Anthropology Museums Select Bibliography

Anthropology Museums: Select Bibliography

The following is a collection of books and articles on topics in Anthropology Museums. Please use this just as a starting point, as it is not comprehensive.

 

General

Bouquet, Mary and Nuno Porto, ed. (2005). Science, magic and religion : the ritual processes of museum magic. New York : Berghahn Books. (KNIGHT AM151 .S39 2005)

Dorge, V., S. L. Jones, et al. (1999). Building an emergency plan: a guide for museums and other cultural institutions. Los Angeles, Getty Conservation Institute. (KNIGHT AM121.B85 1999)

Dubin, S. C. (1999). Displays of power: memory and amnesia in the American museum. New York, New York University Press. (AAA AM151.D84 1999)

Hein, G. E. (1998). Learning in the museum. London; New York, Routledge. (AAA AM7.H44 1998)

Hooper-Greenhill, E. (1994). Museums and their visitors. London; New York, Routledge. (AAA AM7.H67 1994)

Krishtalka, L. e. a. (2000). "Can natural history museums capture the future?" Bioscience 50(7): 611-617. (SCIENCE, shelved by title)

Macdonald, S. and G. Fyfe (1996). Theorizing museums: representing identity and diversity in a changing world. Cambridge, Mass., Blackwell. (KNIGHT AM7.T48 1996

Malaro, M. C. (1994). Museum governance: mission, ethics, policy. Washington, Smithsonian Institution Press. (AAA AM121.M35 1994)

Malt, Carol. (2005). Women's Voices in Middle East Museums: Case studies in Jordan. Syracuse, N.Y., Syracuse University Press. (KNIGHT AM79.4 M35 2005)

McLean, F. (1997). Marketing the museum. London; New York, Routledge. (AAA AM121.M4 1997)

Moore, K. (1999). Management in museums. Somerset, N.J., Athlone Press ;Distributed in the USA Canada and South America by Transaction Publishers. (AAA AM121.M36 1999)

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. (2001). Managing university museums. Paris, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. (KNIGHT AM121.M365 2001)

Pearce, S. M. (1991). Museum economics and the community. London; Atlantic Highlands, NJ, Athlone Press. (KNIGHT AM5.M923 1991)

Pearce, S. M. (1993). Museums, objects, and collections: a cultural study. Washington, D.C., Smithsonian Institution Press. (AAA AM231.P43 1993)

Pearce, S. M. (1994). Interpreting objects and collections. London; New York, Routledge. (AAA AM231.I58 1994)

Preziosi, D. and C. J. Farago (2004). Grasping the world: the idea of the museum. Aldershot, Hants, England; Burlington, VT, Ashgate Pub. (AAA AM7.G58 2004)

Price, R. a. P., S. (1995). "Executing culture: musee, museo, museum (Three failed museums in France, Spain and Belmopan)." American Anthropologist 97(1): 97-109.KNIGH GN 1.A5)

Sandell, R. (2002). Museums, society, inequality. London; New York, Routledge. (KNIGHT AM7.M8853 2002)

Skramstad, H. (1999). "An agenda for American museums in the twenty-first century." Daedalus 128(3): 109-128. (KNIGHT Q 11.B7)

Thompson, J. M. A. (1992). Manual of curatorship: a guide to museum practice. Oxford; Boston, Butterworth-Heinemann. (AAA AM151.M32 1992)

Weil, S. E. (1995). A cabinet of curiosities: inquiries into museums and their prospects. Washington, Smithsonian Institution Press. (AAA AM7.W392 1995)

Weil, S. E. (2002). Making museums matter. Washington, D.C., Smithsonian Institution Press. (KNIGHT AM7.W3925 2002)

Williams, B. L. (2001). "Recent developments in the policy of American museums from 1960 to 2000: where do we go from here?" Journal of arts management, law and society 30(4): 316-326.LAW K 16.E7)


Conservation

Keene, S. (1996). Managing conservation in museums. Oxford; Boston, Butterworth-Heinemann. (AAA AM141.K44 1996) Silverman, S., N. J. Parezo, et al. (1992). Preserving the anthropological record. New York, Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research. (KNIGHT GN14.P75 1992)


Collection Development

American Association of Museums. (1984). Caring for collections: strategies for conservation, maintenance, and documentation: a report on an American Association of Museums project. Washington, D.C. (1055 Thomas Jefferson St., N.W., Washington 20007), AAM. (AAA AM133.A46 1984

Dyson, S. L. (1997). "A model exhibition (Rome National Archaeological Museum's Ancient Rooms exhibits provide a model for using materials long in storage)." Archaeology 50(5): 6. (KNIGHT GN 700.A725

