews or other news articles on film.
Find Scholarly articles:
This box is searching the following databases, but you can search them one at a time too.
ArtBibliographies Modern provides access to essays and chapters on contemporary art from journals, exhibition catalogs, and books on modern art from the late 19th century through today's cutting edge.
Art Abstracts provides access to the content of leading art and design journals covering all aspects of art, art history and theory, as well as other related areas including performance, video art, and film.
MLA International Bibliography The MLA indexes critical materials on all forms of literature, including film from essay collections, dissertations, monographs and over 6,000 journals.
Gender Studies This databases indexes journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, dissertations, studies, important websites, and multi-media publications on gender-focused scholarship.
LGBT Life Full Text LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
You may also want to try these multi-disciplinary databases:
Academic Search Premier An excellent multidisciplinary database, providing a mix of scholarly and popular sources. Useful for criticism, reviews, and interviews.
JSTOR JSTOR is an online archive of scholarly journals. As an archive, JSTOR contains the full back file of these journals, but not the most recent years' issues.
Get more help:
Looking for Articles in Journals and Magazines presents strategies for using journal indexes and databases.
Scholarly vs. Popular provides you with clues about how to distinguish the difference between scholarly (aka peer-reviewed or refereed) and popular journal articles.
Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Use Ulrich's to see if a journal is scholarly/peer-reviewed/refereed.
Finding Music, Video and Images
Film and Video: To locate video and DVDs in the UO Catalog, follow these steps:
- Click on UO Local Catalog below the search box on the catalog tab on the libraries' home page
- Type the title or keywords into the search boxes at the top of the page
- Where it says "Limit To:", select Video and Film.
Music: You may find music recordings in our catalog and through online sources.
- Follow the steps above for finding film and video in the catalog, but select Audio Recordings instead of Film & Video
- Find online audio resources by looking at the list on the Audio Resources Onlinepage.
Images: The UO Libraries offer several excellent digital image databases:
-
ARTstor The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. If you are accessing ARTstor off campus click HERE for access.
-
Art & Architecture Images The Art and Architecture Image Collection is created here at the UO in support of classes taught across the curriculum.
- CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online CAMIO is another art image database, that overlaps to some degree with ARTstor, but if you can't find it in ARTstor, CAMIO is an excellent follow-up choice.
Making Videos: Equipment and Help
Equipment for making videos, such as digital video cameras, is available for checkout from the Center for Media and Educational Technologies desk on the lower level of Knight Library. These pages will help you to find the equipment you need:
The Cinema Studies Lab on the second floor of Knight Library offers 23 iMacs with Apple's Final Cut Pro Studio 7 as well as Creative Suite 5 (Adobe), which includes After Effects. You are welcome to use the lab when it is not in use by a Cinema Studies Class. See the Calendar for availability.
Tutorials
This tutorial discusses the elements that reveal whether the information you find on the web is trustworthy
This video from the Otis School of Art and Design may help you to distinguish the difference between scholarly and popular journals.
