Advanced Research in Art History
Advanced Research in Art History
The study of Western art history tends to center around the concept of the "genius". For this reason, biographical resources are an important form of reference source for scholars of Western Art. The resources listed below range from name authorities which contain only the most minimal information and references to biographical dictionaries with substantial articles and images. These resources are an excellent place to begin your research on an artist, or to gather background information on artists who are peripheral to your research.
Biographical Indexes and Name Authorities
- Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon : Bio-bibliographischer Index A-Z = The artists of the world : Bio-bibliographical index A-Z. Munich : K.G. Saur, 1999--. AAA Ref N40 .A62 1999
With the new edition of the Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon still far from complete,the publisher has created this name authority that contains the c. 500,000 artists' names that should appear in the finished biographical work. Entries include a bibliographic reference to at least one biographical source. In English.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains nearly 12 million citations for individuals, both living and dead in every area of human endeavor. Many artists' citations refer to older volumes of Who's Who in American Art.
- Union List of Artists' Names This name authority is a searchable database of artists' names and their variations for use in clarifying how a name is spelled or represented (this is especially helpful in cases of transliteration), middle names, prefixes, hyphens etc. Less useful for more obscure artists. Includes biographical citations.
General Artists Biographical Sources
- Algemeines Kunstler-Lexikon
- Theme, Ulrich and Felix Becker. Algemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart. 37 volumes. Leipzig: Engelmann/Seemann, 1907-50. AAA Ref N40 .T4
Referred to as "Thieme/Becker," this, along with its cousins Vollmer and Saur, is by far the most comprehensive dictionary for biographical entries on artists. Published between 1907 and 1950, Theme Becker includes artists through 1900. Entries include basc biographical facts, articles which cover the major events and influences in an artist's life, bibliographies which may be more substantial than in Benezit, and collections in which the artist is represented. In German.
- Vollmer, Hans. Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler des XX. Jahrhunderts. 6 volumes. Leipzig: Seemann, 1953-62. AAA Ref. N 40.V6
Supplement to Thieme/Becker. Completed in 1962, it covers artists from the 1900 to 1950. In German.
- Saur, K. G.. Allgemeines Kunstler-Lexikon: Die Bildenden Kunstler aller Zeiten und Volker.Munchen: K.G. Saur, 1992. AAA Ref. N 40.A63 1992
Revised and expanded edition of Thieme/Becker and Vollmer. New volumes are coming out at a rate of about four per year (based on what has been completed, we might surmise that the completed set, at approximately 140 volumes will be available sometime around 2030). In German.
- Theme, Ulrich and Felix Becker. Algemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart. 37 volumes. Leipzig: Engelmann/Seemann, 1907-50. AAA Ref N40 .T4
- AskART: The Artists Bluebook This resource is more than just a biographical resource, but the biographical information on over 27,000 American artists is AskART's strength. Entries may include biographical sketches, bibliographies, auction records, exhibits, museum collections and images. It should be noted that information for the biographical sketches is provided by users of AskART. Articles are unsigned. All information should be verified as you develop your project.
- Benezit, E. Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs. 14 volumes. Paris: Librairie Grund, 1976. AAA Ref. N 40.B47 1976
A very important source, usually referred to as "Benezit." Contains almost 300,000 entries from the 5th century BC to mid-20th century. Entries are generally brief, containing biographical facts and sometimes a very short bibliography, a list of museum collections, and prices obtained for works sold in public sales. For very well known artists a longer, signed article and examples of the artist's signiture are included. In French.
- Bryan's Dictionary of Painters and Engravers. 5 volumes. London: Bell, 1930. AAA Ref. N 40.B94 1926
Formerly considered the major universal dictionary of artists in English, Bryan's is very limited when compared to Benezit or Thieme/Becker. Most recently updated in 1903-05. See The Grove Dictionary of Art for a more up-to-date resource.
- The Grove Dictionary of Art Online: Biography Search The Grove Dictionary of Art is an encyclopedia of art containing over 45,000 entries on all topics related to art. Included are many biographical articles about artists from all periods and all areas of the world. This page allows you to search biographical entries. See the Grove Dictonary of Art below under "Encyclopedias" for more information.
Specialized Biographical Sources
- Contemporary Architects. 3rd ed. Chicago: St. James Press, 1994. AAA Ref. NA 680.C625 1994
An excellent resource for influential architects of the late 20th century. Entries include a signed article, list of works and a bibliography split into works by the architect as well as those about the architect.
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects. 4 volumes. New York: Free Press, 1982. AAA Ref. NA 40.M25 1982
A comprehensive historical source for architects' biographies. Volume 4 has an invaluable building index.
- The Dictionary of Art Historians: A Biographical Dictionary of Historians, Museum Directors and Scholars of Art·
Despite glaring omissions (such major museum directors as Henry Hopkins and art writers such as Lucy Lippard are absent) and a confusing result display this resource is an effort to fill a particular gap in reference resources and may be useful. You may actually have better luck consulting the Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon : Bio-bibliographischer Index A-Z for references to biographical sources containing information about art historians.
- Gealt, Adelheid M. Painting of the Golden Age: A Biographical Dictionary of Seventeenth-Century European Painters.Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993. AAA Ref. ND 456.G43 19
The "first single volume available in English summarizing the careers of most of the major painters who were active in Europe during the seventeenth century...". The biographical sketches mention major artworks. Additional works with dates and holding museum and bibliographies for each artist are listed at the end of the entry.
- Contemporary Artists
- Naylor, Colin and Genesis P-Orridge, eds. Contemporary Artists. London : St James Press, 1977. AAA Ref N6490.C6567
- Emanuel, Muriel, et al., eds. Contemporary Artists. 2nd ed. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1983. AAA Ref. N6490.C6567 1983
- Naylor Colin, ed. Contemporary Artists. 3rd ed. Chicago and London: St. James Press, 1989. AAA Ref. N6490.C6567 1989
- Cerrito, Joann, ed. Contemporary Artists. 4th ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1996. AAA Ref. N6490.C6567 1996
Includes currently active painters and sculptors of major renown. Entries include a biographical sketch, a signed critical essay, lists of one-person and group shows, collections and a bibliography that includes publications both by and about the artist. The latest edition includes some statements by the artists.
- Waters, Clara Erskine Clement. Artists of the Nineteenth Century and Their Works. A handbook containing two thousand and fifty biographical sketches. Boston : Houghton, Mifflin and Company, 1907. AAA Ref. N 40.W5
Short biographical sketches of 19th century artists, including many obscure artists. There is a concentration on artists from the middle and later part of the century, though the most modern of 19th century artists are not included. Some entries include quotes and partial citations.
Naive or Outsider Art
- Bihalji-Merin, Oto, and Tomasevic Nebojsa-Bato. World Encyclopedia of Naive Art : A Hundred Years of Naive Art. London: F. Muller, 1984. AAA Ref N7432.5 .P7B54 1984
- Meyer, George. Folk Artist's Biographical Index. Detroit: Gale Research, 1987. AAA Ref. NK 805.F63 1987
Contains information about American folk, self-taught and outsider artists from the 18th century to the present who may not be grouped together in any other single reference source. Entries give citations to a bibliography of over 100 sources and on occasion list museum collections.
