Research Guide Food Origins

Research Guide for Anth. 399: Food Origins in Prehistory

Contact Librarian: Miriam Rigby, rigby@uoregon.edu; 346-7202

Finding Background Information:

Related Guides:

Citing your sources ...

You should cite everything! Even things that are "free on the internet" need to be attributed to their authors. For Anthropology/Archaeology the commonly used citation method is the AAA Style Guide, which matches the Chicago Manual of Style.

  • The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the most current (16th) edition.
  • AAA Style Guide On the linked page, you can download a pdf of simple style rules for citation.
  • Don't forget to take advantage of the "cite this item" links in the library catalog.

Looking for Articles (Scholarly Journal Articles and Book Reviews) ...

  • Anthropology Plus indexes articles and essays in all of the subfields of anthropology, from the 19th century to the present.
  • AnthroSource is a complete, full-text archive of the American Anthropological Association's peer-reviewed journals. 
  • BioOne is database that allows the user to search for any word in the full text of over 80 high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of these titles are published by scholarly societies and provide integrated access to journals focusing on biological, ecological, paleontological, and environmental sciences.
  • Biosis covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology.
  • GeoBase is the best database for finding human geography articles. Human geography's significant overlaps with Cultural Anthropology and Archaeology make this a great option for a broader search to supplement what you find in AnthroSource and Anthropology Plus.
  • Web of Science is an interdisciplinary index to articles in the sciences and social sciences, making it particularly useful for the multidisciplinary needs of anthropology researchers.