Communication Disorders Research Guide
Communication Disorders Research Guide
The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Communication Disorders. For further assistance, contact Katy Lenn, Communication Disorders Reference Librarian, at firstname.lastname@example.org
These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.
- American Sign Language handshape dictionary; HV 2475 T46 1998 Knight Reference
- Annual review of Psychology, Medicine, Neuroscience, etc.
- Atlas of neuroanatomy for communication science and disorders RC423 .A86 2012 Knight Reference
- Dictionary of communication disorders; RC 423 M597 1997 Knight Reference
- Encyclopedia of acoustics; QC 221.5 E53 1997 Science Reference
- Encyclopedia of deafness and hearing disorders; RF 290 T93 Knight Reference
- Encyclopedia of special education: A reference for the education of the handicapped and other exceptional children and adults; LC 4007 E53 2000 Knight Reference
- Gallaudet encyclopedia of deaf people and deafness; HV 2365 G35 1987 Knight Reference
- Handbook of acquired communication disorders in childhood RJ496.C67 M87 2011 Knight Reference
- Handbook of child language disorders RJ 496.L35 H334 2009 Knight Reference
- Handbook of language and speech disorders RC 423 .H3258 2010 Knight Reference
- Handbook of psycholinguistic and cognitive processes: Perspectives in communication disorders
- Handbook of reading disability research
- Illustrated dictionary of audiology; RF 290 .M464 1999 Knight Reference
- MIT handbooks and encyclopedias. Includes:The Handbook of Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience;The MIT Encylopedia of the Cognitive Science;The Cognitive Neurosciences II;The Handbook of Brain Theory and Neural Networks, 2ed.;The Handbook of Multisensory Processe;The Visual Neurosciences;The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders; Handbook of Functional Neuroimaging of Cognition, 2nd Edition; Status Epilepticus, Mechanisms and Management; Principles and Practice of Clinical Electrophysiology of Vision, 2nd Edition
- Online American Sign Language Dictionary
- Sage online Reference books. Includes: Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media; Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning; Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration; Encyclopedia of Human Development; Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development; Encyclopedia of School Psychology; Encyclopedia of Leadership; Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science; Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America; Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology; Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology; Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy; Encyclopedia of Career Development; Encyclopedia of Community Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior; Encyclopedia of Human Development; Encyclopedia of Evaluation; Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics; Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
- Terminology of communication disorders: Speech-language-hearing; RC 423 N52 Knight Reference
- Traumatic brain injury RD594 .C55 2010 Knight Reference
- Scientific & Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase is a collection of 11,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author. Once you have located an article you want, use the FindText button that will appear to verify if we have access to the article or use the "Request this item from another library" option to obtain a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
LLBA provides complete coverage of language and linguistics from about 600 journals.
- Medline OR PubMed
Medline covers all areas of biomedicine, including cell and molecular biology, genetics,etc., as well as clinical medicine. It corresponds to the printed indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index, and indexes 3,700+ journals. Date coverage: 1965 to present PubMed contains Medline and some additional literature.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
Health Source Plus provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 430 periodicals. This database also provides full text for over 1,090 pamphlets and 23 books. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals.
- Academic Search Premier
A good starting point for research about linguistics. Academic Search Elite indexes a few linguistics journals and does provide some full-text access to articles.
- ERIC (Education)
Good for language learning and teaching and CDS/school issues. ERIC consists of citations to more than 850,000 records about all areas of education. ERIC is composed of citations to articles published in education journals and to ERIC documents which include curriculi, reports, standards, and other unpublished materials in education. ERIC indexes materials from 1966 to the present and is updated monthly.
- Social Services Abstracts, provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- PsycINFO provides indexing and abstracting for 1,900 journals in psychology and related disciplines.
- UO Library Catalog
Identify books, dvd's and other materials by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library.
UO WorldCat offers a streamlined interface for search results that combine, into a single merged list, the collections of the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and hundreds of other libraries worldwide. When searching in UO WorldCat, entries for items owned by the UO Libraries appear at the top of the list and include information about location and availability.
- Communication Sciences and Disorders: A List of Resources
- MEDLINE Plus: Speech & Communication Disorders
- MEDLINEplus: Hearing Disorders & Deafness
- Net Connections for Communication Disorders and Sciences
- American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
- The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
- Citing Documents
The following are some of our COE faculty publications issued since March 2013.