- Bellier de la Chavignerie, Emile and Louis Auvray. Dictionnaire General des Artistes de l'Ecole Francaise: Depuis l'origine des arts du dessin jusqu'a nos jours. 5 volumes. Reprint of 1882-1887 edition. New York: Garland, 1979. AAA Ref. N 6852.B4 1979
Very important source for French artists up to late 19th century.
- Buckman, David. Dictionary of Artists in Britain Since 1945. Bristol, England : Art Dictionaries Ltd., 1998. AAA Ref. N 6768.B83 1998
A comprehensive dictionary of artists working in the United Kingdom since 1945. Entries are brief and there are no bibliographic citations, but it is a good resource for finding basic information about relatively obscure artists.
- Congdon, Kristin and Kara Kelley Hallmark. Artists from Latin American Culture: a biographical dictionary. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 2002.AAA Reb N6502 .C657 2002
- De Maere, J. and M. Wabbes. Illustrated Dictionary of 17th Century Flemish Painters. 3 vols. Brussels : Renaissance du Livre, 1994.AAA Ref. ND 669.F5M34 1994
Each entry includes a short biography. Also provides facsimiles of the artist's signatures and monograms.
- Falk, Peter Hastings. Who Was Who in American Art. 3 vols. Madison, CT : sound View Press, 1999.AAA Ref. N 6536.W56 1999
The dramatically expanded new edition has jumped from one volume to three. A good place to begin looking for information on lesser-known American artists.
- Frick Art Reference Library. Spanish Artists from the Fourth to the Twentieth Century: A Critical Dictionary. 4 volumes. New York: G.K. Hall, 1993-1996.AAA Ref. N 7112.S67 1993
- Graves, Algernon. A dictionary of artists who have exhibited works in the principal London exhibitions from 1760 to 1893. 3rd ed. New York : B. Franklin, 1970. AAA Ref N5053 .G75 1970
The title says it all. Contains over 16,000 artists from a range of media. Information is brief, including name, town, dates of first and last exhibits and exhibitions.
- Harambourg, Lydia. Dictionnaire des Peintres Paysagistes Francais au XIXe Siecle. Neuchatel: Ides et Calendes, 1985. AAA Ref. ND 1349.5.H37 1985
A good source for finding information on lesser known 19th century French painters.In French.
- Johnson, Jane. The Dictionary of British Artists, 1880-1940. Suffolk, England: Antique Collectors' Club, c.1976. AAA Ref N6767 .J63.
See also Buckman, above.
- Pittura in Italia
- La Pittura in Italia: l'Altomedioevo. Milano : Electa, c.1994 AAA Ref ND613.P52 1994
- La Pittura in Italia: Il Duecento e il Trecento. 2 v. Milano : Electa, 1986. AAA Ref ND613 .P53 1986
- La Pittura in Italia : Il Quattrocento. 2 v. Milano : Electa, 1987. AAA Ref ND615 .P54 1987
- La Pittura in Italia : Il Cinquecento. 2 v. Milano ; Electa, 1988. AAA Ref ND615 .P55 1988
- La Pittura in Italia : Il Seicento. 2 v. Milano : Electa, 1989. AAA Ref ND616 .P56 1989
- La Pittura in Italia : Il Settecento. 2 v. Milano : Electa, 1990. AAA Ref ND616 .P57 1990
- La Pittura in Italia: l'Ottocento. 2 v. Milano : Electa, 1991. AAA Ref ND617 .P528 1991
- La Pittura in Italia : Il Novecento. 3 v. Milano : Electa, c.1991- c.1994. AAA Ref ND618.P496 1991
In addition to substantial, well illustrated textual sections La Pittura in Italia includes a biographical dictionary with each historical part. In Italian.
- Roberts, Laurance P. A Dictionary of Japanese Artists: Painting, Sculpture, Ceramics, Prints and Lacquer. New York: Weatherhill, 1990. AAA Ref. N 7358.R6 1990
Short sketches of Japanese artists throughout history.
- Seymour, Nancy N. An Index - Dictionary of Chinese Artists, Collectors, and Connoisseurs : with character identification by modified stroke count. Metuchen, NJ : The Scarecrow Press, 1988 AAA Ref. N 7348.S48 1988
More than 5,000 biographical entries ranging from the T'ang dynasty to the modern era. Includes character identification with each entry. Appendices include an index of alternate artist's names.
- Shipp, Steve. Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era: a biographical dictionary of more than 12,700 persons. Jefferson, NC : McFarland and Co., 2003. AAA Ref N6502.4 .S45 2003
- Tazawa, Yutaka. Biographical Dictionary of Japanese Art. Tokyo ; New York : Kodansha International Ltd. in collaboration with the International Society for Educational Information, 1981. AAA Ref. N 7350.B448
Fewer entries, but sketches go into greater depth than Roberts, above. Appendices include lineage charts of various artist's schools and maps of the old provinces and the modern prefectures.
- Verma, Som Prakash. Mughal Painters and their Works: A Biographical Survey and Comprehensive Catalogue. Delhi: Oxford University Press, 1994. AAA Ref. ND 1002.V36 1994
- Who's Who in American Art. 24rd ed. New York: Bowker, 2001/2002. AAA Ref. N 6536.W5
Includes artists, curators, historians and critics. People included in Who's Who are always living people, and a new edition comes out biannually.
- de Wilde, Elaine and Philippe Roberts-Jones. Le Dictionnaire des Peintres Belges: du XIVe siecle a nous jours. 3 vols. Bruxelles: Renaissance du Livre, 1995. AAA Ref. ND 672.D53 1995
Entries for artists active from the 1300's to the present in the regions that comprise modern Belgium. In French.
- Wurzbach, Alfred von. Niederlandisches Kunstler-Lexikon, auf Grund archivalischer Forschungen. 3 volumes in 2. Reprint ed. Amsterdam: Israel, 1963. AAA Ref. N 6952.W9 1963
The standard biographical dictionary for Dutch and Flemish artists. In German.
- Allen, Ginny and Jody Klevit. Oregon Painters: the first hundred years (1859--1959). Portland, OR: Oregon Historical Society Press, 1999. AAA Ref N6530 .O7 A55 1999
This is the primary reference source for Oregon artists. Unfortunately it includes only painters and covers only the years between 1859 (the year of statehood) and 1959. Entries include factual information about an artist's education, memberships in art related groups, awards, exhibits, and artistic media. Citations to the reference works that provided the data are included as well as a brief article.
- Appleton, Marion Brymner. Who's Who in Northwest Art: a Biographical Directory of Persons in the Pacific Northwest Working in the Media of Painting, Sculpture, Graphic Arts, Illustration, Design, and the Handicrafts. Seattle: F. McCaffrey, 1941. AAA Ref N6528.W5
This slim volume provides an interesting historical snapshot of who was who in the Pacific Northwest on the brink of World War II. A number of well known from the Oregon artistic tradition are included.
