Borrow, renew, request, for Public

Borrow, Renew, Request:  Public Borrowers

UO Libraries offers borrowing privileges to:

Alumni Association members will need to bring their membership card showing their status as a current (or lifetime) UOAA member.  Oregon Card borrowers will use their barcoded library card from any Oregon Library, or a card purchased from UO Libraries, when borrowing materials from the University of Oregon Libraries. Photo ID must be presented when borrowing materials.

When you register for borrowing privileges, we ask that you provide us with an e-mail address. E-mail is the sole method used by UO Libraries to send recalls, overdue notices and other communications to borrowers. An e-mail account is required if you wish to borrow materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Keep track of due dates, renew your books, and place requests in your Library Accounts. 

  • Loan Periods:
    • Books:  3 weeks plus one renewal
    • Videos: In-library use only
    • CDs:  7 days, plus one renewal
    • Interlibrary Loans: determined by the lending library
    • Recalls: All items are subject to recall at any time (including breaks between terms or semesters)
  • Limits for Oregon Card Program borrowers:
    • up to 10 items checked out from all general collections
    • up to five items checked out from selected restricted collections (examples: Music collection, Juvenile Collection, Curriculum Collection, and art oversized collections)
  • Requesting. You may:
    • Request materials be paged to a more convenient UO Library for checkout
    • Page materials from stacks to the Checkout Desk, requests take at least 24 hours
    • Request material not owned by UO Libraries via Interlibrary Loan (Note that fees apply: $15 per successful request plus any copyright or other charges assessed by the lending library.)
  • Fees and Overdue Fines:  
    • Interlibrary Loan fee: $15 per successful request plus any copyright or other charges assessed by the lending library
    • Overdue fines for books and ILL material: $.50/day for 10 days, $1/day thereafter
    • Overdue fines for recalls: $4/day
    • Overdue fines for course reserves: $4 for first hour or any part, $1.50/hr. thereafter
    • Fees for damaged or lost items: Repair or replacement charge plus $20 service charge plus accrued fines

 

Created by tmcq on Nov 13, 2013 Last updated Nov 21, 2013