Anderson, C. M., Turtura, J., & Parry, M. (2013). Addressing instructional avoidance with Tier II supports. Journal of Applied School Psychology, 29(2), 167-182. doi:10.1080/15377903.2013.778772
Baker, S. K., Santoro, L. E., Chard, D. J., Fien, H., Park, Y., & Otterstedt, J. (2013). An evaluation of an explicit read aloud intervention taught in whole-classroom formats in first grade. Elementary School Journal, 113(3), 331-358. http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.1086/668503
Basaraba, D., Yovanoff, P., Alonzo, J., & Tindal, G. (2013). Examining the structure of reading comprehension: Do literal, inferential, and evaluative comprehension truly exist? Reading and Writing, 26(3), 349-379. doi:10.1007/s11145-012-9372-9
Bolanos, D., Cole, R. A., Ward, W. H., Tindal, G. A., Hasbrouck, J., & Schwanenflugel, P. J. (2013). Human and automated assessment of oral reading fluency. Journal of Educational Psychology, 105(4), 1142-1151. doi: 10.1037/a0031479 (11/2013)
Bolaños, D., Cole, R. A., Ward, W. H., Tindal, G. A., Schwanenflugel, P. J., & Kuhn, M. R. (2013). Automatic assessment of expressive oral reading. Speech Communication, 55(2), 221-236. doi:10.1016/j.specom.2012.08.002
Bricker, D., Macy, M., Squires, J., & Marks, K. (2013). Developmental screening in your community: An integrated approach for connecting children with services. Baltimore, MD: Paul H Brookes Publishing.
Brown, T. B., & Kimball, T. (2013). Cutting to live: A phenomenology of self‐harm. Journal of Marital and Family Therapy, 39(2), 195-208. doi:10.1111/j.1752-0606.2011.00270.x
Carroll, R. A., Kodak, T., & Fisher, W. W. (2013). An evaluation of programmed treatment-integrity errors during discrete-trial instruction. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 46(2), 379-394. doi:10.1002/jaba.49
Carter, E. W., Lane, K. L., Cooney, M., Weir, K., Moss, C. K., & Machalicek, W. (2013). Self-determination among transition-age youth with autism or intellectual disability: Parent perspectives. Research and Practice for Persons with Severe Disabilities, 38(3), 129-138. doi:10.2511/027494813809330234 (11/2013)
Cena, J., Baker, D. L., Kame'enui, E. J., Baker, S. K., Park, Y., & Smolkowski, K. (2013). The impact of a systematic and explicit vocabulary intervention in Spanish with Spanish-speaking English learners in first grade. Reading and Writing, 26(8), 1289-1316. doi:10.1007/s11145-012-9419-y
Cheremshynski, C., Lucyshyn, J. M., & Olson, D. L. (2013). Implementation of a culturally appropriate positive behavior support plan with a Japanese mother of a child with autism: An experimental and qualitative analysis. Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions, 15(4), 242-253. doi: 10.1177/1098300712459904 (10/2013)
Cummings, K. D., Park, Y., & Schaper, H. A. B. (2013). Form effects on DIBELS next oral reading fluency progress- monitoring passages. Assessment for Effective Intervention, 38(2), 91-104. doi:10.1177/1534508412447010
Daughters, S. B., Gorka, S. M., Matusiewicz, A., & Anderson, K. (2013). Gender specific effect of psychological stress and cortisol reactivity on adolescent risk taking. Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, 41(5), 749-758. doi:10.1007/s10802-013-9713-4
Davis, T. N., Dacus, S., Strickland, E., Machalicek, W., & Coviello, L. (2013). Reduction of automatically maintained self-injurious behavior utilizing noncontingent matched stimuli. Developmental Neurorehabilitation, 16(3), 166-171. doi: 10.3109/17518423.2013.766819 (06/2013)
Davis, T. N., Durand, S., Bankhead, J., Strickland, E., Blenden, K., Dacus, S., . . . Machalicek, W. (2013). Brief report: Latency functional analysis of elopement. Behavioral Interventions, 28(3), 251-259. doi:10.1002/bin.1363
Doabler, C. T., & Fien, H. (2013). Explicit mathematics instruction: What teachers can do for teaching students with mathematics difficulties. Intervention in School and Clinic, 48(5), 276-285. doi: 10.1177/1053451212473151 (05/2013)