- Rasmussen, Louise. Art and Artists in Oregon, 1500-1900. Eugene, OR: University of Oregon, 1940. AAA Ref N6530 .O7 R37 1940a
This typewritten manuscript provides citations and descriptions of reproductions of artworks found in historical publications.
- Browne, Turner and Elaine Parnow. Macmillan Biographical Encyclopedia of Photographic Artists and Innovators. New York: Macmillan, 1983. AAA Ref. TR 139.B767 1983
Includes photographers, photojournalists, inventors, chemists and photography historians. Illustrated.
- McDarrah, Gloria and Fred McDarrah. The Photography Encyclopedia. New York: Schirmer, 1999. AAA Ref. TR 9.M39 1999
Contains concise biographies and many good quality images. Over 600 biographical entries for photographers from 1839 to the present.
- Naylor, Colin, ed. Contemporary Photographers. 3rd ed. New York : St. James Press, 1995. AAA Ref TR139 .C664 1995
Contemporary in a broad sense, as some 19th- and 20th-century artists are included. Quality and content of biographical entries consistent with other St. James titles such as Contemporary Artists.
- Willis-Thomas, Deborah. An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers 1940-1988. New York: Garland, 1989. AAA Ref. TR 139.W55 1989
Includes entries for some photographers not included in other sources. Richly illustrated.
Race and Gender
- Notable Black American Artists
AskART offers this list of over 100 well known African American artists as a sub-catagory in their massive database of artists. A short article about African American artists is also available.
- Cederholm, Theresa Dickason. Afro-American Artists: a Bio-bibliographical directory. Boston: Trustees of the Boston Public Library, 1973. AAA Ref N6538 .N5 C42
Unfortunately this resource is sadly out of date. Entries contain factual information and extensive bibliographies, but no articles.
- Directory of People of Color in the Visual Arts. New York: College Art Association, 1993. AAA Ref N6537.5 .D57 1993
Rather than a biographical resource, this is a directory-- meaning it contains telephone numbers and addresses rather than lists of achievements. The directory is based on a survey conducted in 1989 using pan-ethnic and racial categories to identify artists, art historians, art critics and arts administrators who are people of color.
- Gaze, Delia. Dictionary of Women Artists. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997. AAA Ref. N 8354.D53 1997
Provides biographical and bibliographical information on women artists working in the Western tradition from the Middle Ages through the mid-20th century. Includes 20 introductory surveys on topics ranging from amateur artists to training and professionalism.
- Heller, Jules. North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century: A Biographical Dictionary. New York: Garland Press, 1995. AAA Ref. N 6503.N67 1995
Offers biographical and bibliographic information on women artists from Canada, Mexico, and the U.S. Covers artists born before 1960.
- Henkes, Robert. Latin American Women Artists of the United States: the Works of 33 Twentieth-century Women. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, c1999. AAA Ref N6538.H58 H46 1999
- Hillstrom, Laurie Collier and Kevin Hillstrom, eds. Contemporary Women Artists. Detroit: St. James Press, c.1999. AAA Ref N8354 .C66 1999
- Lester, Patrick D. the Biographical Directory of Native American Painters. Tulsa, OK: Sir Publications, 1995. AAA Ref E54.5 .L47 1995 An excellent resource for Native Amercian painters of all periods. Lists tribe and provides other factual information as available. Alternate spellings or forms of artists' names are cross referenced.
- Matuz, Roger. St. James Guide to Native North American Artists. Detroit: St. James Press, 1998. AAA Ref E98 .A7 S8 1998
Like other St. James biographical works, this reference source includes biographical data, both individual and group exhibitions, publications by and about the artists, and signed articles. Some entries include a black and white image. Tribal affiliation also listed.
- Petteys, Chris. Dictionary of Women Artists: An Inter>national Dictionary of Women Artists Born Before 1900. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1985. AAA Ref. N 43.P47 1985
Brief information, but especially useful for lesser-known artists.
- Riggs, Thomas. St. James Guide to Black Artists. Detroit : St. James Press, c1997 AAA Ref. N 40.S78 1997
Offers biographic and bibliographic on black artists from around the world. This resource is very up to date, but does have some notable absences.
- Willis-Thomas, Deborah. An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers 1940-1988. New York: Garland, 1989. AAA Ref. TR 139.W55 1989
Includes entries for some photographers not included in other sources. Richly illustrated.
- Zheng, Sheng Tian and Charles Liu. Artists of Chinese Origin in North America Directory.Tiapei: Artist Magazine; Westmont, IL: Point Gallery, 1993. AAA Ref N6538 .C48 A78 1993
- Beaulieu, M. and V. Beyer. Dictionnaire des Sculpteurs Francais du Moyen Age. Paris: Picard, 1992. AAA Ref. NB 543.B43 1992
Organized by region. Includes maps. In French.
- Gunnis, Rupert. Dictionary of British Sculptors, 1660 - 1851. London: [Murrays Book Sales], 1968. AAA Ref. NB 496.G85 1968
Very comprehensive dictionary of British sculptors from this period. Many illustrations.
- Opitz, Glenn B. Dictionary of American Sculptors: 18th Century to the Present. Poughkeepsie: Apollo, 1984. AAA Ref. NB 236.U64 1984 Very brief entries include the last known address and a separate section of black and white illustrations.
- Souchal, François. French Sculptors of the 17th and 18th centuries : the reign of Louis XIV, illustrated catalogue. Oxford: Cassirer ; London : distributed by Faber, 1977- AAA Ref. NB 546.S6813
Encyclopedias are the quiet but stalwart worker class of the reference section. The information you locate in these resources may be unusual even esoteric in nature, but it will always be no more than a basis or a supplement to your research. An encyclopedia may be the perfect place to begin your research., providing you with an overview of a subject. You may also use an encyclopedia to understand basic information about a person or subject that is related to your area of interest. Look for encyclopedias with signed articles and bibliographic references.
These encyclopedias are not specific to art or art history, but may provide helpful background for subjects in art history.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online.
The most general and authoritative of encyclopedias, it is also available in print at Knight library [AE5 .E363 1998].
- Embree, Ainslie T., ed. Encyclopedia of Asian History, 4 vols. New York : Scribner, c1988. AAA Ref DS31 .E53 1988
An encyclopedia of the general history of Asia, these volumes have brief entries covering the far east (China, Japan and Korea) and Southeast Asia. Very few illustrations.
- Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed. (1st ed. in print in Knight Reference BL 31 .E46 1986), is an authoritative set with entries covering the world's many religions.
- Glasse, Cyril. The New Encyclopaedia of Islam. Walnut Creek, CA: AltaMira Press, 2001. AAA Ref BP40 .G42 2001b
Relatively detailed entries on people, places and terms specific to Islam or Islamic history.
- Kelly, Michael, ed. Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, 4 vols. New York : Oxford University Press, 1998. AAA Ref BH56 .E53 1998
Aesthetics is the branch of philosophy dealing with art. Most of the entries in this resource are for relatively broad terms (though there are personal names as well), but the approach is from a philosophical vantage point and the articles are fairly long. Bibliographies. Some illustrations.