Fahy, A. (1995). Collections management. London; New York, Routledge. (AAA AM133.F34 1995 DUE 06-05-05

National Center for Cultural Resource Stewardship and Partnerships (U.S.) (1996). Tools of the trade: a listing of materials and equipment for managing museum collections. Washington, D.C.? National Park Service Museum Management Program National Center for Cultural Resources Stewardship and Partnership Programs. DOC-US I 29.2:T 61/996

Quigley, C. (2001). Skulls and skeletons: human bone collections and accumulations. Jefferson, N.C., McFarland. (KNIGHT GN70.Q54 2001)

Schaeffer, T. T. and Getty Conservation Institute. (2001). Effects of light on materials in collections: data on photoflash and related sources. Los Angeles, Getty Conservation Institute. (AAA N8558.5.S33 2001)

Yanow, D. (1998). "Space stories: studying museum buildings as organizational spaces while reflecting on interpretive methods and their narration." Journal of Management Inquiry 7(3): 215-239. (KNIGHT HD 28.J5987)


Ethics

Boyd, W. L. and American Association of Museums. (1992). Writing a museum code of ethics. Wash., D.C., American Association of Museums. (AAA AM7.W75 1992)

Edson, G. (1997). Museum ethics. London; New York, Routledge. (AAA AM121.M872 1997)

Museums Association., T. P. Besterman, et al. (2002). Code of ethics for museums: ethical principles for all who work for or govern museums in the UK. London, The Association. (AAA AM121.M87 2002)

Weisz, J., R. Adams, et al. (2000). Codes of ethics and practice of interest to museums. Washington, D.C., American Association of Museums Technical Information Service. (AAA AM121.C634x 2000)


Exhibitions

Bitgood, S. C. a. P., D. D. (1993). "The effects of gallery changes on visitor reading and object viewing time." Environment and Behavior 25(6): 761-781. (AAA Library HM 206. E5)

Falk, J. H. (1997). "Testing a museum exhibition design assumption: effect of explicit labeling of exhibit clusters on visitor concept development." Science Education 81(6): 679-687. (KNIGHT Q 1. G3 and online)

Lord, B. and G. D. Lord (2002). The manual of museum exhibitions. Walnut Creek, CA, AltaMira Press. (AAA AM151.M34 2002)

McLean, K. (1999). "Museum exhibitions and the dynamics of dialogue." Daedalus 128(3): 83-107. (KNIGHT Q 11.B7)

McManus, P. M. (1996). Archaeological displays and the public: museology and interpretation. London, Institute of Archaeology University College London. (KNIGHT AM151.A73 1996)

Wonders, K. (1993). Habitat dioramas: illusions of wilderness in museums of natural history. Stockholm, Sweden, Uppsala University; distributor Almqvist & Wiksell International. SCIENCE QH70.A2 W66 1993)


Fundraising

Burlingame, D. and W. F. Ilchman (1996). Alternative revenue sources: prospects, requirements, and concerns for nonprofits. San Francisco, Calif., Jossey-Bass. (KNIGHT HV41.9.U5 A47 1996)

Greenfield, J. M. (1999). Fund raising: evaluating and managing the fund development process. New York, Wiley. (KNIGHT HG177.G76 1999)

Hartman, H. A. (1985). Fund raising for museums: the essential book for staff and trustees. Bellevue, Wash., Hartman Planning and Development Group. (KNIGHT AM122.H37 1985)

Hopkins, K. B., C. S. Friedman, et al. (1997). Successful fundraising for arts and cultural organizations. Phoenix, Ariz., Oryx Press. (KNIGHT NX765.S78 1997)

Nichols, J. E. (1999). Transforming fundraising: a practical guide to evaluating and strengthening fundraising to grow with change. San Francisco, Jossey-Bass. (KNIGHT HG177.N48 1999)

Skolnik, R. (1992). "Arts and cultural organizations seek increased private support as public funding dwindles." Public Relations Journal 48(2): 18-21. (KNIGHT HM 263.A1 P83)

Wallen, D. and K. Cantrell (1988). Funding for museums, archives, and special collections. Phoenix, AZ, Oryx Press. (KNIGHT AM122.F86 1988)

Wireman, P. (1997). Partnerships for prosperity: museums and economic development. Washington, D.C., American Association of Museums. (AAA AM11.W57 1997)


Race and Culture

Bal, M. (1996). Double exposures: the subject of cultural analysis. New York, Routledge. (AAA HM101.B433 1996)

Barkan, E. and R. Bush (2002). Claiming the stones/naming the bones: cultural property and the negotiation of national and ethnic identity. Los Angeles, Getty Research Institute. (KNIGHT CC135.C48 2002)