Doren, B., Flannery, K. B., Lombardi, A. R., & Kato, M. M. (2013). The impact of professional development and student and teacher characteristics on the quality of postsecondary goals. Remedial and Special Education, 34(4), 215-224. doi: 10.1177/0741932512468037 (07/2013)
Eddy, J. M., Martinez, C. R., & Burraston, B. (2013). Relationship processes and resilience in children with incarcerated parents: VI. A randomized controlled trial of a parent management training program for incarcerated parents: Proximal impacts. Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development, 78(3), 75-93. doi:10.1111/mono.12022 (06/12)
Felver, J. C., Doerner, E., Jones, J., Kaye, N. C., & Merrell, K. W. (2013). Mindfulness in school psychology: Applications for intervention and professional practice. Psychology in the Schools, 50(6), 531-547. doi: 10.1002/pits.21695 (06/2013)
Fitzgerald, E. L., Chronister, K. M., Forrest, L., & Brown, L. (2013). OPTIONS for preparing inmates for community reentry: An employment preparation intervention. The Counseling Psychologist, 41(7), 990-1010. doi:10.1177/0011000012462367 (10/2013)
Flannery, K. B., Fenning, P., Kato, M. M., & Bohanon, H. (2013). A descriptive study of office disciplinary referrals in high schools. Journal of Emotional and Behavioral Disorders, 21(2), 138-149. doi: 10.1177/1063426611419512
Fosco, G. M., Frank, J. L., Stormshak, E. A., & Dishion, T. J. (2013). Opening the “Black Box”: Family check-up intervention effects on self-regulation that prevents growth in problem behavior and substance use. Journal of School Psychology, 51(4), 455-468. doi:10.1016/j.jsp.2013.02.001 (08/2013)
Frey, A. J., Lee, J., Small, J. W., Seeley, J. R., Walker, H. M., & Feil, E. G. (2013). Transporting motivational interviewing to school settings to improve the engagement and fidelity of tier 2 interventions. Journal of Applied School Psychology, 29(2), 183-202. doi:10.1080/15377903.2013.778774
Glascoe, F. P., Marks, K. P., & Squires, J. (2012). Improving the definition of developmental delay. Journal of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics, 33(1), 87. doi:10.1097/DBP.0b013e3182362265
Glascoe, F. P., & Squires, J. K. (2013). Quality developmental screenings are essential to quality surveillance. Pediatrics, 132(5), E1450-E1450. doi: 10.1542/peds.2013-2720B (11/2013)
Goodwin, A. M., Kaestle, C. E., & Piercy, F. P. (2013). An exploration of feminist family therapists' resistance to and collusion with oppression. Journal of Feminist Family Therapy: An International Forum, 25(4), 233-256. doi:10.1080/08952833.2013.778133 (10/2013)
Hagans, K. S., & Good, R. H. III. (2013). Decreasing reading differences in children from disadvantaged backgrounds: The effects of an early literacy intervention. Contemporary School Psychology, 17(1), 103-117.
Harn, B., Parisi, D., & Stoolmiller, M. (2013). Balancing fidelity with flexibility and fit: What do we really know about fidelity of implementation in schools? Exceptional Children, 79(2), 181-193. (12/2013)
Harrington, B. G., & ChiXapkaid. (2013). Using indigenous educational research to transform mainstream education: A guide for p-12 school leaders. American Journal of Education, 119(4), 487-511. doi: 10.1086/670962 (08/2013)
Hume, A., & McIntosh, K. (2013). Construct validation of a measure to assess sustainability of school-wide behavior interventions. Psychology in the Schools, 50(10), 1003-1014. doi: 10.1002/pits.21722 (12/2013)
Hyde, L. W., Shaw, D. S., Gardner, F., Cheong, J., Dishion, T. J., & Wilson, M. (2013). Dimensions of callousness in early childhood: Links to problem behavior and family intervention effectiveness. Development and Psychopathology, 25(2), 347-363. doi:10.1017/S0954579412001101
Joyce, J. A., O’Neil, M. E., Stormshak, E. A., McWhirter, E. H., & Dishion, T. J. (2013). Peer associations and coping: The mediating role of ethnic identity for urban, African American adolescents. Journal of Black Psychology, 39(5), 431-454. doi:10.1177/0095798412454681 (10/2013)