- Oxford Reference Premium
This resource allows you to search across several of the Oxford University Press online reference sources or to conect to one of them at a time. Included are the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, the Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance,the Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt and others.
Encyclopedias of Art
The following citations are for encyclopedias covering art and architecture generally or specific topics within these areas of study.
- Encyclopedia of Architecture, Design, Engineering and Construction, 5 volumes. New York: Wiley, 1988-1990. AAA Ref. NA 31. E59 1988
This encyclopedia may at times have information better suited to the practitioner than the historian, but there are also valuable entries on historic building techniques and styles.
- Encyclopedia of World Art. 17 volumes. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1959-1987. AAA Ref N31 .E533
Articles written by internationally known art historians, with chronological bibliographies following major articles. Each volume includes a section of illustrations, some in color. Maps. Extensive bibliographies.
- Enciclopedia dell'Arte Antica: Classica e Orientale, 9 volumes. Roma : Enciclopedia Italiana, 1958. AAA Ref N31 .E48
This encyclopedia is somewhat dated but the best resource available on this topic. Short entries cover topics pertaining to ancient art and art and culture in the Near and Mid East, but do not include the Far East or Southeast Asia. Bibliographic citations included with entries, however, most are Italian resources. In Italian.
- The Grove Dictionary of Art Online
Turner, Jane, ed. The Dictionary of Art, 34 volumes. New York : Grove's Dictionaries, 1996 AAA Ref. N 31.D5 1996
The Grove Dictionary of Art is the most comprehensive reference source for the study of art history in English. The Grove was originally published in paper in 1996, but since then the online version has continued to grow, is regularly updated and links to images are continually checked and added. Entries range from a paragraph to many pages, but all contain a bibliography. Also includes entries from the The Oxford Companion to Western Art
- Oxford Reference Premium: Art and Architecture
Oxford's online reference source allows you to search across several different reference sources or in individual titles. Included are the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, A Dictionary of Modern Design, the Oxford Companion to the Photograph, and others.
Specific Nationalities or Periods in Art History
- Avery, Catherine B., ed. The New Century Italian Renaissance Encyclopedia. New York : Appleton-Century-Crofts, 1972. AAA Ref DG537.8 .A1 N48
Excellent reference for finding information on important historical events and people of the Italian Renaissance.
- Muller, Sheila D., ed. Dutch Art: An Encyclopedia. New York : Garland, 1997. AAA Ref N6941 .D88 1997
This source is organized as other encyclopedias, by alphabet, but also contains an excellent feature: a readers guide which indexes the subjects in broad subject areas. Entries are not long, but contain bibliographies. Illustrated, some color.
Dictionaries are useful for understanding terminology specific to art and art history as well as for understanding words that have a special meaning in this context.
- Apelt, Mary L. German-English Dictionary: Art History, Archaeology, 2nd ed. Berlin : E. Schmidt, 1990. AAA Ref N33 .A557 1990
Very helpful for reading about art history in some of the major sources of information, which are written in German.
- Artlex : art dictionary for artists, collectors, students and educators in art production, criticism, history, aesthetics, and education
An illustrated, cross referenced dictionary of over 3300 art terms, movements and concepts.
- Atkins, Robert. Art Speak : A guide to contemporary ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1945 to the present, 2nd ed. New York : Abbeville Press Publishers, 1997. AAA Ref N6490 .A87 1997
The title pretty much says it all. This volume works very well with the companion work, Art Spoke.
- Atkins, Robert. Art Spoke : A guide to modern ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1848--1944. New York : Abbeville Press Publishers, 1993. AAA Ref N6447 .A85 1993
See above: Art Speak.
- Fleming, John, Hugh Honour and Nikolaus Pevsner, The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, 5th ed. London : Penguin Books, 1998 AAA Ref NA31 .F55 1998
For years this has been a standard reference for architects and architecture from the Medieval period to the twentieth century. With the fifth edition, landscape architecture was added making it one of the few to combine the two fields
- Lucie-Smith, Edward. The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms. London : Thames and Hudson, 1984. AAA Ref N33 .L75 1984
Brief entries covering terms, styles and movements. Contains no artists' names.
- Mayer, Ralph. A Dictionary of Art Terms and Techniques. New York : Crowell, 1969. AAA Ref N33 .M36
This dictionary contains definitions of technical processes in the areas of painting, drawing, sculpture, and printmaking as well as ceramics.
- The Oxford Dictionary of Art.
A comprehensive dictionary of artists' names, movements, theories, techniques and terminology.
- Walker, John A. Glossary of Art, Architecture and Design since 1945. 3rd ed. Boston : G.K. Hall, 1992. AAA Ref N34 .W34 1992
For relatively up-to-date terminology, slang, names of movements this source is invaluable.
These guides are sources used to identify those works that are considered to be the standard, critically recognized works in particular formats or areas of interest. Though bibliographies are authoritative guides to the literature on a particular subject, they are rarely current. In the time that it takes to assemble the research and publish a bibliography, other material may be produced. Take note of the publication date of any bibliographies you use, and supplement your research with searches in some of the resources listed below in the section on catalogs.
- Jones, Lois Swan. Art Information: Research Methods and Resources. 3rd ed. Dubuque: Kendall/Hunt, 1990. AAA Ref. N 85.J64 1990
A guide to the basic steps in conducting research in the visual arts. Examines almost all basic reference sources in art history and demonstrates how they can be used effectively.
- Jones, Lois Swan. Art Information and the Internet: How to Find It, How to Use It. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1999. AAA Ref N59 .J66 1999
This is an excellent resource for finding information resources in art and architecture on the internet. However, with the rate at which the WWW changes, this reference may be out of date rather more quickly than most. It also includes print resources.
- Balay, Robert, ed. Guide to Reference Books. 11th ed. Chicago : American Library Association, 1996. AAA Ref Z1035.1 .G89 1996
The bibliography of bibliographies, the overarching authority on reference books. This bibliography cites reference resources in all subject areas.
- Arntzen, Etta & Robert Rainwater. Guide to the Literature of Art History. Chicago: American Library Association, 1980. AAA Ref Z 5931.A67
Marmor, Max and Alex Ross. Guide to the Literature of Art History II. Chicago: American Library Association 2005. AAA Ref Z5931 .M374 2005
Useful annotated bibliographies of the most important works published in all areas of art history. Helpful in identifying works of major importance in particular areas of art historical study.
- Ehresmann, Donald L. Fine Arts: A bibliographic guide to basic reference works, histories, and handbooks. 3rd ed. Littleton, CO : Libraries Unlimited, 1990. AAA Ref A5931 E47 1990
This volume is one fifth of a set of bibliographies that spans a broad spectrum of topics in art and architecture. Note the publication of this resource is nearly twenty years ago and recognize that you must supplement the information you find here.