Bray, T. L. (2001). The future of the past: archaeologists, Native Americans, and repatriation. New York, Garland Pub. (KNIGHT E98.M34 F87 2001)

Clavir, M. and University of British Columbia. Museum of Anthropology. (2002). Preserving what is valued: museums, conservation, and First Nations. Vancouver, UBC Press. (KNIGHT E78.B9 C49 2002)

Eichstedt, J. and S. Small (2002). Representations of slavery: race and ideology in southern plantation museums. Washington D.C., Smithsonian Institution Press. (KNIGHT F220.A1 E37 2002)

Fforde, C., J. Hubert, et al. (2002). The dead and their possessions: repatriation in principle, policy, and practice. London; New York, Routledge. (KNIGHT CC79.5.H85 D43 2002)

Fienup-Riordan, A. (1999). "Collaboration on display: a Yup'ik Eskimo exhibit at three national museums." American Anthropologist 101(2): 339-358. (KNIGHT GN 1.A5).

Gulliford, A. (2000). Sacred objects and sacred places: preserving tribal traditions. Niwot, Colo., University Press of Colorado. LAW LIB. E98.M34 G85 2000)

Jacknis, I. (2002). The storage box of tradition: Kwakiutl art, anthropologists, and museums, 1881-1981. Washington D.C., Smithsonian Institution Press. (KNIGHT E99.K9 J33 2002)

Kirshenblatt-Gimblett, B. (1998). Destination culture: tourism, museums, and heritage. Berkeley, University of California Press. (KNIGHT GN36.K57 1998)

Kreps, C. F. (1988). Decolonizing anthropology museums: the Dutch example: ix, 139 leaves. (KNIGHT GN36 .K74 1988)

Kurin, R. (1997). Reflections of a culture broker: a view from the Smithsonian. Washington, D.C., Smithsonian Institution Press. (KNIGHT GN36.U62 D5775 1997)

Simpson, M. G. (2001). Making representations: museums in the post-colonial era. London; New York, Routledge. (AAA GN35.S58 2001)


Anthropological Theory

Ames, M. M. (1986). Museums, the public and anthropology: a study in the anthropology of anthropology. Vancouver, B.C., New Delhi, University of British Columbia Press; Concept Pub. Co. (KNIGHT GN35.A45 1986

Ames, M. M. and M. M. Ames (1992). Cannibal tours and glass boxes: the anthropology of museums. Vancouver, UBC Press. RSRV KNI GN35.A52 1992

Bouquet, M. (2000). "Thinking and doing otherwise: anthropological theory in exhibitionary practice." Ethnos 65(2): 217-236. (KNIGHT GN 1.E88 and online

Fox, R. G. and Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research. (1996). Anthropology in public. Chicago, Ill., University of Chicago Press. (KNIGHT GN27.A69 1996

Haas, J. (1996). Power, objects and a voice for anthropology. Anthropology in public. R. G. Fox. Chicago, University of Chicago Press. (KNIGHT GN 27.A69 1996

Jenkins, D. (1994). "Object lessons and ethnographic displays: museums exhibitions and the making of American anthropology." Comparative Studies in Society and History 36(2): 242-270. (KNIGHT H 1.C73

Stocking, G. W. (1999). The spaces of cultural representation, circa 1887 and 1969: reflections on museum arrangement and anthroplogical theory in Boasian and evolutionary traditions. The architecture of science. P. a. T. Galison, E. Cambridge, MIT Press. (AAA NA 2543.S35 A73 1999


Technology

Anderson, M. (1999). "Museums of the future: the impact of technology on museum practices." Daedalus 128(3): 129-159. (KNIGHT Q 11.B7)

Caulton, T. (1998). Hands-on exhibitions: managing interactive museums and science centres. London; New York, Routledge. (AAA AM151.C38 1998)

Council on Library and Information Resources. (2001). Building and sustaining digital collections: models for libraries and museums. Washington, D.C., Council on Library and Information Resources. (KNIGHT Z681.3.D53 B85 2001)

Fernandex, G. e. a. (2000). "Interactive exhibits: how visitors respond." Museum International 52(4): 53-59. (AAA AM 1.M63 and online)

Keene, S. (1998). Digital collections: museums and the information age. Oxford England, Butterworth-Heinemann. (AAA AM133.K44 1998)

Koester, S. E., D. Bearman, et al. (1993). Interactive multimedia in American museums. Pittsburgh, PA, Archives & Museum Informatics. (AAA QA76.76.I59 K63 1993)


 

If you have a book or article that you feel belongs on this page, please email Miriam Rigby, the Anthropology Librarian, at rigby@uoregon.edu.

 

Created by rigby on Jun 18, 2012 Last updated Sep 13, 2012