Kamata, A., Nese, J. F. T., Patarapichayatham, C., & Lai, C.-F. (2013). Modeling nonlinear growth with three data points: Illustration with benchmarking data. Assessment for Effective Intervention, 38(2), 105-116. doi:10.1177/1534508412457872
Khurana, A., Romer, D., Betancourt, L. M., Brodsky, N. L., Giannetta, J. M., & Hurt, H. (2013). Working memory ability predicts trajectories of early alcohol use in adolescents: The mediational role of impulsivity. Addiction, 108(3), 506-515. doi:10.1111/add.12001
Kim, D., Shin, J., & Tindal, G. (2013). Exploring relationship between word identification and passage reading fluency within a response to intervention framework: An application of latent growth modeling. Exceptionality, 21(4), 207-223. doi: 10.1080/09362835.2012.747182 (10/2013)
Kodak, T., Clements, A., & LeBlanc, B. (2013). A rapid assessment of instructional strategies to teach auditory-visual conditional discriminations to children with autism. Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders, 7(6), 801-807. doi: 10.1016/j.rasd.2013.02.007
Kodak, T., Fisher, W. W., Paden, A., & Dickes, N. (2013). Evaluation of the utility of a discrete-trial functional analysis in early intervention classrooms. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 46(1), 301-306. doi:10.1002/jaba.2
Laurent, H. K., Leve, L. D., Neiderhiser, J. M., Natsuaki, M. N., Shaw, D. S., Fisher, P. A., . . . Reiss, D. (2013). Effects of parental depressive symptoms on child adjustment moderated by hypothalamic pituitary adrenal activity: Within- and between-family risk. Child Development, 84(2), 528-542. doi: 10.1111/j.1467-8624.2012.01859.x (04/2013)
Lee, J. B., & Sohlberg, M. M. (2013). Evaluation of attention training and metacognitive facilitation to improve reading comprehension in aphasia. American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 22(2), S318-S333. doi: 10.1044/1058-0360(2013/12-0099) (05/2013)
Lim, C. P., Zhao, Y., Tondeur, J., Chai, C. S., & Tsai, C.-C. (2013). Bridging the gap: Technology trends and use of technology in schools. Journal of Educational Technology & Society, 16(2), 59-68. (04/2013)
Lindstrom, L., Doren, B., Post, C., & Lombardi, A. (2013). Building career PATHS (Postschool Achievement Through Higher Skills) for young women with disabilities. Career Development Quarterly, 61(4), 330-338. doi:10.1002/j.2161-0045.2013.00059.x (12/2013)
Loman, S. L., & Horner, R. H. (2014). Examining the efficacy of a basic functional behavioral assessment training package for school personnel. Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions, 16(1), 18-30. doi:10.1177/1098300712470724 (01/2014)
Lombardi, A., Doren, B., Gau, J. M., & Lindstrom, L. E. (2013). The influence of instructional settings in reading and math on postsecondary participation. Journal of Disability Policy Studies, 24(3), 170-180. doi: 10.1177/1044207312468766 (12/2013)
Mazzei, L. A. (2013). Materialist mappings of knowing in being: Researchers constituted in the production of knowledge. Gender and Education, 25(6), 776-785. doi: 10.1080/09540253.2013.824072 (11/2013)
McDonald, T. A., & Machalicek, W. (2013). Systematic review of intervention research with adolescents with autism spectrum disorders. Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders, 7(11), 1439-1460. doi: 10.1016/j.rasd.2013.07.015 (11/2013)
McDuffie, A., Machalicek, W., Oakes, A., Haebig, E., Weismer, S. E., & Abbeduto, L. (2013). Distance video-teleconferencing in early intervention: Pilot study of a naturalistic parent-implemented language intervention. Topics in Early Childhood Special Education, 33(3), 172-185. doi:10.1177/0271121413476348 (11/2013)
McEachern, A. D., Fosco, G. M., Dishion, T. J., Shaw, D. S., Wilson, M. N., & Gardner, F. (2013). Collateral benefits of the family check-up in early childhood: Primary caregivers' social support and relationship satisfaction. Journal of Family Psychology, 27(2), 271-281. doi: 10.1037/a0031485 (04/2013)
McIntosh, K., Martinez, R. S., Ty, S. V., & McClain, M. B. (2013). Scientific research in school psychology: Leading researchers weigh in on its past, present, and future. Journal of School Psychology, 51(3), 267-318. doi: 10.1016/j.jsp.2013.04.003 (06/2013)