- Art Books 1876-1949. New York: Bowker, 1981. AAA Ref. Z 5931.A76 Art Books 1950-1979. New York: Bowker, 1979. AAA Ref. Z 5931.A77
Art Books 1980-1984. New York: Bowker, 1985. AAA Ref. Z 5939.A8 1985
Art Books, published in three parts covering successive spans of years, lists over 60,000 books in all areas of art. Because almost all titles listed were published in the U.S., these are most useful for, but not limited to, topics on American art and architecture. Arranged by LCSH (Library of Congress subject headings); there are also author and title indexes. The most recent volume covers works published from 1980 to 1984.
- Freitag, Wolfgang M. Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists. 2nd ed. New York: Garland, 1997. AAA Ref. Z 5938.F73 1997
This source lists more than 10,000 monographs on over 1800 artists. Although heavily oriented to western Europe, artists from the Mid-East and Asia, as well as from Latin and North America, are included. This offers one way of identifying monographs on a particular artist, but is somewhat out of date and does not annotate individual titles.
- Sellen, Betty-Carol with Cynthia J. Johanson. Outsider, Self Taught, and Folk Art Annotated Bibliography: Publications and films of the 20th century. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, Inc., 2002. AAA Ref Z5956 .O85 S45 2002
Few outsider artists have major solo retrospective exhibitions, and as a result information about and representations of their artworks are often "hidden" in exhibit catalogs with much more general titles and themes. This helpful bibliography indexes a substantial number of these artists to the many catalogs, books, articles and films that have included them. It will be invaluable to those searching for informaiton on little known self taught or folk artists.
Festschriften are books of essays written in honor of an individual. These essays are often written about quite different subjects, and because cataloging only sometimes reaches a depth where individual essays are noted in a catalog record, most often these essays are more or less "lost". There are three resources for finding festschriften: Rave, listed below indexes festschriften through 1960, Lincoln 1960 - 1975, and the online index, the Bibliography of the History of Art for 1976-the present.
- Lincoln, Betty Woelk. Festschriften in Art History, 1960-1975. New York : Garland, 1988. AAA Ref A5931 .L52
- Rave, Paul Ortwin. Kunstgeschichte in Festschriften : Allgemeine Bibliographie kunstwissenschaftlicher Abhandlungen in den bis 1960 erschienenen Festschriften. Berlin : Mann, 1962. AAA Ref Z5931 .R35
- Ulrich's International Periodical Directory
Not a bibliography, Ulrich's is a fairly comprehensive directory of periodicals currently being published. You may browse a list of art periodicals to see current publications in this area. You can also find out which indexes cover a particular periodical title.
Library catalogs contain information that describes and helps researchers to locate all the materials that a library may own, including books and journals-- both paper and electronic, government documents, music scores and recordings, videos and more. The University of Oregon Libraries catalog is searchable either as a separate catalog (UO Local), or simultaneously with the Summit catalog and Worldcat (see below for descriptions)as UO WorldCat. Also listed here are several catalogs for libraries with a special focus on art, useful as bibliographic references/information sources. If you are having difficulty locating library resource, do not hesitate to speak to Cara List, reference librarian at the Architecture and Allied Arts Library.
UO WorldCat provides a simple interface to search the library catalog, the Summit catalog and libraries worldwide in a single search. For a simple search use the space on the catalog tab on the libraries'homepage. You may also do an advanced search.
- UO Library Catalog (UO Local)
The UO Library Catalog provides access to the holdings of the University of Oregon Libraries, including Knight, the A&AA Library and other branches in Eugene, and the satalite libraries like the Portland Library and Learning Commons. You may search the UO Local separately from UO WorldCat. To see why you may wish to do this, consult this list.
- Summit Catalog
The Summit catalog is the union catalog of the Orbis Cascade Alliance, made up of most of the academic libraries in Oregon and Washington. The Orbis Cascade Alliance extends borrowing privleges to patrons at member institutions.
WorldCat is a massive database of more than 90 million catalog records from libraries throughout the U.S., Canada, Europe and the world. Contributors include the Library of Congress, and many other national libraries, academic libraries from high level research university libraries to community colleges, public libraries and others.
Art Library Catalogs
The catalogs of some of the great art and architecture research libraries are worth consulting as they can serve as more selective bibliographic references than WorldCat might, and are more up to date than most bibliographies. The holdings of books on Persian miniature painting at the Metropolitan Museum of Art's Watson Library may, for instance, provide you with a refined list of research resorces, whereas a search in WorldCat might be overwhelming, and include books that are not well suited to academic research.
- Bibliotheca Hertziana
One of the top research libraries for Italian Renaissance Art. In Rome. Web page and catalog available in German, Italian and English (limited).
- The Freer Gallery of Art Library
The Freer Gallery of Art and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery are the National Museum of Asian Art for the United States. As such, their catalog represents a fantastic bibliography of resources on this subject. The online catalog cantains all records for materials acquired since 1987 and about one third of that collected before. For best results use both resources.
- The Research Library of the J. Paul Getty Trust
The complete catalog of this excellent research facility is available online. The catalog contians records for over 800,000 volumes, and approximately 3,000 archival and photographic collections.
- Watsonline: The Catalog of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Library of the Metropolitan Museum of Art is made up of 12 libraries and study centers including the Thomas J. Watson research library containing more than 450,000 volumes and approximately 2,500 current serials. All records for material acquired by the library since 1980 and about 70% of material collected before 1980 are included in the online catalog.
- The Ryerson and Burnham Libraries Catalog, Art Institute of Chicago
The Ryerson and Burnham Libraries are the combined resources of the two research libraries of the Art Institute of Chicago. The Ryerson Library, an art library was founded in 1910, though books were collected from 1879 by the institute. The Burnham Library with a focus on architecture was founded in 1912, and the two were merged in 1957. The entire catalog of the Ryerson and Burnham Libraries is available online.
- Worldwide Books Online
I have included this database and catalog of exhibition catalogs even though it is not affiliated with or produced by a library, but by a commercial vendor. Worldwide Books has chosen to retain the records for exhibition catalogs that are out of print (OP) or out of stock indefinitely (OSI) for their bibliographic and reference value. Exhibition catalogs included in this database are not only for museum shows around the world, but for small exhibits in commercial galleries and non-profit art spaces as well.
- Smithsonian Archives and Manuscripts Catalog
This is an archive of primary source materials-- manuscripts, interviews, etc.on American art and artists. To search the Archives of American Art, click on "search" under Archives and Manuscripts. In the pull-down menu that says "search all repositories" select Archives of American Art. Thsi material is primarily available only to those who are able to travel to Washington DC, however, there is a substantial amount of the collection that has been microfilmed and is available through ILL. In addition to print archives that have been microfilmed you may find material from the Oral History Program-- either tapes or transcripts-- which you may receive through ILL. You may also view a list of interviewees in the Oral History Program. For more information about the archives, visit their home page.
