Anthropology 410 Heritage in Conflict

Anthropology 410 Research Guide: Cultural Heritage in Conflict

Contact Librarian: Miriam Rigby, rigby@uoregon.edu; 346-7202

 

Finding Background Information ...

  • Unesco's List of World Heritage in Danger
  • Archaeological Sites Subject Headings This research guide can help you figure out the subject headings to use for searching for items in the library catalog.
  • Encyclopedias and dictionaries are a useful place to gather background information on your topic.
    A few examples:
    • Encyclopedia of Archaeology
      (REF KNIGHT CC70 .E54 2008 v.1-3)
    • Archaeology of ancient Mexico and Central America : an encyclopedia
      (REF KNIGHT F1218.6 .A73 2001)
    • Archaeology of prehistoric native America : an encyclopedia
      (REF KNIGHT E77.9 .A72 1998)
    • The Oxford encyclopedia of archaeology in the Near East
      (REF KNIGHT DS56 .O9 1997 v.1 -5)
    • Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
      (REF KNIGHT GN 307 .E52 1996)

 

Looking for Articles ...

  • Anthropology Plus indexes articles and essays in all of the subfields of anthropology, from the 19th century to the present.
  • Web of Science is an interdisciplinary index to articles in the sciences and social sciences, making it particularly useful for the multidisciplinary needs of anthropology researchers.
  • GeoBase is the best database for finding human geography articles. Human geography's significant overlaps with Cultural Anthropology and Archaeology make this a great option for a broader search to supplement what you find in AnthroSource and Anthropology Plus.

 

Finding Government Publications ...

  • Government Publications Guides - This research guide can help you find where to find the type of government information you need, whether local, national, or from another country.

 

Annotated Bibliographies ...

Purdue publishes this great website all about creating annotated bibliographies, with good examples. Remember to paraphrase and cite all of your sources so you don't accidentally plagiarize.

 

Citing your sources ...

You should cite everything! Even things that are "free on the internet" need to be attributed to their authors. For Anthropology/Archaeology the commonly used citation method is the AAA Style Guide, which matches the Chicago Manual of Style.