McIntosh, K., Mercer, S. H., Hume, A. E., Frank, J. L., Turri, M. G., & Mathews, S. (2013). Factors related to sustained implementation of schoolwide positive behavior support. Exceptional Children, 79(3), 293-311. (05/2013)
McIntosh, K., Predy, L. K., Upreti, G., Hume, A. E., Turri, M. G., & Mathews, S. (2014). Perceptions of contextual features related to implementation and sustainability of school-wide positive behavior support. Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions, 16(1), 31-43. doi:10.1177/1098300712470723 (01/2014)
McLaughlin, K. A., Glang, A., Beaver, S. V., Gau, J. M., & Keen, S. (2013). Web-based training in family advocacy. Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation, 28(5), 341-348. doi: 10.1097/HTR.0b013e31824e1d43 (10/2013)
McNeill, B., & Kirk, C. (2014). Theoretical beliefs and instructional practices used for teaching spelling in elementary classrooms. Reading and Writing, 27(3), 535-554. doi: 10.1007/s11145-013-9457-0 (03/2014)
McWhirter, E. H. (2013). Vocational psychology, offenders and ex-offenders, and social justice: A critical psychology perspective. Counseling Psychologist, 41(7), 1040-1051. doi:10.1177/0011000013482379 (10/2013)
McWhirter, E. H., Ramos, K., & Medina, C. (2013). ¿Y ahora qué? Anticipated immigration status barriers and Latina/o high school students’ future expectations. Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology, 19(3), 288-297. doi:10.1037/a0031814
Moore, H. W., Barton, E. E., & Chironis, M. (2014). A program for improving toddler communication through parent coaching. Topics in Early Childhood Special Education, 33(4), 212-224. doi: 10.1177/0271121413497520 (02/2014)
Murray, C., & Doren, B. (2013). Resilience and disability: Concepts, examples, cautions, and prospects. In M. L. Wehmeyer (Ed.), Oxford library of psychology. The Oxford handbook of positive psychology and disability (pp. 182-197). New York: Oxford University Press. (12/2013)
Nelson-Walker, N. J., Fien, H., Kosty, D. B., Smolkowski, K., Smith, J. L. M., & Baker, S. K. (2013). Evaluating the effects of a systemic intervention on first-grade teachers' explicit reading instruction. Learning Disability Quarterly, 36(4), 215-230. doi: 10.1177/0731948712472186(11/2013)
Nese, J. F. T., Biancarosa, G., Cummings, K., Kennedy, P., Alonzo, J., & Tindal, G. (2013). In search of average growth: Describing within-year oral reading fluency growth across Grades 1–8. Journal of School Psychology, 51(5), 625-642. doi:10.1016/j.jsp.2013.05.006 (10/2013)
Neville, H. J., Stevens, C., Pakulak, E., Bell, T. A., Fanning, J., Klein, S., & Isbell, E. (2013). Family-based training program improves brain function, cognition, and behavior in lower socioeconomic status preschoolers. PNAS Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 110(29), 12138-12143. doi:10.1073/pnas.1304437110
Peake, S. J., Dishion, T. J., Stormshak, E. A., Moore, W. E., & Pfeifer, J. H. (2013). Risk-taking and social exclusion in adolescence: Neural mechanisms underlying peer influences on decision-making. NeuroImage, 82, 23-34. doi:10.1016/j.neuroimage.2013.05.061 (11/2013)
Petscher, Y., Cummings, K. D., Biancarosa, G., & Fien, H. (2013). Advanced (measurement) applications of curriculum-based measurement in reading. Assessment for Effective Intervention, 38(2), 71-75. doi:10.1177/1534508412461434
Raulston, T., Carnett, A., Lang, R., Tostanoski, A., Lee, A., Machalicek, W., . . . Lancioni, G. E. (2013). Teaching individuals with autism spectrum disorder to ask questions: A systematic review. Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders, 7(7), 866-878. doi: 10.1016/j.rasd.2013.03.008 (07/2013)
Reed, D. K., Weiser, B. L., Cummings, K. D., & Shapiro, E. (2013). Synthesis of research symposium at cld's 34th international conference on learning disabilities: Must reads for 2012. Learning Disability Quarterly, 36(4), 195-202. doi: 10.1177/0731948713480788 (11/2013)