Name and Subject Authority Works
- Library of Congress Subject Headings, 4 volumes. Washington, DC: Library of Congress Cataloging Distribution Service, 1994. AAA REF Z695 .L695 1994 (on top of shelves in the Reference area)
The LCSH represent a massive system of organizing the written product of mankind's thought by subject. It is by no means perfect-- it is distinctly slanted towards western, Euro-centric thinking-- but it is the system most US libraries use, and it is effective. Using the LCSH volumes may be more than some scholars wish to take on for every research endeavor, but it is definitely worthwhile to learn how to use them.
- Union List of Artists Names Browser is a searchable database of artists' names and their variations. It may help you to clarify the variations in the way an artist's name is spelled (this is especially helpful in cases of transliteration) or represented, middle names, prefixes, hyphens and all. the list also contains references to the materials cited for each artist.
- Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Browser is very easy to use and very helpful, especially if you are interested in ancient art or art from non-western cultures. Entries provide basic information about the place, as well as variations and historic changes in place names. Authorities for names are also cited.
- Art and Architecture Thesaurus
Peterson, Toni, dir. Art and Architecture Thesaurus. New York: Oxford University Press, c1990. AAA REF Z695.1.A7 A76 1990
This resource is relatively new and not yet widely used as an indexing tool. The LCSH are very firmly entrenched in most libraries, even those that specialize in art. However, you may wish to use this to brainstorm for terms to use in keyword searches. One of the many problems in indexing and describing art is that there are few precise and definite terms. This resource may help you to come up with a few. This is not necessarily an easy system to use.
- Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective
Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective combined are the digital version of the old reference standby-- Art Index. Unfortunately the two databases can't be searched simultaneously, nor are both indexes available from the same online provider. Art Abstracts contains citations from 1984 on, and Art Index Retrospective contains citations prior to 1984. These popular indexes include material on art, photography, architecture, landscape architecture, museums, urban planning, and related fields from all periods and geographic areas. They are a good source for material on non-Western art. Art Abstracts is useful for searching for very current or marginalized artists. Citations in both databases are drawn from a fixed group of more than 300 journals, mostly in English. These indexes are especially useful for locating reproductions and book reviews.
- ArtBibliographies Modern
Very important source for contemporary art, design and phootgraphy, expecially for European artists. contains abstracts and citatios from periodical articles, books, exhibition catalogs, and theses dealing with Western art from the yeeear 1800 to the present (however, beginning in 1988, subject coverage begins with 1900, exhept for photography which continues to be covered from 1839 to the present). This index also allows some fairly complex searching, so you will want to make use of the 'help" pages. Coverage in the online version of this index begins in 1974, but the paper index started in 1971. for those four earliest years, see the paper version in the A&AA reference section.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (see also International Bibliography of Art)
BHA (1879-2008) IBA (2008--) An important index for international art periodicals, BHA provides the best coverage of foreign language (primarily European languages) publications. BHA is the successor to the Repertoire International de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA) and the Repertoire d'Art et d'Archaeology (RAA). RILA is completely superceded by BHA, but RAA has only been converted to the digital format from 1990. To search RAA from 1910 to 1989, consult the paper volumes. BHA provides abstracts and citations to periodical articles from 2500 journal titles in English and 17 other European and Asian languages. Citations to books, conference proceedings, Festschriften, collected essays, exhibition catalogues, museum publications, and doctoral dissertations are also included. Like many art history research tools, there is a distinct slant towards western art history, and BHA may not be the best index for locating information on indigenous peoples nor very current or marginalized artists.
The indexes listed below do not specialize in the literature of art and art history, but may be useful supplements to your research.
- Academic Search Elite
Contains abstracts and citations to over 2,880 journals, and full text coverage of more than 1,250 journal titles. Because this is a multidisciplinary index, the coverage of art journals is much more cursory. However, you will find material here that would not appear in an art index because of the multidisciplinary nature of the journal, or the interdisciplinary content of the article. Another benefit of using this index is the full text feature. Note that many articles are not available in full text, and that art journals may not provide full page images-- and therefore no art images.
- Arts and Humanities Search
This index is a multi-disciplinary index including other subject areas in the humanities. The virtue of this index is that it is a citation index. A citation index allows you to view the bibliography of an article, and also to see who has cited that article elsewhere.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
This area studies index may provide additional citations to articles, books and pamphlets covering Asian life and culture, though art is not covered in any depth or with any degree of focus. All citations are to materials in English.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
HAPI is multidisciplinary, and therefore includes fewer journals of art, but if you are interested in Latin American art or artists, you will probably find material here that would not show up in the art indexes. It is a helpful supplement to research in the major art indexes.
- AAAT Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature
This index covers analysis, treatment, and techniques in restoration and preservation of art and architecture materials. It has a separate section dealing with "architectural conservation, including landscape gardening." You must register to use this database, but there is no charge.
- L'Annee Philologique: Bibliographie Critique et Analytique de l'Antiquite Greco-Latine. Paris : Societe d'edition "Les belles lettres", 1928-- . KNIGHT REF. Z 7106.A5
The major index on the current literature on Greek and Roman antiquity, providing both author and subject access to journals and books.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The primary index for periodical literature on architecture and architectural history. Over 2000 journal titles are included in this index. It is worthwhile to check the original paper volumes for the approximately 30,000 pre 1930 citations that have not yet been added to the online index. The Avery plans to have this work complete between 2003 and 2004. As with other indexes using the Eureka interface, searching is not highly flexible, but the data content is very good quality, and indexing is superior.
- Bulletin signaletique 525: Prehistoire et Protohistoire. Paris : Centre national de la recherche scientifique, Centre de documentation sciences humaines, 1980 -1990 KNIGHT Ref. Z 5118.A6B8
Bulletin signaletique 525: Prehistoire. Paris : Centre national de la recherche scientifique, Centre de documentation humaines, 1970 - 1979 KNIGHT Ref. Z 5118.A6B8
A major index with brief annotations, covering both books and periodicals on all fields of prehistoric studies, including art. Mainly covers European literature. Preceded by Bulletin Signaletique 525: Prehistoire.
- Catalog of Periodical Articles: Decorative and Fine Arts: Bibliotheque Forney, Paris. 4 volumes. Boston : G.K. Hall, 1972. AAA Oversized Ref xZ 5939.P223
Specialized index to the decorative and fine arts periodicals in the collection of the Bibliotheque Forney, which has strong holdings in the history of interior design (including furniture, woodworking, wallpapers, curtains, wrought iron, and floor coverings). Over 600 titles are indexed, several beginning as early as the 1840s. A list of titles indexed is at the beginning of volume one. This resource is optimal for research in historic publications as coverage ends in
- Design and Applied Art Index
This index, created in the UK is ideal for searches for material on design (automative, fashion, graphic etc.) and applied arts (ceramics, weaving, and metalsmithing among others).
- RIBA: The Royal Institute of British Architects
This resource is both a library catalog of the Royal British Architectural Library and an index of the periodicals that they subscribe to. In order to search in the periodical index alone, go to "Search Limits" and select "Articles" from the pull-down menu. The periodical index was formerly published as API : Architectural Publications Index. The list of journals indexed is about half that for the Avery Index (above), but this index is worth using for access to some of the more obscure British architectural journals.