Rowe, D. A., & Test, D. W. (2013). Effects of simulation to teach students with disabilities basic finance skills. Remedial and Special Education, 34(4), 237-248. doi: 10.1177/0741932512448218 (07/2013)
Ryoo, J. J., Margolis, J., Lee, C. H., Sandoval, C. D. M., & Goode, J. (2013). Democratizing computer science knowledge: Transforming the face of computer science through public high school education. Learning Media and Technology, 38(2), 161-181. doi: 10.1080/17439884.2013.756514
Sanford, A. K., & Horner, R. H. (2013). Effects of matching instruction difficulty to reading level for students with escape-maintained problem behavior. Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions, 15(2), 79-89. doi: 10.1177/1098300712449868 (04/2013)
Sanford, A. K., Park, Y., & Baker, S. K. (2013). Reading growth of students with disabilities in the context of a large-scale statewide reading reform effort. Journal of Special Education, 47(2), 83-95. doi: 10.1177/0022466911430350
Sheridan, S. M., Ryoo, J. H., Garbacz, S. A., Kunz, G. M., & Chumney, F. L. (2013). The efficacy of conjoint behavioral consultation on parents and children in the home setting: Results of a randomized controlled trial. Journal of School Psychology, 51(6), 717-733. doi: 10.1016/j.jsp.2013.09.003 (12/2013)
Skowron, E. A., Cipriano-Essel, E., Benjamin, L. S., Pincus, A. L., & Van Ryzin, M. J. (2013). Cardiac vagal tone and quality of parenting show concurrent and time-ordered associations that diverge in abusive, neglectful, and non-maltreating mothers. Couple and Family Psychology: Research and Practice, 2(2), 95-115. doi:10.1037/cfp0000005
Smith, J. D., Dishion, T. J., Moore, K. J., Shaw, D. S., & Wilson, M. N. (2013). Effects of video feedback on early coercive parentchild interactions: The intervening role of caregivers' relational schemas. Journal of Clinical Child and Adolescent Psychology, 42, 405-417. doi: 10.1080/15374416.2013.777917
Spear, C. F., Strickland-Cohen, M. K., Romer, N., & Albin, R. W. (2013). An examination of social validity within single-case research with students with emotional and behavioral disorders. Remedial and Special Education, 34(6), 357-370. doi:10.1177/0741932513490809 (11/2013)
Squires, J. K., Waddell, M. L., Clifford, J. R., Funk, K., Hoselton, R. M., & Chen, C. I. (2013). A psychometric study of the infant and toddler intervals of the social emotional assessment measure. Topics in Early Childhood Special Education, 33(2), 78-90. doi: 10.1177/0271121412463445 (08/2013)
Stoolmiller, M., Biancarosa, G., & Fien, H. (2013). Measurement properties of DIBELS oral reading fluency in grade 2: Implications for equating studies. Assessment for Effective Intervention, 38(2), 76-90. doi:10.1177/1534508412456729
Sumi, W., Woodbridge, M. W., Javitz, H. S., Thornton, S., Wagner, M., Rouspil, K., & ... Severson, H. H. (2013). Assessing the effectiveness of First Step to Success: Are short-term results the first step to long-term behavioral improvements?. Journal Of Emotional & Behavioral Disorders, 21(1), 66-78. doi:10.1177/1063426611429571
Van Ryzin, M. J., & Dishion, T. J. (2013). From antisocial behavior to violence: A model for the amplifying role of coercive joining in adolescent friendships. Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry, 54(6), 661-669. doi: 10.1111/jcpp.12017
Vladescu, J. C., & Kodak, T. M. (2013). Increasing instructional efficiency by presenting additional stimuli in learning trials for children with autism spectrum disorders. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 46(4), 805-816. doi:10.1002/jaba.70 (12/2013)
Yamamoto, S. H., & Alverson, C. Y. (2013). Successful vocational outcomes: A multilevel analysis of self-employment through U.S. vocational rehabilitation agencies. Journal of Vocational Rehabilitation, 38(1), 15-27. (12/2013)
Yovanoff, P., Squires, J., & McManus, S. (2013). Adaptation from paper-pencil to web-based administration of a parent-completed developmental questionnaire for young children. Infants & Young Children, 26(4), 318-332. doi: 10.1097/IYC.0b013e31829f95f3 (12/2013)