Interdisciplinary Iconographical Sources
- Chevalier, Jean and Alain Gheerbrant. A Dictionary of Symbols. Translated by John Buchanan-Brown. Oxford : Blackwell Reference, 1994. AAA Ref GR931 .C4413 1994
This dictionary of symbols has almost no illustrations, but for a scholarly, well-organized and multi-disciplinary work on symbols it is superior. A considerable amount of historical information is given by the contributing specialists. Articles are signed. Bibliography of primarily French resources.
- Circlot, Juan Eduardo. Dictionary of Symbols, 2nd ed. Translated by Jack Sage. Forward by Herbert Read. New York : Philosophical Library, 1971. AAA Ref BF1623 .S9 C513 1971b
The author's interest in symbols began with his awareness of a 'symbolist ethos' in modern art, and the approach of this work is multi-cultural and broad. Few illustrations. Bibliography.
Bibliographies of Iconographical Sources in Art
- Murray, Irena Zantovska, ed. Sources in Iconography in the Blackader-Lauterman Library of Architecture and Art, McGill University : An annotated bibliography. Compiled by Kathryn A. Jackson. Montreal : McGill University Libraries, 1997 AAA N7560 .B58 1997
A good starting point for specific or in-depth research in iconography. Sections split iconography into classical, sacred and secular. Illustrated.
Dictionaries of Iconography
- Hall, James. Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art. Introduction by Kenneth Clark. New York : Icon Editions, Harper and Row, 1974. AAA Ref N7560 .H34 1974
A fundamental resource. This dictionary to (primarily Christian and classical) symbols in Western art is a reliable and necessary basic tool. Few illustrations. Bibliography.
- --. Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art. New York : Icon Editions, Harper and Row, 1994. AAA Ref N7740 .H35 1994
Includes Christian and classical sources and many others. Alphabetical within sections (abstract symbols, plants, animals, etc.). Includes bibliography, index, and many black and white illustrations.
- Roberts, Helene E., ed. Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography : Themes depicted in works of art. Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998. AAA Ref N7560 .E53 1998
This beautiful encyclopedia of themes in artworks devotes long entries to broad subjects. Entries include lists of art works from different historic periods, and bibliographies. Many black and white illustrations.
- Rochelle, Mercedes. Historical Art Index, A. D. 400-1650 : People, Places, and Events Depicted. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Company, Inc., 1989. AAA Ref N8210 .R6 1989
A helpful dictionary of secular themes in art from the year 400 to 1650. Entries consist of lists of paintings depicting the person, place, event or theme.
Classical Art and Mythology
- Aghion, Irène, Claire Barbillon and François Lissarrague. Gods and Heroes of Classical Antiquity. Paris : Flammarion., 1996. AAA Ref N7760 .A34 1996
An extremely convenient, well organized resource for the study of classical themes and myths. Entry titles are translated into major European languages including Latin. Saints' entries give attributes. Entries are cross-referenced and each entry has a bibliography. Many illustrations, some color.
- Lexikon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC). Zürich/München : Artemis, 1981- . AAA Ref NX650 .M9 L48
Publication in progress; 8 volumes (2 parts each) and an index are published thus far (a supplement is forthcoming); first part is commentary, second part is plates. Iconography of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman mythology from after Mycenaean period to Early Christian period. In English, German, French, Italian.
- Reid, Jane Davidson. The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300 - 1990s. New York : Oxford University Press, 1993. AAA Ref NX650 .M9 R45 1993
This resource will allow you to find which artists from the 14th to 20th century used certain classical themes in their work. Entries include a brief description and an extensive list of works of art, dance, and literature. No illustrations or bibliography.
- Rochelle, Mercedes. Mythological and Classical World Art Index : A Locator of Paintings, Sculptures, Frescoes, Manuscript Illuminations, Sketches, Woodcuts, and Engravings Executed 1200 B.C. to A. D. 1900, with a Directory of the Institutions Holding Them. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Company, Inc., 1991. AAA Ref N7760 .R63 1991
This is exactly as the title advertises. Entries consist of a list of art works. No illustrations. No bibliography.
- Drake, Maurice. Saints and Their Emblems. 1916. Reprint, Detroit : Gale Research, 1971. AAA Ref N8080.D7 1971B
A comprehensive, alphabetical arrangement of saints listing attributes and emblems when they exist; notable events in the saints life that might be depicted. Useful index provides access by attribute. Few illustrations. No bibliography.
- Duchet-Suchaux, Gaston and Michel Pastoureau. The Bible and the Saints. Paris : Flammarion, 1994. AAA Ref BS513.2 .C8313 1994
An extremely convenient, well organized resource for the study of Christian iconography. Entry titles are translated into major European languages including Latin. Saints' entries give attributes. Entries are cross-referenced and each entry has a bibliography. Many color illustrations.
- Farmer, David Hugh.The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, 4th ed. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1997. AAA Ref BR1710 .F34 1997
An exhaustive dictionary of saints, this volume is not specific to art and does not list the attributes of the saints. Some entries include citations. No illustrations.
- Goldsmith, Elizabeth Edwards. Sacred Symbols in Art. New York and London : G. P. Putnam's Sons, 1911. AAA Ref N7830 .G6
Not as scholarly or exhaustive as some dictionaries, it does cover some topics they do not, like how to distinguish devotional from historical images of saints, or monastic orders and their habits. Includes some black and white reproductions and an index.
- Olderr, Steven. Reverse Symbolism Dictionary : Symbols Listed by Subject. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Company, Inc., 1992. AAA Ref CB475 .O37 1992
This book is something of an oddity, but potentially helpful. No illustration. No bibliography.
- Réau, Louis. Iconographie de L'Art Chrétien. Paris : Presses Universitaires de France, 1955-1959. AAA Ref N7830 .R37
An essential reference resource for the study of Christian themes in Western art. The scope covers early Christian art through the 20th century, but the emphasis is on medieval art. Volume one covers the Old Testament, volume two, the New Testament and volume three, the saints. In French.
- Rochelle, Mercedes. Post-Biblical Saints Art Index : A Locator of Paintings, Sculptures, Mosaics, Icons, Frescoes, Manuscript Illuminations, Sketches, Woodcuts and Engravings, Created from the 4th Century to 1950, with a Directory of Institutions Holding Them. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Company Inc., 1994. AAA Ref N8079.5 .R63 1994
Section one lists the saints and entries include a brief description of the image, the artist name/s, location of work/s, and bibliographical information for where the work is reproduced. Section two is a list of artists with titles and locations of works. Section three is an index of attributes and events. Extensive bibliography. No illustrations.
- Schiller, Gertrud. Iconography of Christian Art. Greenwich, CT: New York Graphic Society, 1971. AAA Ref N7830 .S3513 1971
The major work on Christian iconography; provides thoughtful textual commentary on the very large number of objects reproduced; first two volumes arranged chronologically by the life of Christ. Volume three covers the resurrection and glorification of Christ and volume four deals with images of Ecclesia, the Virgin Mary and the Old Testament. First two volumes in English, but other volumes in German. Black and white illustrations. Bibliography in footnotes.
Eastern Art Themes
- Bunce, Fredrick W. A Dictionary of Buddhist and Hindu Iconography. New Delhi : D. K. Printworld, 1997. AAA Ref N7565 .B86 1997
You may need to spend a little time reading the introductory pages to understand all the information this work provides. There are no entries for deities, rather entries are for the objects, devices, concepts, rites and terms related to their representations. Terms are transliterated then alphabetical. Each entry provides the source language of the term and bibliographic citations. Illustrated with drawings. Appendix includes a list of term categories with non-English terms grouped under English headings. Includes bibliography.
- Chandra, Lokesh. Dictionary of Buddhist Iconography. New Delhi : International Academy of Indian Culture and Aditya Prakashan, 1999. AAA Ref N8193 .A4 L644 1999
Includes Buddhist iconography from the Indian, Sino-Japanese and Tibetan traditions. Text is primarily in English with inscriptions and quotations in the original scripts and languages. Appearing in successive volumes, to date only volume one (A- Amoghavajra) has been received.
- Frederic, Louis. Buddhism. Paris : Flammarion, 1995. AAA Ref N8193 .F7 1995
Divided into eleven sections including the Evolution of Buddhist Representations, the Buddha, the Five Jinas, Bodhisattvas, Vidyarajas, Feminine Deities, Defenders and Guardians, and Divine Beings and Deified Historical Figures. Appendices include Sanskrit - Japanese and Japanese -Sanskrit correspondences. Abundantly illustrated with drawings, black & white photographs, and color plates. Index and bibliography.
- Joly, Henri L. Legend in Japanese Art : A Description of Historical Episodes, Legendary Characters, Folk-Lore, Myths, Religious Symbolism, Illustrated in the Arts of Old Japan. Rutland, VT : Charles E. Tuttle Company, 1967. AAA Ref N7350 .J75 1967 The title sums up the contents. Transliterated Japanese entries are alphabetical followed by the entry in characters. Black and white illustrations and 16 color plates. Includes bibliography and indexes in English and Japanese.
- Stutley, Margaret. The Illustrated Dictionary of Hindu Iconography. Boston : Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1985. AAA Ref N8195 .A4 S78 1985
Alphabetical entries for deities and symbols, aspects, gestures, poses, and objects that appear in their representations. A list of English subjects and Sanskrit equivalents is provided. Includes a bibliography and a few drawings.
- Weber, V.-F.Ko-Ji Ho-Ten : Dictionnaire a l'Usage des Amateurs et Collectionneurs d'Objets d'Art Japonais et Chinois. New York : Hacker Art Books, 1975. AAA Ref NK1065 .W4 1975
Although this is a general dictionary of Japanese and Chinese Art, it does have numerous entries for figures and objects that are depicted in art. Entries include deities, historical personages and characters in legends as well as ceremonial and everyday objects and garments. Appendices include lists of signatures of Japanese artists divided by media, chronological lists of Japanese periods and emperors, and Japanese coats of arms. Many black and white illustrations. Index, no bibliography. In French.
- Earls, Irene. Baroque Art : A Topical Dictionary. Westport, CT : Greenwoods, 1996. AAA Ref N6415 .B3 E18 1996
Basic dictionary of themes found in Baroque art, and descriptions of Baroque interpretations. Some examples. No illustrations. Bibliography
- --. Renaissance Art : A Topical Dictionary. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1987. AAA Ref N6370 .E27 1987
Basic dictionary of themes found in Renaissance art, and descriptions of Renaissance interpretations. Some examples. No illustrations. Bibliography.
- Kaftal, George. Iconography of the Saints in Central and South Italian Schools of Painting. Saints in Italian Art. Florence: Sansoni, 1965. AAA Ref N8080 .K25
--. Iconography of the Saints in the Painting of North East Italy. Saints in Italian Art.Florence: Sansoni, 1978. AAA Ref N8080 .K253 1978
---. Iconography of the Saints in the Painting of North West Italy. Saints in Italian Art. Florence : Le Lettere, 1985. AAA Ref N8080 .K255 1985
--. Iconography of the Saints in Tuscan Painting. Saints in Italian Art. Florence: Sansoni, 1952. AAA Ref N8080 .K26
Generally limited to the 14-15th centuries, each volume is arranged alphabetically by saint, listing reproductions, attributes, "types", and specific images, art bibliography and hagiographic bibliography.
- Okayama, Yassu. The RIPA Index : Personifications and Their Attributes in Five Editions of the Iconologia.Doornspijk : Davaco Publishers, 1992. AAA Ref N7740 .O53 1992
The Iconologia by Cesare Ripa was first published in 1593 and was so popular that it was published in another four editions and two languages. Being an illustrated book of personifications, the Iconologia had an enormous influence upon artists in the 17th and 18th centuries. The RIPA Index consists of two sections - the first is the personifications in alphabetical order with a table of the attributes as they occur in the five editions, and the second is an alphabetical index of attributes, people, places, gods, colors, gestures, qualities, emotions, etc. No illustrations.
- Pigler, A. Barockthemen: Eine Auswahl von Verzeichnissen zur Ikonographie des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts, 3 vols.Budapest : Akadémiai Kiadó, 1974. AAA Ref N6415 .B3P5 1974
This valuable resource focuses on works of art from the 17th- and 18th-centuries, but includes some Renaissance art. Entries consist of the title of the theme, and a list of art works that represent it. Volume I covers Christian iconography and other religious themes. Volume II is devoted to classical themes and Volume III contains the plates. Black and white plates.
- Ross, Leslie. Medieval Art : A Topical Dictionary. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1996. AAA Ref N7850 .R67 1996
Basic dictionary of themes found in Medieval art, and descriptions of Medieval interpretations. Some examples. No illustrations. Bibliography
- Tasker, Edward G. Encyclopedia of Medieval Church Art. London : B. T. Batsford, 1993. AAA Ref N7943 .A1 T37 1993
This is a great resource for all the imagery depicted in medieval English churches including real and mythical creatures, stories and proverbial sayings, and everyday scenes.
- Thesaurus des Objets Religieux: Meubles, Objets, Linges, Vetements et Instruments de Musique du Culte Catholique Romain. Paris : Editions du Patrimoine, 1999. AAA Ref N7825 .T54 1999
This invaluable resource is in English, French and Italian. This thesaurus divides Catholic religious objects into five categories (furniture, objects, linens, clothing, and musical instruments) then classifies them according to their liturgical function. The emphasis is on European objects from all time periods, and is an ideal source for identifying obscure religious objects and their original function. Abundant color illustrations. Includes bibliography, hierarchical thesaurus, and index.
- Ohlgren, Thomas H. Insular and Anglo-Saxon Illuminated Manuscripts: an iconographic catalogue c.A.D. 625 to 1100. New York: Garland, 1986. AAA Ref ND3128 .O45 1986
Consists of an inventory of manuscripts in the British Isles, and an "Index to Iconographic Contents"; cross-references to important series "Survey of manuscripts illuminated in the British Isles".